We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice and clean” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Grand Central Hotel Shanghai

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Grand Central Hotel Shanghai
Ranked #31 of 4,969 Hotels in Shanghai
Certificate of Excellence
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Nice and clean”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 October 2012

Hotel is located right downtown of Shanghai, NanJing Lu is just parallel with this JuiJiang Lu. Superb Location. However, the most disappointing is the front desk service, they don't care and don't bother about customer ,
Room very clean.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sam A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

959 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    555
    330
    45
    15
    14
See reviews for
156
248
49
266
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (130)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 October 2012

Stayed here twice in the last two weeks. The first time we had an excellent view over the Nanjing shopping mall. This is really interesting at night time with all the neon lights and the hive of activity. The second visit was overlooking a boring side of the hotel. Try to ask for the side that faces Najing Road.

The room are fantastic; spacious and very comfortable. Bedding is high quality and guarantees a good night sleep. The bathroom was good and reasonably clean.

The lobby and sitting area is excellent. They have a grand piano playing most of the time.

All staff I met spoke english so communication was easy.

The hotel is a 2 minute walk to the shopping in Nanjing Rd and about a 10 minute walk to the waterfront at the Bund.

I would recommend this hotel and will stay here again.

Arriving from airport I would recommend the maglev train and then taxi for the remainder.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Perth2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Porto Alegre, RS
Level Contributor
58 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 October 2012

My husband and I have been to Shanghai in September for 4 days, and stayed at the Grand Central . The hotel is 3 minutes walking to Nanjing LU , the famous pedestrian street of Shanghai, and close to the Bund, and many other atractions ! Rooms are very well decorated, and breakfast is good, although overpriced , considering mostly the small variety of fruits and the juices that were not so good ! The lobby is amazing, and it is very nice when one come to the hotel after a long day !!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank beatrizantonini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
home
Level Contributor
83 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 October 2012

This is an excellent hotel, just next to Nanjing Road without the noise... BIG and comfortable rooms, lots of amenities, excellent breakfast buffet, friendly service, close to many good restaurants and stores. Almost midway between the Fund and People's Park. In summary: Great value!

Room Tip: Rooms facing Nanjing road allow you to see the night lights of this exciting pedestrian way without...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank luispi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tel Aviv
Level Contributor
33 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 October 2012

We stayed in this hotel 6 nights on September 2012.
It was in twin room, deluxe but not on executive floor. The room was great! Very big and comfortable. Nice working table, great armchair. The bathroom is large and very clean, with separated area for toilet, and separated bath and shower. Everything was nice comfortable and clean. The lobby is nice too and the location is great. We didn't like the food at all! And ate in the next door hotel - Sofitel..The food their is great !! The prices are the same....
The staff in Grand Central very helpful.
I didn't like the fact that there in no free Wi-fi in the room. Every 3 stars hotel has free Wi-fi nowadays so 5 stars should provide it also.
If you travel on the metro, the nearest station is Nanjing road East and take exit 4 to exit the station.

Room Tip: I believe top floor is nice always.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Revit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 October 2012

Was in Shanghai for 6 days over their Autumn festive season when I booked in at the Grand Shanghai. Well located, near Nanjing Road which is perhaps Asia's longest shopping street. Good facilities, has a gym and a pool and the staff were all well trained. There was a good spread for breakfast, but I consider it overpriced though not unusual. MacDonalds across would give you a breakfast for about RMB 15 compared with RMB 150 at the GCH. One of the trainees called Leo was very attentive although breakfast is meant to be a buffet. On inquiry he told me that he was a trainee from the North of China. No wonder China does well! Room was a good size and there was a regular turn-down service for the night. Well equipped gym and a pool.

One matter to caution you fellow travellers - remember that in China a foreigner is considered fair game. Took the Meglev on the way to the hotel - impressive at 400 kms! On exiting I followed directions from a well dressed tout at the station who set me down into a taxi that charged me RMB 200 for the journey to the hotel, which should have been RMB 75 or less. Likewise on the way out, although the concierge advised the driver to take me to the Meglev station - RMB 60, he drove me on to the airport. I called the hotel and had to pay him only RMB 60 whereas he was planning to collect RMB 180. Serves the blaggard right!

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank YakobKJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
162 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 October 2012

We stayed here for 3 nights on bank holiday weekend in October. Staff were all really pleasant and helpful. The hotel is in a great location! Great rooms which are spacious and a lovely gym. We will stay here again when we return to Shanghai but be advised breakfast is well below par better to stay room only and eat at one of the many coffee shop close by!

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank p0rtia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Shanghai hotels
People’s Square
Central Hotel Shanghai
Central Hotel Shanghai
#38 of 4,969 in Shanghai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 762 reviews
People’s Square
Sofitel Shanghai Hyland
Sofitel Shanghai Hyland
#60 of 4,969 in Shanghai
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,126 reviews
People’s Square
Howard Johnson Plaza Hotel Shanghai
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
People’s Square
The Yangtze Boutique Shanghai
The Yangtze Boutique Shanghai
#35 of 4,969 in Shanghai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 743 reviews
People’s Square
Radisson Blu Hotel Shanghai New World
People’s Square
Le Royal Meridien Shanghai
Le Royal Meridien Shanghai
#40 of 4,969 in Shanghai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,406 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Central Hotel Shanghai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Central Hotel Shanghai

Property: Grand Central Hotel Shanghai
Address: No.505 Jiujiang Road, Shanghai 200001, China
Region: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai > People’s Square
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 4,969 Hotels in Shanghai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Grand Central Hotel Shanghai 4.5*
Number of rooms: 353
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Grand Central Hotel Shanghai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing