We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Extraordinary”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Grand Central Hotel Shanghai
Ranked #55 of 5,138 Hotels in Shanghai
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 November 2012

I spent a couple of days here waiting out Hurricane Sandy. I was just looking for a cheap, decent place to stay, and picked the Grand Central based on positive Tripadvisor reviews. What a great place. I booked the cheapest room they had, overlooking the interior atrium. The room was simply amazing. Huge, beautifully laid out, high ceilings, well-lighted, ridiculously luxurious bathroom, plush towels and robes, comfortable bed (for China), French press coffee, free wired/wireless internet, good closet and bureau space, i-pod compatible radio. The housekeeping staff was excellent. Room service was fast, cheap, and tasty. A little issue with the front desk checking in, but fixed promptly and courteously. The lobby is huge and beautiful and a great place to have a drink, although the service was less attentive than it should have been. Terrific location, a block from Nanjing road and a short, pleasant walk to the Bund and People's Park. Lots of terrific little restaurants in the neighborhood.

Room Tip: Don't hesitate to get a standard room. No view, but quiet and comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Golfer88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,023)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

519 - 525 of 1,023 reviews

Reviewed 5 November 2012

Stayed in a standard double room, probably the best hotel room I ever stayed in. Big, nicely decorated, extremely clean and very good room service.

Rooms have cable internet connection. If you need wireless, just call room service and they will set up a wireless router in your room for free.....

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ImajPhotoAdventures
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2012

My daughter and I stayed in the Grand Central hotel for 5 nights at the end of September 2012, part business and part holiday.
We were on the 'executive' floor and it was certainly worth the small extra cost to have the dedicated check-in, separate freshly cooked breakfasts, free papers and internet access - as well as beers/soft drinks.
The rooms themselves were very spacious, with lovely bathrooms, large towels and quality toiletries.Quite quiet too.
The hotel lobby is busy but well staffed and very welcoming; we found that speaking in English was no problem to many of the staff. The hotel is excellently and centrally situated, not far from the Nanjing Road shops; the Bund and the Shanghai Museum - all are walkable. Go and enjoy the wonderful city of Shanghai - you'll love it!

Room Tip: Executive room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank macna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2012

Beautiful hotel and facilities in perfect location for visiting the main areas of Shanghai and very close to the metro.

The beds and linen in the room were first class.

The idea of adding a card (when they turned down the duvet and added the chocolates!) with the weather for the following day is great - the only hotel that we came across that did that. Also, the ability to watch Arsenal on TV late at night was priceless!!

The door staff were very friendly and kind - just what we wanted.

Food and extra water were expensive; however, I guess that is what one would expect in a 5 star hotel. I tend to think that a little generosity in terms of, say, two bottles of mineral water per person per night would not be excessive and would leave guests more impressed.

Central location and a haven in a very hot city. Don't eat in the hotel - there are lots of restaurants around which are interesting and part of the Chinese experience!

All in all, we loved it!

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank helhed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2012

Great location, rooms are very good. Even standard rooms have separate WC, bathroom and power shower. Did not eat here but staff seems helpful. Room was luxurious and there is a turn down service. We also used the pool - it has a lifeguard and is big enough to do laps in. Room was very clean. Very good value for money. Will certainly come again when in Shanghai.

If you have not been to China before, hotels here make a credit card charge of a specified amount at check in and cancel the authorisation on check out. We took the super-speed train from Shanghai airport and changed to the underground. The high speed train goes at up to 431km/hour and is a great experience. The change from the airport was difficult with luggage as in all underground station, luggage have to pass through airport style security. When you arrive at the underground stop for the hotel, you need exit 2 and then if you turn left and first right, hotel is 5 minutes to your left.

For the return journey, I took taxi to the airport. On a Sunday morning, it took just under one hour and costed 175 Yuan.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank anna26a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2012

We stayed in the Grand Central Hotel on our honeymoon. The lobby is beautiful - very impressive!
Our room was fabulous! It was huge! Lovely bathroom, spotlessly clean, good choice of cable tv channels and a great view. The location is excellent right in the heart of the hustle and bustle of Shanghai and a short stroll from The Bund. Staff were very nice and friendly especially the doormen. Overall we had a lovely stay in this excellent hotel and would highly recommend it.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PrunchH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2012

This hotel is perfect for me because the hotel is very very beautiful and hotel location is awesome!! (Near the Nanjing road : just across the street , Near metro station : you can go anywhere easily, Near people square : 10mins walk and you can go to the bund by walk also). Moreover, the price is not too expensive. All of staffs speak English well because this hotel is international hotel. The weak point is just the staff didn't smile much.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Weraya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Shanghai hotels
People’s Square
Central Hotel Shanghai
Central Hotel Shanghai
#49 of 5,138 in Shanghai
847 reviews
People’s Square
Sofitel Shanghai Hyland
Sofitel Shanghai Hyland
#59 of 5,138 in Shanghai
1,324 reviews
People’s Square
Howard Johnson Plaza Hotel Shanghai
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
People’s Square
Le Royal Meridien Shanghai
Le Royal Meridien Shanghai
#37 of 5,138 in Shanghai
2,697 reviews
People’s Square
The Yangtze Boutique Shanghai
The Yangtze Boutique Shanghai
#51 of 5,138 in Shanghai
789 reviews
People’s Square
Radisson Blu Hotel Shanghai New World
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Central Hotel Shanghai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Central Hotel Shanghai

Address: No.505 Jiujiang Road, Shanghai 200001, China
Region: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai > People’s Square
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #55 of 5,138 Hotels in Shanghai
Price Range: £105 - £164 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Grand Central Hotel Shanghai 4.5*
Number of rooms: 353
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grand Central Hotel Shanghai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing