We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Live like a KING!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Grand Central Hotel Shanghai
Ranked #40 of 5,059 Hotels in Shanghai
Certificate of Excellence
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Live like a KING!”
Reviewed 6 November 2012

Stayed in deluxe room, upon entering the room, the feeling is just so great! A lot of decorations are coated in gold color, so you feel like a king! It was very spacious and clean. They are very generous in providing everything you need. 2 sets of shower gels,shampoos, conditioner etc. The best thing is they have sea salt and scrub pad for you to enjoy in your bath tub. If you don't like soaking in bath tub, they have raining shower heads. They even have additional pillow selection like vanilla flavor, charcoal pillow, memory foam etc without any additional cost! This hotel also very near to people's square. Overall, this hotel give you a luxury feel at a reasonable price. Recommended!!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank guraisonu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

994 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    570
    344
    49
    15
    16
See reviews for
158
261
53
280
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (135)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Strabane, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 November 2012

I recently travelled to China with a friend. We were in Beijing, Xian, Yanghtse Cruise, Shanghai and Hong Kong. I have to say all our accommodations were excellent but the Grand Central Hotel in Shanghai was amazing. It was like a 5 star hotel. The hotel and our room was luxurious. It was very spacious with 2 double beds. The bath and shower were huge. Our breakfast was included and what a breakfast. Also the location was so central especially to the shops which were at our doorstep. I had to write this review so others would not miss such a luxurious experience.

Room Tip: We asked for a room high up so we would not hear the traffic and we slept like logs!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cepta607
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, MA
Level Contributor
68 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 November 2012

I spent a couple of days here waiting out Hurricane Sandy. I was just looking for a cheap, decent place to stay, and picked the Grand Central based on positive Tripadvisor reviews. What a great place. I booked the cheapest room they had, overlooking the interior atrium. The room was simply amazing. Huge, beautifully laid out, high ceilings, well-lighted, ridiculously luxurious bathroom, plush towels and robes, comfortable bed (for China), French press coffee, free wired/wireless internet, good closet and bureau space, i-pod compatible radio. The housekeeping staff was excellent. Room service was fast, cheap, and tasty. A little issue with the front desk checking in, but fixed promptly and courteously. The lobby is huge and beautiful and a great place to have a drink, although the service was less attentive than it should have been. Terrific location, a block from Nanjing road and a short, pleasant walk to the Bund and People's Park. Lots of terrific little restaurants in the neighborhood.

Room Tip: Don't hesitate to get a standard room. No view, but quiet and comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Golfer88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 November 2012

Stayed in a standard double room, probably the best hotel room I ever stayed in. Big, nicely decorated, extremely clean and very good room service.

Rooms have cable internet connection. If you need wireless, just call room service and they will set up a wireless router in your room for free.....

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ImajPhotoAdventures
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
73 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 November 2012

My daughter and I stayed in the Grand Central hotel for 5 nights at the end of September 2012, part business and part holiday.
We were on the 'executive' floor and it was certainly worth the small extra cost to have the dedicated check-in, separate freshly cooked breakfasts, free papers and internet access - as well as beers/soft drinks.
The rooms themselves were very spacious, with lovely bathrooms, large towels and quality toiletries.Quite quiet too.
The hotel lobby is busy but well staffed and very welcoming; we found that speaking in English was no problem to many of the staff. The hotel is excellently and centrally situated, not far from the Nanjing Road shops; the Bund and the Shanghai Museum - all are walkable. Go and enjoy the wonderful city of Shanghai - you'll love it!

Room Tip: Executive room
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank macna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
suffolk
Level Contributor
88 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 November 2012

Beautiful hotel and facilities in perfect location for visiting the main areas of Shanghai and very close to the metro.

The beds and linen in the room were first class.

The idea of adding a card (when they turned down the duvet and added the chocolates!) with the weather for the following day is great - the only hotel that we came across that did that. Also, the ability to watch Arsenal on TV late at night was priceless!!

The door staff were very friendly and kind - just what we wanted.

Food and extra water were expensive; however, I guess that is what one would expect in a 5 star hotel. I tend to think that a little generosity in terms of, say, two bottles of mineral water per person per night would not be excessive and would leave guests more impressed.

Central location and a haven in a very hot city. Don't eat in the hotel - there are lots of restaurants around which are interesting and part of the Chinese experience!

All in all, we loved it!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank helhed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 October 2012

Great location, rooms are very good. Even standard rooms have separate WC, bathroom and power shower. Did not eat here but staff seems helpful. Room was luxurious and there is a turn down service. We also used the pool - it has a lifeguard and is big enough to do laps in. Room was very clean. Very good value for money. Will certainly come again when in Shanghai.

If you have not been to China before, hotels here make a credit card charge of a specified amount at check in and cancel the authorisation on check out. We took the super-speed train from Shanghai airport and changed to the underground. The high speed train goes at up to 431km/hour and is a great experience. The change from the airport was difficult with luggage as in all underground station, luggage have to pass through airport style security. When you arrive at the underground stop for the hotel, you need exit 2 and then if you turn left and first right, hotel is 5 minutes to your left.

For the return journey, I took taxi to the airport. On a Sunday morning, it took just under one hour and costed 175 Yuan.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank anna26a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Shanghai hotels
People’s Square
Central Hotel Shanghai
Central Hotel Shanghai
#48 of 5,059 in Shanghai
805 reviews
People’s Square
Sofitel Shanghai Hyland
Sofitel Shanghai Hyland
#61 of 5,059 in Shanghai
1,227 reviews
People’s Square
The Yangtze Boutique Shanghai
The Yangtze Boutique Shanghai
#43 of 5,059 in Shanghai
765 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
People’s Square
Radisson Blu Hotel Shanghai New World
People’s Square
Howard Johnson Plaza Hotel Shanghai
People’s Square
Le Royal Meridien Shanghai
Le Royal Meridien Shanghai
#37 of 5,059 in Shanghai
2,541 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Central Hotel Shanghai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Central Hotel Shanghai

Property: Grand Central Hotel Shanghai
Address: No.505 Jiujiang Road, Shanghai 200001, China
Region: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai > People’s Square
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #40 of 5,059 Hotels in Shanghai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Grand Central Hotel Shanghai 4.5*
Number of rooms: 353
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Priceline, Ebookers, Hotel.de, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grand Central Hotel Shanghai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing