We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Just SUPER!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Grand Central Hotel Shanghai
Ranked #38 of 5,032 Hotels in Shanghai
Certificate of Excellence
tokyo
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Just SUPER!!!”
Reviewed 19 December 2013

i have stayed in lux hotels all over the world though this hotel made me impress in so many ways.............location, value, staffs, amenity, etcetc.
i can only recommend this hotel to all my friends who may go to shanghai soon. i was particularly impressed with nice swimming pool & spa and the choice of so many different pillows!!!!!!
i guess i payed for 3 nights stay for the value of one night of other hotels i usually stay in nyc or dubai, etc. sooo nice:)

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lulubonita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
grandcentralhotelsha, Public Relations Manager at Grand Central Hotel Shanghai, responded to this review, 26 December 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for your wonderful review. It is always a great pleasure to receive the nice comment such as yours. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

987 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    567
    340
    49
    15
    16
See reviews for
158
259
53
276
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (134)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
57 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 December 2013

Choosing Grand Central Hotel Shanghai mainly due to its great location, just few minutes walk to Nanjing East MRT station (Exit 4) and the popular walkway along Nanjing East road is just across the street, and just 10-15mins walk to the Bund, it makes a great choice for me to stay in this pretty new Hotel.
Upon arrival, the big and spacious hotel lobby attracted my attention. Love the oval shaped structure hanging in the middle of the ceiling, it is actually a ballroom which was pretty unique in its architecture. I'd actually arrived early and the front desk was kind enough to arranged a room for me.
The room I got was very spacious, and facing Nanjing East road which gives the bustling Shanghai feel. Love the spacious bathroom, and well equipped with a bathtub and shower room.
The whole hotel gave me a luxury feeling yet the staff was friendly in all the queries I had with regards to the hotel or nearby attractions.

Room Tip: Request for a room with a nice view
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LKKBen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
grandcentralhotelsha, Public Relations Manager at Grand Central Hotel Shanghai, responded to this review, 20 December 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you so much for your compliment on our room and our services. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tehran, Iran
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 December 2013

AMIR

i was in this hotel for 5 nights for business trip.
actually this hotel is very nice in all of aspects. Polite and kind staff , big room and acceptable services , i enjoyed of the location and availability to shopping mall .
The furniture was good and it was classic decoration .
If i go to shanghai again, i will stay in this hotel absolutely.
the breakfast must be better , fruit must be added to this breakfast .

maybe i go to this hotel with my family in next summer ...

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AMIR7781
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
grandcentralhotelsha, Public Relations Manager at Grand Central Hotel Shanghai, responded to this review, 20 December 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for staying at the Grand Central Hotel Shanghai. We are delighted that the hotel met with your expectations. We look forward to welcoming you and your family next summer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
36 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 December 2013

I spent 20 days at the Grand Central Hotel in a business trip and I do not have not even a single little complain about it. Actually I loved everything! The room is very nice and clean with a great king size bed and different options of pillows. The staff is really helpful and efficient. The location is great! Close to the subway, sightseeings, malls and many good restaurants. The best part of my stay was the outstanding breakfast! Besides the regular Western food they also have a great Asian isle, which I had a lot of fun trying out different stuff everyday. On my next trip to Shanghai there is no doubt that I will stay there.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lila P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
grandcentralhotelsha, Public Relations Manager at Grand Central Hotel Shanghai, responded to this review, 20 December 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for your great review of Grand Central Hotel Shanghai. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay, and we truly appreciate your high esteem of our room, breakfast as well as the staff. We look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nicosia, Cyprus
Level Contributor
39 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 December 2013

Despite the bad start of my experience at the hotel, it turned out to be a rather good experience overall. My flight into the city was delayed and I ended up arriving at the hotel in the middle of the night and with more than just a few hours delayed. There was only one person at the reception and the lights in the lobby were dimmed to a minimum, only to be told that my room was no longer available. However, I was offered a suite at a reasonable price. The room was excellent,spacious, very clean and with all the facilities one could ask for. The service is a bit questionable though. The worst was when I had someone knokcing at my door, at a time I had the "do not disturb" sign on. I thought that was absurd! The breakfast was not impressive and definitely nothing that one should get out of his way for. During all my visits to Shanghai, I have stayed at Pudong and Nanjing Road area. I must admit that the latter was better. It was equally good for going about my business that included commuting throughout the city's CBD, but it was better as it offered more choice for things to do after work. The pricing of the hotel was reasonable and I suppose that this is a plus. In conclusion, this is a good hotel. It is a shame that they let details create a negative impression to their guests.

Room Tip: If you will have a late arrival, make sure to inform the hotel in advance, otherwise you may be left...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Polpan1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
grandcentralhotelsha, Public Relations Manager at Grand Central Hotel Shanghai, responded to this review, 20 December 2013
Dear guest,
Thank you for staying at the Grand Central Hotel Shanghai. We have noted your comments on the issues of delay, service as well as breakfast, and we’ll bring these comments to the related department head immediately. We are looking forward to welcoming you back in the near future and to showing you the improvement that we have made.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
2 reviews
Reviewed 15 December 2013

Simply one of the best hotels I've stayed in!
I was staying at the Grand Central as part of a business trip and I thoroughly enjoyed my 3-night stay. The room was an excellent size with a luxurious bathroom and first-class amenities. The hotel location was superb also, only a few minutes walk from the prime shopping district.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dmx5050
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
grandcentralhotelsha, Public Relations Manager at Grand Central Hotel Shanghai, responded to this review, 15 December 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for staying with us at Grand Central Hotel Shanghai, and for taking the time to write your kind review. We appreciate your comments about our room facilities and hotel location. We hope to have the pleasure of serving you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
27 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 December 2013

This 5-star hotel is located a stone's throw away from the probable most patronized road of Shanghai - Nanjing Pedestrian Street. There are no less than 3 convenience stores across the street - HanKou Road. Hotel residents can also try the make-shift food stall at the traffic light junction at HanKou Road from 10pm. It is a sub-5min walk to the train station - Nanjing East Stop. Cleanliness is up to par for a 5-star accommodation which also comes with a indoor swimming pool, decent gym and billard room. Just that service could be better, my 1st encounter was a less than enthusiastic front desk staff who assign me and my better half to 10th floor while I had requested for a highest possible floor (of the total 17 floors) 2 months ago who I booked the hotel. Also, I had asked for birthday cake for my better half since it's her birthday. The hotel has agreed to provide but it never came which was a disappointment. Nonetheless, the hotel was a pleasant stay.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard3382
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
grandcentralhotelsha, Public Relations Manager at Grand Central Hotel Shanghai, responded to this review, 15 December 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your recent stay and nice comments about our hotel location and facilities.
We also appreciate your comments about our service glitches as it is through them that we are able to further improve our service standard. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back on your next visit to Shanghai.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Shanghai hotels
People’s Square
Central Hotel Shanghai
Central Hotel Shanghai
#45 of 5,032 in Shanghai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 796 reviews
People’s Square
Sofitel Shanghai Hyland
Sofitel Shanghai Hyland
#61 of 5,032 in Shanghai
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,195 reviews
People’s Square
Howard Johnson Plaza Hotel Shanghai
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
People’s Square
The Yangtze Boutique Shanghai
The Yangtze Boutique Shanghai
#37 of 5,032 in Shanghai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 759 reviews
People’s Square
Radisson Blu Hotel Shanghai New World
People’s Square
Le Royal Meridien Shanghai
Le Royal Meridien Shanghai
#34 of 5,032 in Shanghai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,514 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Central Hotel Shanghai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Central Hotel Shanghai

Property: Grand Central Hotel Shanghai
Address: No.505 Jiujiang Road, Shanghai 200001, China
Region: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai > People’s Square
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #38 of 5,032 Hotels in Shanghai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Grand Central Hotel Shanghai 4.5*
Number of rooms: 353
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grand Central Hotel Shanghai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing