We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good hotel with excellent service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Grand Central Hotel Shanghai
Ranked #59 of 5,159 Hotels in Shanghai
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 December 2013

I spent 4 nights at this hotel. I booked a room at the executive floor, and appreciated the calm and the quality of the breakfast at that floor. Room was very large and comfortable.
Value for money was great.
I would only encourage you not to take a room with a "nice view" as this also means a "lot of noise", from very early to very late ! And the accoustic isolation is not good at all.
Service was great, as was the overall location.

Room Tip: Do not take rooms with view on Nanjing Road, because of the noise !
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BrunoMBrussels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
grandcentralhotelsha, Public Relations Manager at Grand Central Hotel Shanghai, responded to this reviewResponded 26 December 2013

Dear Guest,
Thank you for your wonderful review of our room, our service and our location. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,036)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

393 - 399 of 1,036 reviews

Reviewed 25 December 2013

The hotel is beautiful, the rooms are spacious, the beds are quite comfortable, and service is impeccable. The location is good for tourists and not too bad for business travel, either. Their free wifi has good bandwidth, too. I will definitely stay here next time I'm in Shanghai.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PeglegEd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
grandcentralhotelsha, Public Relations Manager at Grand Central Hotel Shanghai, responded to this reviewResponded 26 December 2013

Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for your wonderful review and we are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay at our hotel. We appreciate for your compliment on our hotel room, our service, free wifi, as well as our location. We look forward to welcoming you back the next time you’re in Shanghai.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 December 2013

Me and my family has just finished our "5 stars hotel trip", from 4 hotels we have stayed in 10 days and 4 cities, this hotel has the best on everything. Just step our foot in the hotel door and find outstanding lobby in front of us, and nice ceiling. The hotel furniture full of gold color, the room very very very nice, big, cozy and homy. When you step in the hotel room, you will see in the tv : the welcoming statement with your name in it, very nice. The deluxe room is big enough, your kids can run and playing there, and the bathroom, wow, the gold and deluxe bathroom amenities really surprising. The location is something you won't regret, it is just in front of Nanjing Pedestrian Street. The city sightseeing bus stop is just in the corner, very easy to get everything. For moslem people, there is moslem restaurant just behind the hotel, in front of starbucks cafe. And for the friendliness of the staff, everything is nice. Maybe the only thing , we suggest that the restaurant in the lobby could be move out to other place, because the smell of the food fill the lobby for the whole day and it is not comfortable at all.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Airynsh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
grandcentralhotelsha, Public Relations Manager at Grand Central Hotel Shanghai, responded to this reviewResponded 26 December 2013

Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for your great review. We appreciate your high esteem of our hotel location, decoration, room, as well as our service. Your suggestion of our restaurant in the lobby is greatly valued. We hope to see you again on your next visit to Shanghai.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 December 2013 via mobile

The hotel decor is absolutely beautiful! It is a 5 star at a reasonable price. The location is central to most of the sites of Shanghai(awesome city). The staff is very helpful & service oriented. Workout facilities awesome(if that your thing). It is a large hotel at a very good price & location.

Stayed: December 2013
Thank Tim B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
grandcentralhotelsha, Public Relations Manager at Grand Central Hotel Shanghai, responded to this reviewResponded 26 December 2013

Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for your great review of Grand Central Hotel Shanghai. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay, and we truly appreciate your high esteem of our location, service, as well as hotel decoration. We look forward to welcoming you back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 December 2013

The main attraction of this hotel is that it's in a great location-only 10 minutes walk from the Bund and People's Square, and 5 from East Nanjing Road metro station.

Our room was a decent size and clean.

The hotel gym was well equipped but the pool was to cold to use.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mcneesh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
grandcentralhotelsha, Public Relations Manager at Grand Central Hotel Shanghai, responded to this reviewResponded 26 December 2013

Dear Guest,
Thank you for your recent stay at Grand Central Hotel Shanghai and for your nice comments on our hotel location and room. We apologize for the cold swimming pool. Thank you for bringing it to our attention and we will take action to improve it. We look forward welcoming you back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 December 2013

The staff are very helpful, the facilities provide for all your needs and the various eateries mean that you need not leave .
The surrounding area is also a pleasure to explore, It is a quiet hotel does not seem to Shanghai. although other from the bustling city of Shanghai, furnishings, atmosphere is calm and much can not imagine.Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BrittanyExcort S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
grandcentralhotelsha, Public Relations Manager at Grand Central Hotel Shanghai, responded to this reviewResponded 26 December 2013

Dear Guest,
Thank you for your wonderful review. We are very pleased that our hotel met with your expectation. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 December 2013

i have stayed in lux hotels all over the world though this hotel made me impress in so many ways.............location, value, staffs, amenity, etcetc.
i can only recommend this hotel to all my friends who may go to shanghai soon. i was particularly impressed with nice swimming pool & spa and the choice of so many different pillows!!!!!!
i guess i payed for 3 nights stay for the value of one night of other hotels i usually stay in nyc or dubai, etc. sooo nice:)

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lulubonita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
grandcentralhotelsha, Public Relations Manager at Grand Central Hotel Shanghai, responded to this reviewResponded 26 December 2013

Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for your wonderful review. It is always a great pleasure to receive the nice comment such as yours. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Shanghai hotels
People’s Square
Central Hotel Shanghai
Central Hotel Shanghai
#48 of 5,159 in Shanghai
863 reviews
People’s Square
Sofitel Shanghai Hyland
Sofitel Shanghai Hyland
#62 of 5,159 in Shanghai
1,348 reviews
People’s Square
Radisson Blu Hotel Shanghai New World
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Bund
Les Suites Orient, Bund Shanghai
People’s Square
Howard Johnson Plaza Hotel Shanghai
People’s Square
Le Royal Meridien Shanghai
Le Royal Meridien Shanghai
#36 of 5,159 in Shanghai
2,749 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Central Hotel Shanghai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Central Hotel Shanghai

Address: No.505 Jiujiang Road, Shanghai 200001, China
Region: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai > People’s Square
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #59 of 5,159 Hotels in Shanghai
Price Range: £102 - £171 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Grand Central Hotel Shanghai 4.5*
Number of rooms: 353
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Grand Central Hotel Shanghai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing