We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Grand Central Hotel Shanghai
Ranked #40 of 5,059 Hotels in Shanghai
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Nice hotel”
Reviewed 24 April 2014 via mobile

Hotel is really nice, Very high standard throughout the hotel, rooms are big and clean. The hotel has integrated VPN in there wifi so all western communications (Gmail/google/Facebook/Skype) works well here too! Location is very convenient (next to the pedestrian street)

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Erik_ch_ti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
grandcentralhotelsha, qc at Grand Central Hotel Shanghai, responded to this review, 28 April 2014
Thank you very much for your nice comments that will be shared with the team. We look forward to welcoming you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

994 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    570
    344
    49
    15
    16
See reviews for
158
261
53
280
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (135)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
San Pedro Sula, Cortes, Honduras
Level Contributor
73 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 April 2014

Stayed here on an overnight trip to Shanghai; First the location is the best if you are looking to be in the middle of Nanjing Road, which is a major commercial street, the bund is also very close by, so you can walk to many places. The rooms very clean, large and spacious, filled with all the amenities you can need. The food was very good and the breakfast buffet was very ample, had both a Chinese and International area, so all travelers can choose what they like. The rooms

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jose M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
grandcentralhotelsha, qc at Grand Central Hotel Shanghai, responded to this review, 24 April 2014
Dear Guest, Thank you for sharing your recent experience at our Hotel . We will bring your valuable feedback to the concerned department head immediately and please accept our sincere apologies for all the inconvenience caused to you. We sincerely hope you’ll have a different experience in your next visit to our hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kowloon
Level Contributor
242 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2014

This hotel is located one block from the pedestrian street that is full of places to shop and if you walk west, you come to Peoples square/park where you can relax and walk through the gardens. If you walk east, you will get to the Bund and the river promenade. Across the Huang Po river are more tall buildings and the Pearl tower, behind are even more shiny buildings, if you like that sort of thing. Along the main street just before the promenade is a line of world famous hotels. The colonial-style buildings conceal beautiful marble and wood interiors with crystal chandeliers.
(Be very careful when you leave the pedestrian areas as the drivers apparently believe those cute red lights at the corner and the little green walking man are decorative only. They don't stop for red lights. This city has the most lawless traffic I have seen in a very long time and that includes Bangkok, Phnom Penh, Manilla and Indonesia.)

The hotel was clean, attractive in a modern, spacious style. You can choose your own type of pillow and bed covering which is especially helpful for those with allergies. I asked for non-smoking and this was the first hotel out of the three I stayed in that actually seemed to have put me in a non-smoking room. Wi-fi is slow and sites with lots of flash and graphics were a problem.

Skip the breakfast and get out to some local eateries of which there are many around the area.

I didn't like Shanghai but I'd certainly stay here again if I ever had to go back .

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank moniker11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
grandcentralhotelsha, qc at Grand Central Hotel Shanghai, responded to this review, 14 April 2014
Thank you very much for our hotel's favor, and made such a high evaluation, we will do better as a driving force, to look forward to seeing you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2014

Well appointed room which was spacious. The bed was quite comfortable. Location is central (Najing Street is right across the road and the Bund is 15 minutes walk). Staff was a bit on the aloof side. I went to the buffet in the main lobby twice ... breakfast was good ... dinner wasn't!

Room Tip: when you are in Shanghai be careful with scammers .. .they come in all shapes and sizes ... if a loc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BeauMecEdm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
grandcentralhotelsha, qc at Grand Central Hotel Shanghai, responded to this review, 14 April 2014
Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to share with us what you enjoyed most about your visit. We are very grateful for your encouraging feedback! We look forward to welcoming you back often upon your future stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 April 2014

My boyfriend and I actually stayed their in august 2012. The rooms were really great: the bed was so soft, huge and amazing!
We flew 12 hours straight and after checking in, slept around 16 hours long.
Really great staff.
The hotel is located downtown and near one of the most famous tourist streets in that area.
You truly get what you pay for.
The only down point is that it is not as central as we thought and we underestimated the sixe of the city.
But still nice first visit

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Zeudi D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
grandcentralhotelsha, qc at Grand Central Hotel Shanghai, responded to this review, 14 April 2014
Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to share the comments with us. We are very pleased that the hotel met with your expectations. In particular, we appreciate the feedback regarding our staff. We look forward to welcoming you back to the our hotel in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lubbock, Texas
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2014

I stayed at the Grand Central Hotel Shanghai March 31-April 5, 2014 with 4 other friends and everyone of us loved the hotel. I am a travel agent and did lots of research on hotels in Shanghai and I will say I chose a great one. The employees are all very friendly and knowledgeable, the hotel has a beautiful big lobby with soaring ceilings and a piano playing with lots of seating areas. The rooms are very nice and have everything you need. You can even chose what types of pillows you want...charcoal, vanilla, bamboo etc. I was going to try the different types but was so happy with my pillows and bedding that I never did. Every night there was a chocolate on my pillow... Most of all the location was the best. You are a 2 min walk to The Bund...which is a must see if you are in Shanghai.

You wont regret staying here :)

Room Tip: I stayed in room 1237. It is very convenient to the elevator but not to where you hear it. Also, I h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cristinLOVESgu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
grandcentralhotelsha, qc at Grand Central Hotel Shanghai, responded to this review, 9 April 2014
Dear Guest, Thank you very much for your great review of our Hotel . We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay, and we truly appreciate your high esteem of our room facilities, location as well as the service. We look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vasa
Level Contributor
31 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2014

For what it is worth you cannot say that it location sucks. It's as near as you can get the heart of the city and with that comes also the negative point as it is very noisy 24 hours a day. If you want a quality night's sleep, try to get a room away from the central road. The breakfast could also be a bit broader in what it offered.
Otherwise that much to complain about, I really enjoyed my stay here. Also it was pretty affordable compared to many other hotels in the area.

Room Tip: Away from the main road, if you want a more silent sleep.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AndersVasa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
grandcentralhotelsha, qc at Grand Central Hotel Shanghai, responded to this review, 9 April 2014
Dear Guest, Thank you very much for your great review of our Hotel . We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay, and we truly appreciate your high esteem of our room facilities, location as well as the service. We look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Shanghai hotels
People’s Square
Central Hotel Shanghai
Central Hotel Shanghai
#48 of 5,059 in Shanghai
805 reviews
People’s Square
Sofitel Shanghai Hyland
Sofitel Shanghai Hyland
#61 of 5,059 in Shanghai
1,227 reviews
People’s Square
The Yangtze Boutique Shanghai
The Yangtze Boutique Shanghai
#43 of 5,059 in Shanghai
765 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
People’s Square
Radisson Blu Hotel Shanghai New World
People’s Square
Howard Johnson Plaza Hotel Shanghai
People’s Square
Le Royal Meridien Shanghai
Le Royal Meridien Shanghai
#37 of 5,059 in Shanghai
2,543 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Central Hotel Shanghai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Central Hotel Shanghai

Property: Grand Central Hotel Shanghai
Address: No.505 Jiujiang Road, Shanghai 200001, China
Region: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai > People’s Square
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #40 of 5,059 Hotels in Shanghai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Grand Central Hotel Shanghai 4.5*
Number of rooms: 353
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Hotel.de, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Grand Central Hotel Shanghai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing