We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved pool, good staff etc but Concierge could improve”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Grand Central Hotel Shanghai
Ranked #51 of 5,112 Hotels in Shanghai
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 April 2014

PROS: Well priced (check Net as varies over time); spacious rooms/huge bed with quality linen; good location; lovely Chinese restaurant upstairs (reasonably priced); beautiful indoor swimming pool; helpful staff - mostly!

CONS: V expensive breakfast (we went down street instead); Concierge service needs improvement...see more information below if you're interested.

As others have said, a reasonably priced/excellent luxury feel hotel - an ever so slight nod to Chinese culture with furniture & marble floors...would be nice to see more of that as things get repaired/replaced. The location is good - 15 min walk to "The Bund" - a long st, adjacent to river, lined with Colonial buildings - a must see in Shanghai. Finding restaurants/cafes for breakfast, lunch & dinner takes a bit of looking. Breakfast is v expensive at this hotel, so we walked to the main shopping area (a 5 min walk-take care at crossings...usual "rules??" don't apply here!!) & found the Mojo cafe - limited menu but nice egg wraps etc - we try to avoid big chains. The "near me now" function on TA wasn't working like usual, so meals were a bit tricky/disappointing at times as we like to try the local food. Anyway, on 1st night we were v tired so we did try the Hotel's Chinese Restaurant - the 1 upstairs. We were pleasantly surprised; not super expensive like breakfast plus lovely food eg dumplings & friendly staff. We returned another evening after a very big day of sightseeing with a local guide. Only one problem at this hotel we (mostly I) encountered...I have requested information from many a Concierge on our frequent travels and I don't remember finding one as abrupt & dismissive. I noticed he was quite polite & attentive with the man before me, giving him lots of time. With me, he cut me short with "of course, of course" & hardly seemed to listen or try to help. I gave up after a few minutes & sent my husband over - things got sorted quickly (although some inaccurate info - see below) although I think another young man had arrived at the desk by then. So, it would be good to see more females trained for the Concierge role &/or re-train the males to be more respectful toward women. Other than that, a great hotel & one we would recommend. Indoor pool is beautiful - v polite staff there - a young woman. Maybe a Concierge in the making?! One last tip...if taking bullet train to Beijing do get Concierge to book ahead for you (even if he suggests otherwise!) as you could miss your connections. After waiting for ages in a long queue we were lucky to get the last 2 business class seats...not really worth it - 1st class looked fine.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank NotMolly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
grandcentralhotelsha, qc at Grand Central Hotel Shanghai, responded to this reviewResponded 28 April 2014

Dear Guest, Thank you very much for your great review of Central Hotel Shanghai. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay, and we truly appreciate your high esteem of our room facilities, location as well as the service. We look forward to welcoming you back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,015)
There are newer reviews for Grand Central Hotel Shanghai
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

338 - 344 of 1,015 reviews

Reviewed 28 April 2014

I stayed 3 nights in late April. The hotel is nice and clean and well decorated. Wireless internet was good for me; not slow. Large rooms and good location. Excellent concierge services for a fee. Will stay here again.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank eteo66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
grandcentralhotelsha, qc at Grand Central Hotel Shanghai, responded to this reviewResponded 28 April 2014

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to share with us what you enjoyed most about your visit. We are very grateful for your encouraging feedback! We look forward to welcoming you back often upon your future stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2014 via mobile

The hotel is very conveniently located 5min from the Bund, 2min from a metro station and 7min from people's square.

Observations:

Internet is extremely slow. Unacceptable for such a hotel and rate. Don't book this hotel if you're in Shanghai on business and require INET
Rooms are a bit outdated
Breakfast is good
Some staff are willing to help but some other aren't considerate enough


Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
Thank Lina S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
grandcentralhotelsha, qc at Grand Central Hotel Shanghai, responded to this reviewResponded 28 April 2014

Dear Guest, Thank you for sharing your recent experience at Central Hotel Shanghai. We will bring your valuable feedback to the concerned department head immediately and please accept our sincere apologies for all the inconvenience caused to you. We sincerely hope you’ll have a different experience in your next visit to our hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2014 via mobile

Hotel is really nice, Very high standard throughout the hotel, rooms are big and clean. The hotel has integrated VPN in there wifi so all western communications (Gmail/google/Facebook/Skype) works well here too! Location is very convenient (next to the pedestrian street)

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Erik_ch_ti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
grandcentralhotelsha, qc at Grand Central Hotel Shanghai, responded to this reviewResponded 28 April 2014

Thank you very much for your nice comments that will be shared with the team. We look forward to welcoming you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2014

Stayed here on an overnight trip to Shanghai; First the location is the best if you are looking to be in the middle of Nanjing Road, which is a major commercial street, the bund is also very close by, so you can walk to many places. The rooms very clean, large and spacious, filled with all the amenities you can need. The food was very good and the breakfast buffet was very ample, had both a Chinese and International area, so all travelers can choose what they like. The rooms

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jose M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
grandcentralhotelsha, qc at Grand Central Hotel Shanghai, responded to this reviewResponded 24 April 2014

Dear Guest, Thank you for sharing your recent experience at our Hotel . We will bring your valuable feedback to the concerned department head immediately and please accept our sincere apologies for all the inconvenience caused to you. We sincerely hope you’ll have a different experience in your next visit to our hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2014

This hotel is located one block from the pedestrian street that is full of places to shop and if you walk west, you come to Peoples square/park where you can relax and walk through the gardens. If you walk east, you will get to the Bund and the river promenade. Across the Huang Po river are more tall buildings and the Pearl tower, behind are even more shiny buildings, if you like that sort of thing. Along the main street just before the promenade is a line of world famous hotels. The colonial-style buildings conceal beautiful marble and wood interiors with crystal chandeliers.
(Be very careful when you leave the pedestrian areas as the drivers apparently believe those cute red lights at the corner and the little green walking man are decorative only. They don't stop for red lights. This city has the most lawless traffic I have seen in a very long time and that includes Bangkok, Phnom Penh, Manilla and Indonesia.)

The hotel was clean, attractive in a modern, spacious style. You can choose your own type of pillow and bed covering which is especially helpful for those with allergies. I asked for non-smoking and this was the first hotel out of the three I stayed in that actually seemed to have put me in a non-smoking room. Wi-fi is slow and sites with lots of flash and graphics were a problem.

Skip the breakfast and get out to some local eateries of which there are many around the area.

I didn't like Shanghai but I'd certainly stay here again if I ever had to go back .

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank moniker11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
grandcentralhotelsha, qc at Grand Central Hotel Shanghai, responded to this reviewResponded 14 April 2014

Thank you very much for our hotel's favor, and made such a high evaluation, we will do better as a driving force, to look forward to seeing you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2014

Well appointed room which was spacious. The bed was quite comfortable. Location is central (Najing Street is right across the road and the Bund is 15 minutes walk). Staff was a bit on the aloof side. I went to the buffet in the main lobby twice ... breakfast was good ... dinner wasn't!

Room Tip: when you are in Shanghai be careful with scammers .. .they come in all shapes and sizes ... if a loc...
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BeauMecEdm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
grandcentralhotelsha, qc at Grand Central Hotel Shanghai, responded to this reviewResponded 14 April 2014

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to share with us what you enjoyed most about your visit. We are very grateful for your encouraging feedback! We look forward to welcoming you back often upon your future stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Shanghai hotels
People’s Square
Central Hotel Shanghai
Central Hotel Shanghai
#49 of 5,112 in Shanghai
835 reviews
People’s Square
Sofitel Shanghai Hyland
Sofitel Shanghai Hyland
#60 of 5,112 in Shanghai
1,303 reviews
People’s Square
Howard Johnson Plaza Hotel Shanghai
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
People’s Square
The Yangtze Boutique Shanghai
The Yangtze Boutique Shanghai
#53 of 5,112 in Shanghai
784 reviews
People’s Square
Le Royal Meridien Shanghai
Le Royal Meridien Shanghai
#37 of 5,112 in Shanghai
2,669 reviews
People’s Square
Radisson Blu Hotel Shanghai New World
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Central Hotel Shanghai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Central Hotel Shanghai

Address: No.505 Jiujiang Road, Shanghai 200001, China
Region: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai > People’s Square
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #51 of 5,112 Hotels in Shanghai
Price Range: £101 - £166 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Grand Central Hotel Shanghai 4.5*
Number of rooms: 353
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Grand Central Hotel Shanghai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing