We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Hotel, location, service, staff and value.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Grand Central Hotel Shanghai
Ranked #61 of 5,222 Hotels in Shanghai
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 May 2014

My family (2 plus children 11 and 14) stayed here for 4 nights in April. Booked 2 (adjacent but not joined) deluxe twin rooms and they were excellent. Large, modern, comfortable and well appointed. It is centrally located 1 minute to Nanjing Road Pedestrian strip and a few minutes down to the Bund. Great service, friendly staff with very good english skills and efficient check in and check out.

Arrived early on first day but they accomodated us with a room early to freshen up and get out and about. At the price it is excellent value for money. Highly recommend this hotel for a trip to Beijing whatever your trip purpose.

Room Tip: Don't think the deluxe twin rooms are basic. They are very spacious and all you could need.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank margusluke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
grandcentralhotelsha, qc at Grand Central Hotel Shanghai, responded to this reviewResponded 12 May 2014

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to share with us what you enjoyed most about your visit. We are very grateful for your encouraging feedback! We look forward to welcoming you back often upon your future stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,045)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

355 - 361 of 1,045 reviews

Reviewed 6 May 2014

My husband and I recently stayed here for 6 nights. Check in smooth and welcoming by Jasmine. We had a deluxe room on the 12th floor with views of Shanghai. We were very happy with our room, it was spacious and tastefully decorated. The bathroom was spacious, good lighting, shaving mirror with a magnifying side, a bonus for applying make-up ( for a person who wears glasses :0) )
Breakfast was good, no menu change in the 6 mornings we were there, however a large selection so it wasn't an issue.
Breakfast and lobby lounge area very comfortable and relaxing.
Enjoyed a dinner one evening at the Cantonese restaurant Bo Yuet Hin.
We found the staff very willing to please and helpful.
Only "slight" issue was we found the WIFI connection very hit and miss.
Would recommend this hotel and we would definitely stay here again.
Thanks to all at the Grand Central Hotel.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bluewren703
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
grandcentralhotelsha, qc at Grand Central Hotel Shanghai, responded to this reviewResponded 8 May 2014

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to share the comments with us. We are very pleased that the hotel met with your expectations. In particular, we appreciate the feedback regarding our staff. We look forward to welcoming you back to the our hotel in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2014

it is an excellent hotel. great service, has all the ammenities you can imagine. great location, 1 block away the pedestrian street, close to the bund and 1 block away from the hop on hop off bus stop. very nice staff, trying to help and give suggestions.

Room Tip: use the pillow menu. it is fun to try it
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bahiamaroma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
grandcentralhotelsha, qc at Grand Central Hotel Shanghai, responded to this reviewResponded 5 May 2014

Thank you very much for our hotel's favor, and made such a high evaluation, we will do better as a driving force, to look forward to seeing you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2014

We stayed here for 3 days after a cruise and were thoroughly impressed. Even though I paid what you would expect to pay for an average motel in Australia, this was striking in its ambience, its location and in its room comfort. We were both very sick after our cruise unfortunately and spent quite a lot of time in our room but the housekeeping staff did not disturb us at all. There was a bit of confusion around breakfast with some staff telling us we had to pre-order for a continental breakfast and then others on a different day telling us to help ourselves. Each time the amount charged was different.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Jan K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
grandcentralhotelsha, qc at Grand Central Hotel Shanghai, responded to this reviewResponded 5 May 2014

Dear Guest, Thank you very much for your great review of Central Hotel Shanghai. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay, and we truly appreciate your high esteem of our room facilities, location as well as the service. We look forward to welcoming you back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2014

Our stay was a mixed bag. Arrival was welcoming, check in fast and efficient but we had to go through the usual offer of an upgrade for some ridiculously expensive price per night, offering very little really. The room was luxurious, beds reasonably comfortable (except the pillows made for giants) and the bathroom was beautiful and well stocked with products. However, you can be in the best room anywhere and if the air conditioning is not functioning properly, sleeping is a real problem. When we complained we were told there was only a fan at this time of year and for cooler air, open the window. In China the foul smelling air is not what you want to breathe in all night but we had no choice. The other disappointment for us was the French restaurant on the second floor which looks nice but is a total sham. We booked and found ourselves the only customers in the place. When we asked for some white wine they had none available. We left. Don't expect a taxi at the front door. We waited a long time for one, although the staff did try very hard to accommodate our needs. The internet speed is very frustrating and drove us out of the hotel each day to find better access elsewhere. Overall, this hotel has a fantastic location but what you see is not exactly what you get.

Room Tip: We had a back room which was good because a front room means you would have to open a window onto tr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Brad W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
grandcentralhotelsha, qc at Grand Central Hotel Shanghai, responded to this reviewResponded 5 May 2014

Dear Guest, Thank you for sharing your recent experience at our Hotel. We will bring your valuable feedback to the concerned department head immediately and please accept our sincere apologies for all the inconvenience caused to you. We sincerely hope you’ll have a different experience in your next visit to our hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2014

PROS: Well priced (check Net as varies over time); spacious rooms/huge bed with quality linen; good location; lovely Chinese restaurant upstairs (reasonably priced); beautiful indoor swimming pool; helpful staff - mostly!

CONS: V expensive breakfast (we went down street instead); Concierge service needs improvement...see more information below if you're interested.

As others have said, a reasonably priced/excellent luxury feel hotel - an ever so slight nod to Chinese culture with furniture & marble floors...would be nice to see more of that as things get repaired/replaced. The location is good - 15 min walk to "The Bund" - a long st, adjacent to river, lined with Colonial buildings - a must see in Shanghai. Finding restaurants/cafes for breakfast, lunch & dinner takes a bit of looking. Breakfast is v expensive at this hotel, so we walked to the main shopping area (a 5 min walk-take care at crossings...usual "rules??" don't apply here!!) & found the Mojo cafe - limited menu but nice egg wraps etc - we try to avoid big chains. The "near me now" function on TA wasn't working like usual, so meals were a bit tricky/disappointing at times as we like to try the local food. Anyway, on 1st night we were v tired so we did try the Hotel's Chinese Restaurant - the 1 upstairs. We were pleasantly surprised; not super expensive like breakfast plus lovely food eg dumplings & friendly staff. We returned another evening after a very big day of sightseeing with a local guide. Only one problem at this hotel we (mostly I) encountered...I have requested information from many a Concierge on our frequent travels and I don't remember finding one as abrupt & dismissive. I noticed he was quite polite & attentive with the man before me, giving him lots of time. With me, he cut me short with "of course, of course" & hardly seemed to listen or try to help. I gave up after a few minutes & sent my husband over - things got sorted quickly (although some inaccurate info - see below) although I think another young man had arrived at the desk by then. So, it would be good to see more females trained for the Concierge role &/or re-train the males to be more respectful toward women. Other than that, a great hotel & one we would recommend. Indoor pool is beautiful - v polite staff there - a young woman. Maybe a Concierge in the making?! One last tip...if taking bullet train to Beijing do get Concierge to book ahead for you (even if he suggests otherwise!) as you could miss your connections. After waiting for ages in a long queue we were lucky to get the last 2 business class seats...not really worth it - 1st class looked fine.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank NotMolly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
grandcentralhotelsha, qc at Grand Central Hotel Shanghai, responded to this reviewResponded 28 April 2014

Dear Guest, Thank you very much for your great review of Central Hotel Shanghai. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay, and we truly appreciate your high esteem of our room facilities, location as well as the service. We look forward to welcoming you back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2014

I stayed 3 nights in late April. The hotel is nice and clean and well decorated. Wireless internet was good for me; not slow. Large rooms and good location. Excellent concierge services for a fee. Will stay here again.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank eteo66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
grandcentralhotelsha, qc at Grand Central Hotel Shanghai, responded to this reviewResponded 28 April 2014

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to share with us what you enjoyed most about your visit. We are very grateful for your encouraging feedback! We look forward to welcoming you back often upon your future stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Shanghai hotels
People’s Square
Central Hotel Shanghai
Central Hotel Shanghai
#51 of 5,222 in Shanghai
884 reviews
People’s Square
Sofitel Shanghai Hyland
Sofitel Shanghai Hyland
#68 of 5,222 in Shanghai
1,413 reviews
People’s Square
Howard Johnson Plaza Hotel Shanghai
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Bund
Les Suites Orient, Bund Shanghai
People’s Square
Le Royal Meridien Shanghai
Le Royal Meridien Shanghai
#37 of 5,222 in Shanghai
2,858 reviews
People’s Square
Shanghai Marriott Hotel City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Central Hotel Shanghai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Central Hotel Shanghai

Address: No.505 Jiujiang Road, Shanghai 200001, China
Region: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai > People’s Square
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #61 of 5,222 Hotels in Shanghai
Price Range: £97 - £163 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Grand Central Hotel Shanghai 4.5*
Number of rooms: 353
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Grand Central Hotel Shanghai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing