We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Grand Central Hotel Shanghai
Ranked #55 of 5,161 Hotels in Shanghai
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 August 2014 via mobile

We picked this hotel after reading reviews here and on booking.com and we weren't disappointed! The location, the comfort, the room, the lobby, breakfast, etcetera, we enjoyed it all. We would definitely choose this hotel again for another visit to Shanghai.

Stayed: July 2014
Thank Oxnogo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
grandcentralhotelsha, qc at Grand Central Hotel Shanghai, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2014

Thank you very much for our hotel's favor, and made such a high evaluation, we will do better as a driving force, to look forward to seeing you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,040)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

324 - 330 of 1,040 reviews

Reviewed 5 August 2014

We stayed two nights in the Grand Central. It is a five minute walk from subway station (Line 2 from airport) and is a beautiful hotel. Great location. 5 mins walk to subway, huge shopping area and hop on hop off bus stop. Hotel is huge, clean, very well decorated with friendly, helpful staff. Our room was large, had king bed, tv, desk, chair, lovely bathroom. all immaculate, up to date. The bed was one of the best we have slept in with lovely pillows. Very nice hotel. We had drinks in lobby and they were reasonably priced for this type of hotel. On check in the receptionist tried to get us to upgrade. Only 660CNY for breakfast etc, etc. Then when we said yes he said plus 15% service fee, then he said per night! We said No and he didn't persist which was good although didn't look happy. Only thing I didn't like. Otherwise superb.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank ryck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
grandcentralhotelsha, qc at Grand Central Hotel Shanghai, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2014

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to share with us what you enjoyed most about your visit. We are very grateful for your encouraging feedback! We look forward to welcoming you back often upon your future stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2014

Would thoroughly recommend this hotel. It is beautifully appointed, rooms are large, big bathroom and living area. Staff are extremely helpful and all speak good English. They have 3 restaurants and have a great variety of food , both Western and Chinese.
It is just off Nanking road( great shopping) and walking distance to the Bund.
Make sure you have all destinations in Chinese as few ( if any) cabbies speak English, don't let this put you off, with Chinese directions you will be OK. Make sure you go to the Fake Market called Han City( it is not a city, just the name of the fake market), about 3 stories high and would have about 300 shops there, Bargain hard, you will be amazed how low the prices get.
Best way to Bund area is by cab( from airport), should cost about 200 Yuan, the cabbie touts in the airport will try to rip you off, starting at about 650 Yuan, you are best to get cab yourself outside. It does take about 45 minutes from airport to Bund area. Other than the touts at the airport, cabs are extremely cheap in China

Think about visiting one of the water cities for 1/2 a day, very interesting.
Finally the hotel, should be about $175 per night, about$ 500 in the US. You will not do better than the Grand Central

Room Tip: overlooking Nanking Street
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank john w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
grandcentralhotelsha, qc at Grand Central Hotel Shanghai, responded to this reviewResponded 4 August 2014

Thank you very much for our hotel's favor, and made such a high evaluation, we will do better as a driving force, to look forward to seeing you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2014 via mobile

We stayed at the grand central hotel in April and thoroughly enjoyed our stay here. The rooms were beautiful, especially the bathroom. So spacious! Service also impeccable. Location great and easy to explore rest of shanghaiWould recommend to friends

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Emma Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
grandcentralhotelsha, qc at Grand Central Hotel Shanghai, responded to this reviewResponded 4 August 2014

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to share with us what you enjoyed most about your visit. We are very grateful for your encouraging feedback! We look forward to welcoming you back often upon your future stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2014

Grand Central Hotel is a beautiful hotel. The building has been engineered to perfection. Rooms were clean, comfortable and beautiful. The breakfasts were wonderful, staff were friendly and helpful, many spoke English. They provided excellent service, answered any questions we had, helped us exchange currency and were very eager to please us.
The hotel is centrally located. I wouldn't hesitate to stay at Grand Central the next time I am in China.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TLE48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
grandcentralhotelsha, qc at Grand Central Hotel Shanghai, responded to this reviewResponded 24 July 2014

Thank you very much for our hotel's favor, and made such a high evaluation, we will do better as a driving force, to look forward to seeing you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2014

In the first place the location of the hotel is excellent, rooms and everything else are also excellent. The hotel is located in the business district of Shanghai, but you feel like you are in a very quiet part of the city. Presidential apartment is very nice and comfortable, and looks like very large. I don't have any objection and I would love to come back to Shanghai and Grand Central Hotel!

Room Tip: Rooms facing the central street are beautiful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank Tanja B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
grandcentralhotelsha, qc at Grand Central Hotel Shanghai, responded to this reviewResponded 24 July 2014

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to share with us what you enjoyed most about your visit. We are very grateful for your encouraging feedback! We look forward to welcoming you back often upon your future stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2014

I had made my booking for GRAND CENTRAL HOTEL but they said they had no booking and instead my booking was for CENTRAL HOTEL. So they put me across to the CENTRAL HOTEL. I have nothing more to explain. I will never use GALAHOTELS again.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
Review collected in partnership with Galahotels.com
1  Thank Ismail S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
grandcentralhotelsha, qc at Grand Central Hotel Shanghai, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2014

Dear Guest, Thank you for your recent stay at our Hotel and taking the time to share your feedback. We understand your disappointment and we sincerely apologize for our service. Thank you for bringing it to our attention and we will take action to improve our service. We hope we will be given an opportunity to change your impression.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Shanghai hotels
People’s Square
Central Hotel Shanghai
Central Hotel Shanghai
#49 of 5,161 in Shanghai
872 reviews
People’s Square
Sofitel Shanghai Hyland
Sofitel Shanghai Hyland
#63 of 5,161 in Shanghai
1,363 reviews
People’s Square
Howard Johnson Plaza Hotel Shanghai
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
People’s Square
Le Royal Meridien Shanghai
Le Royal Meridien Shanghai
#36 of 5,161 in Shanghai
2,788 reviews
People’s Square
Radisson Blu Hotel Shanghai New World
The Bund
Les Suites Orient, Bund Shanghai
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Central Hotel Shanghai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Central Hotel Shanghai

Address: No.505 Jiujiang Road, Shanghai 200001, China
Region: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai > People’s Square
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #55 of 5,161 Hotels in Shanghai
Price Range: £97 - £161 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Grand Central Hotel Shanghai 4.5*
Number of rooms: 353
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Grand Central Hotel Shanghai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing