We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful luxury hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Grand Central Hotel Shanghai
Ranked #36 of 5,032 Hotels in Shanghai
Certificate of Excellence
Queensland
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Beautiful luxury hotel”
Reviewed 1 September 2014

One of the best hotels we've ever stayed in. Very spacious rooms in a perfect location in Shanghai - close to shopping, sightseeing and the subway. Highly recommended. We only stayed one night, but wished we had stayed more.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Timotei20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
grandcentralhotelsha, qc at Grand Central Hotel Shanghai, responded to this review, 4 September 2014
Thank you very much for our hotel's favor, and made such a high evaluation, we will do better as a driving force, to look forward to seeing you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

987 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    567
    340
    49
    15
    16
See reviews for
158
259
53
276
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (134)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
30 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 September 2014

We spent three nights at the Grand Central Hotel Shanghai in August 2014. Very comfortable hotel with lovely rooms and great beds. Pretty average executive lounge although beautifully appointed. Lacked atmosphere and service was very slow even there wasn't anybody else there. Breakfast was very good but other food service very poor. Needs a better chef. Bread rolls inedible. Soup tasteless. Wifi was hit and miss.

Room Tip: dont fall for the executive upgrade. Not worth it.!!!! We were on 7th floor room 228
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brubec18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
grandcentralhotelsha, qc at Grand Central Hotel Shanghai, responded to this review, 2 September 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for sharing your recent experience our hotel. We appreciate your positive comments with regards to our rooms, location, free Wi-Fi, as well as breakfast. We will bring your valuable feedback to the concerned department head immediately. Please accept our sincere apologies for the inconvenience caused to you. We hope to serve you again on your next visit to Shanghai.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2014

This hotel has the best service, best rooms, best price/quality, best services of all hotels I have been to in Shanghai. The only problem is the bad traffic around this area, but this too is balanced by the amazing speed at which the doormen can get you a taxi!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ValtteriM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
grandcentralhotelsha, qc at Grand Central Hotel Shanghai, responded to this review, 2 September 2014
Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to share with us what you enjoyed most about your visit. We are very grateful for your encouraging feedback! We look forward to welcoming you back often upon your future stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bury St Edmunds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2014

Upon arrival in this rather swish hotel I was told that the rooms I'd booked were "rather small" and offered an upgrade (with accompanying costs). I said I'd like to see the rooms in question, so was shown up to the 13th and 15th floors by a polite gentleman on Reception called Eric. The original rooms were absolutely fine and, as it turns out, right next door to each other, which had been my only concern. Yes, the upgrade room was a grander affair, but...

I appreciate that hotels will try to make more money out of their customers, but it seemed a pity to have to go through this rigmarole when my family and I were tired after our internal flight and metro journey across the city.

Other than this, I have only positive comments to make about Grand Central Hotel Shanghai! The rooms were great, with separate bath and shower and also really nice furniture. Housekeeping was excellent - we found a subtle note pushed under our doors whenever the cleaners had tried to access our rooms but 'Do Not Disturb' was showing. The note politely asked us to contact Housekeeping when we were ready to go out, which only took a second and on each occasion we saw the Housekeeping team approaching as we made our way to the lifts. The rooms were always spotless upon our return. The swimming pool was also excellent and formed part of a very high quality, relaxed leisure facility. Our kids could do their lengths and then have some play-fun without impinging on anyone else's space, which was great. Location-wise, having stayed in the Jin Mao Tower in Pudong on a previous visit, I know that getting around Shanghai can be challenging and would definitely recommend Grand Central Hotel for being so close to the Bund and East Nanjing Road. We got about the city quite easily by Metro and on foot - apart from the odd crowded carriage to contend with it was absolutely fine.

After the check-in experience, our only encounters with 'front of house' were polite members of staff at the entrance and a quite friendly, efficient lady who helped us check-out in a couple of minutes. We did not eat breakfast at the hotel but found 'Croissants of France' on Hankou Road, which is no more than two minutes' walk away. Although it doesn't look much from the outside, inside there are places to sit and the pastries / breads are delicious. We ate there every morning and would recommend it.

In conclusion, Grand Central Hotel has lots going for it, but needs to get its customer service priorities right to warrant a five-star rating.

Room Tip: Rooms 1301 and 1303 face the internal atrium, although you are actually well above the atrium's...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JCC2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
grandcentralhotelsha, qc at Grand Central Hotel Shanghai, responded to this review, 24 August 2014
Dear Guest, Thank you very much for your great review of our Hotel. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay, and we truly appreciate your high esteem of our room facilities, location as well as the service. We look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
42 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2014 via mobile

Synopsis (Overall + Value)

Fantastic stay, good location. We had a spacious twin room, at £90 per night (£45pp).

Location

Located centrally, the hotel was around 5-10minute walk to the subway. Lots of shops and amenities nearby, including a 24h ATM.

Transfer

We would have preferred to take the subway to the hotel, but our flight had been delayed so we were left with no option but airport transfer taxi. The hotel had advised us that it should cost ¥250 (useful as the taxi people tried to charge us ¥450 initially. Feel free to haggle).

Hotel Room

Luxurious, clean, spacious. Two large beds, TV, safe, fridge, a comfy chairs. What you'd expect from a decent quality hotel. Both a bath tub and walk in shower. Everything about the room oozes class.

Bed

Comfortable. Slept very well.

Wifi

Good speeds, no connection issues. Websites such as FaceBook, YouTube, Twitter, Google maps and google search are banned in China, but easily accessible using a VPN. After a little research I chose VyprVPN, which worked well on my iPhone too. Google it for more info.

Service

Friendly and helpful staff. Didn't need to interact too much. The bellboys always offered to help with luggage and held open doors, unlike the reviews of some previous tripadvisor members. Some people need to lighten up! Wheeling my own luggage to a lift isn't a big deal to me, god forbid that should happen.

Breakfast

Very expensive add on, so we chose not to eat here. Instead, there is a "Muslim Resyaurant" literally across the road in the alleyway that served excellent and affordable food.

Other

There are computers available in the executive lounge (we were lucky to get a free upgrade). Would suggest using the Mac, as the PC is a bit outdated.

Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
4 Thank Narmak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
grandcentralhotelsha, qc at Grand Central Hotel Shanghai, responded to this review, 24 August 2014
Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to share with us what you enjoyed most about your visit. We are very grateful for your encouraging feedback! We look forward to welcoming you back often upon your future stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shanghai, China
Level Contributor
89 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2014

We choose this hotel based on location and the TripAdvisor ranking, we were very disappointed by the experience and wonder how the hotel can be rated so highly? It is in a good location, but there are many hotels in this area for similar price. Actually, the hardware is okay, it is the software/the service that is poor.
Like other reviewers, we got no assistance with luggage upon arrival and little help with taxis from the bellboys/doormen, it was faster to go to the street and get our own taxi. Check-out was very slow and the service was surly. Housekeeping was good, room was clean and tidy. Breakfast was below average, they cater mainly for Chinese and the service is bad/unfriendly. Despite the signage for no smoking, it is not enforced and constantly had to walk through smokers in the entrance way. We thought the rooms were very noisy, can hear lots of noise from the corridor.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Qualitycontroller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
grandcentralhotelsha, qc at Grand Central Hotel Shanghai, responded to this review, 24 August 2014
Dear Guest, Thank you for your recent stay at our Hotel and taking the time to share your feedback. We understand your disappointment and we sincerely apologize for our service. Thank you for bringing it to our attention and we will take action to improve our service. We hope we will be given an opportunity to change your impression.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockholm
Level Contributor
41 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2014

I stayed at this property with a friend for a week in late April-early May of 2014, sharing a double room with twin beds. As other reviewers have pointed out the hotel is in a very central location in Shanghai, a stone's throw from Nanjing Road and with the Bund within walking distance. After having explored Shanghai for a week on this trip, I realize that if I were to return, I would probably choose to stay in a more "genuine" neighborhood, perhaps the French concession, for instance. But for a first-time visit, the location of the Grand Central is practical, with restaurants, sights, shopping, subway and more nearby.

Our room was normal in size, with comfortable beds and a pretty nice view of central parts of Shanghai. Cleaning was good. The decor of the room and the entire hotel is terrible though - very late 80's-early 90's faux-deluxe style, pretty tacky actually. Wifi worked well for my friend and not at all for me, which probably had more to do with issues with my iphone than with the quality of the hotel's wifi. The gym at the hotel is small, as in so many other hotels around the world, but sufficient for a decent workout.

We found service at this hotel to appear confused and lacking in professionalism on a couple of occasions, such as checkin/checkout and, especially, at breakfast. Breakfast was not included in our room rate, but although it was pretty expensive we chose to pay the additional cost of having breakfast at the hotel every day. This seemed to cause great confusion with the staff - some times we were supposed to sign a bill at the breakfast table, other times we were told we had to inform the front desk no later than the day before if we wanted breakfast the following day... All this may very well have been the result of language issues, as the level of the staff's English was uneven, to put it diplomatically. Regardless, it was annoying and not something you wish to have to deal with every morning.

All in all an OK but not great hotel experience. Would I stay here again if I were to return to Shanghai? No, I'd try something with a more modern and professional feel to it, and in a different neighborhood. There are so many hotels in Shanghai to choose from, so why not try something else? This one is a little overrated by other reviewers it seems to me.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Larshie_B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
grandcentralhotelsha, qc at Grand Central Hotel Shanghai, responded to this review, 24 August 2014
Dear Guest, Thank you for your recent stay at our Hotel and taking the time to share your feedback. We understand your disappointment and we sincerely apologize for our service. Thank you for bringing it to our attention and we will take action to improve our service. We hope we will be given an opportunity to change your impression.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Shanghai hotels
People’s Square
Central Hotel Shanghai
Central Hotel Shanghai
#43 of 5,032 in Shanghai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 795 reviews
People’s Square
Sofitel Shanghai Hyland
Sofitel Shanghai Hyland
#60 of 5,032 in Shanghai
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,193 reviews
People’s Square
Howard Johnson Plaza Hotel Shanghai
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
People’s Square
The Yangtze Boutique Shanghai
The Yangtze Boutique Shanghai
#34 of 5,032 in Shanghai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 760 reviews
People’s Square
Radisson Blu Hotel Shanghai New World
People’s Square
Le Royal Meridien Shanghai
Le Royal Meridien Shanghai
#33 of 5,032 in Shanghai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,513 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Central Hotel Shanghai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Central Hotel Shanghai

Property: Grand Central Hotel Shanghai
Address: No.505 Jiujiang Road, Shanghai 200001, China
Region: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai > People’s Square
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #36 of 5,032 Hotels in Shanghai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Grand Central Hotel Shanghai 4.5*
Number of rooms: 353
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Cancelon, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grand Central Hotel Shanghai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing