We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Correct”

Shanghai Dock Bund Hostel
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Shanghai Dock Bund Hostel
Ranked #1,383 of 4,998 Hotels in Shanghai
Papeete, French Polynesia
Level Contributor
266 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Correct”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 May 2014

Though it's difficult to find, this hostel is very well located and really very cheap (especially for such a good location!). Its stuff is friendly and helpful, but they don't accept credit cards. It's just correct for its price.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Moumzik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

73 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    7
    32
    25
    5
    4
See reviews for
6
12
14
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Barcelona, Spain
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 May 2014 via mobile

The room was tiny, walls bad painted and with humidities, the bathroom was ok. In the morning is impossible to sleep because the noise outside the room caused for all guests and service (walls seem are made of paper!). Anyway good price and good location!

Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
3 Thank MG S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Shanghai hotels

Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
51 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 May 2014

This hotel is located close to the Bund and about a 10 min walk from the East Nanjing Subway stop. The lobby is very small – basically just a small desk right next to the elevators so it’s nothing grand. We found our room to be fine though. We had 2 single beds, a nightstand, a table with a chair, a TV, and a small area to hang clothes up with a bench that doubles as a place to set your bags down. There is a big glass window between the bathroom and the room, but there is a curtain to provide privacy. We found the bathroom to be adequate. We stayed in another hotel close by for a few nights but found Dock Bund to be the better deal as the rooms were comparable but Dock Bund was cheaper.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kauai2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denmark
Level Contributor
19 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2014

Stayed there two nights, after the first night, spend all day in Shanghai and when i came back my bed was already taken by sleeping chinese and my little empty bag which i put on the bed to mark that it is mine was in the trash bin. Fortunately there was another free bed. Staff English very bad. I want to come back to Shanghai, but definitely not to this hostel

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank DominusCN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 March 2014 via mobile

After over a month in china, this is the first hostel we DO NOT recommend. Although the facilities were ok, From the checkin, the staff wasn't very helpful and friendly. We ended up having a dissapointing experience with them that led to us leaving the hostel earlier then expected and moving to a different one.
We ordered tickets for the era acrobatic show through them, after confirming several times with a few staff members that we are booking specificly for the ERA show. We ended up paying 180 yuan each for an amature acrobatic show that we wouldnt have spent a cent on if we knew.
We tried to talk to them after the show, but that ended up with them pretty much laughing in our face.
All the hostels in china were so helpful with booking tickets and helping us with our travels, and this time we got a slap in the face with a hostel that cheated us.
Do not book your stay in shanghai with this hostel.

Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Lindsay H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
80 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 March 2014

Located poor, at least 15 minutes walk to nearest station. Room had no window, smelt fishy but ok after I turned on air conditioner. Thin pillows and mattress. My room was not cleaned in the four days, I even had to empty my own trash. Housekeepers occupied with watching TV on their mobiles. Room came with strong steady wifi, hair dryer, shampoo and shower film in wall mounted dispensers. Foul fishy odour came from the ensuite toilet due to the pipes. Kettle was provided.
Reception were friendly and helpful, except for the dour female one I met on checking in.
Very thin walls, was woken up by housekeeping staff shouting to each other in the mornings, and Chinese travellers gambling and shouting away.

Room Tip: Get room with window at least. Highly recommended Chinese pork and vegetables dumpling in soup stall...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Persimmone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Riga, Latvia
Level Contributor
100 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 March 2014 via mobile

Nothing very good or bad to say about place, we stayed at private room, ok for 1,2 nights if you need just a place to crash. Place is close to bund and reasonable close to subway. Room was dark and not very fresh. Staff were helpfull

Helpful?
Thank ekze
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Shanghai hotels
The Bund
Jinjiang Metropolo Hotel Classiq Shanghai Off Bund
The Bund
JinJiang Metropolo Classiq Hotel, Shanghai Bund Circle
Hongkou
Broadway Mansions Hotel
Broadway Mansions Hotel
#158 of 4,998 in Shanghai
4.0 of 5 bubbles 543 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Bund
Shijia Hotel
Shijia Hotel
#2,449 of 4,998 in Shanghai
3.0 of 5 bubbles 52 reviews
People’s Square
Chun Shen Jiang Hotel
Chun Shen Jiang Hotel
#186 of 4,998 in Shanghai
3.5 of 5 bubbles 123 reviews
Hongkou
Astor House Hotel
Astor House Hotel
#78 of 4,998 in Shanghai
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,080 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shanghai Dock Bund Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shanghai Dock Bund Hostel

Property: Shanghai Dock Bund Hostel
Address: No.55 Hongkong Road, Huangpu District, Shanghai 200002, China (Formerly Nanlin Hotel)
Region: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai > The Bund
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1,383 of 4,998 Hotels in Shanghai
Hotel Class:2 star — Shanghai Dock Bund Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your Shanghai Dock Bund Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing