We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“First rate gardens”

Shanghai Botanical Garden
Ranked #89 of 1,312 things to do in Shanghai
Attraction details
Singapore
Level Contributor
135 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 136 helpful votes
“First rate gardens”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2014

I came here eight years ago and enjoyed the bamboo garden. Then this year I returned, and there is so much more, that my allocated two hours cannot cover it.

The bamboo garden remains massive. there are two must-see conservatories (tropical/four seasons), an orchid garden, a bonsai house - with separate admission, meaning that it was a quiet escape from the dancers and tai qi'ers - all enclosed in a sprawling ground full of many types of plants.

If you come in the spring, it is good to set four hours aside for this fantastic place.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank SingaporeMatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

116 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    34
    52
    19
    5
    6
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Gedera, Israel
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Amazing place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 April 2014

We were the on the last week of march.
What an amazing huge garden.
We spent an entire day there.
So much to see such a big variety.

A must see place

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Uriely
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuching, Malaysia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Don't review if you didn't go at spring time”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 April 2014

It is botanical garden, so it won't be at it's best performance if it's not spring. So it is not fair to review the place if you go during other seasons.

I went during Spring (6th April 2014) when it was in full bloom! Everything was great, so scenery, so heavenly. Tulips, roses, sakura you name it, all are colourful, in full bloom. It was like paradise. We enjoyed the garden park so much. My mom and my hubby love it so much.

We bought 'combined ticket' each (means that we can go to certain part that solely for those who pay extra) for 40 Yuan/person. For the said ticket, we were given access to other 4 parks in the place but we ended up using only 1 access (to Tropical green house) because we were tired! So therefore, 3 ticket access to other parks were wasted. The Tropical green house also was very packed with people so we don't really enjoyed it.

I personally think that for a first timer, it is enough to pay about 20 Yuan/person for the common park. Eventhough you don't have access to the other parks, the existing one is already very big and you can barely finish them in 2 hours+. You must take photo as many as you can because you won't see that much types of flowers and colours anywhere else

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
4 Thank DNurul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
84 reviews
30 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“very extensive Bonsai garden.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2014

basic entrance fee is 20 RMB, with the optional passes to three inside collections of 20 more. I think you should just pay the basic fee, and pay 7 RMB more for the Bonsai garden. The others are not worth visiting. The park is much larger than I thought it was. While it has many of the characters of a large city botanical garden, its Bonsai (penjing) collections are the most impressive. I have seen many of these collections including those in Yangzhou's Slim West Lake (shouxihu), as well as in many very famous southern gardens. I have to admit this is the most extensive. many of the miniature mountains are very real! Its orchid collection was very mediocre, and is not worth paying extra for, nor is its green house collections. very few plants and the scale is very small. These two are definitely not worth paying extra. The compound itself has a good collection of trees and flowers, and is very pleasant to walk around. Plan for 4 hours, although one can do it in two rushing through.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank Leewho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
326 reviews
155 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 218 helpful votes
“Beautiful gardens in spring. ”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 March 2014 via mobile

We visited now on the last weekend in march, as we wanted to see the cherry and other fruit blossoms.
While the blossoms were still lots and the flower pedals rained down like snow, it would have been better 1 week earlier to see the full blossom on the trees.
A huge park, for 40 rmb for adults you get access to all the 4 major buildings with children under 6 years getting in for free.
As it was a Sunday the place was packed.
Being spring there were tons of flowers in bloom.
The park is a great escape from the city and smog, but be prepared for crowds, and long lines to get in.
While most of the plants were labeled it was mostly in Chinese or the Latin names, if you don't know either then...

Helpful?
1 Thank Clodruss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Shanghai Botanical Garden also viewed

Shanghai, Shanghai Region
 
Shanghai, Shanghai Region
Shanghai, Shanghai Region
 

Been to Shanghai Botanical Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing