We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing and tranquil”

Shanghai Botanical Garden
Ranked #89 of 1,312 things to do in Shanghai
Attraction details
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
204 reviews
70 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“Amazing and tranquil”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 July 2014

You really get a feel on how China's culture is here in this massive area of botanical display.
The area is a lot larger than you think, so prep by bringing water and snacks if needed.
See all the ancient displays as well as they tell much of the historical story.
Prefer to be there as late as possible-- it can be very hot and with limited breeze, very uncomfortable.
Walking shoes are a definite.

HINT- if taking the subway and you get off on the side of the station that is desolate, trashy and a solid wall-- you have gone the wrong way. Go under the station and take the road directly in front of you for ¼ mile to the entrance.

Its amazing and easily could spend the whole day here-- get a map and pick and choose as you like!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank MichaelKoch66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

116 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    34
    52
    19
    5
    6
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Shanghai, China
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“I love this place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2014

I live in Shanghai and frequent this botanical garden - so lucky! :) I've seen some negative reviews on here but it really depends on what you are looking for. If you are lucky enough to come during the Cherry Blossom season (don't forget plum and peach blossoms!) ~ then this place is magical. It has a good variety of cherry, plum, and peach trees. It really comes to life in the spring time ~ peonies, tulips, so many roses and other flowers it's mind boggling. There is less blooming in the fall and winter, but the trees and fresh air are still amazing.

There are some conservatories with a great set up of Orchids and trees. The Bonsai and the bamboo gardens can be enjoyed all year round. And of course there are the Osmanthus, Maple, Azalea, and Magnolia gardens! Not to mention various bridges, ponds, and man made caves and pavilions!! There is even a dove house there.

The grounds are quite large so there is a good deal of walking. Especially if you come in at the entrance with the play theme park for kids. Go past that area and you get to the good stuff!

You can even purchase bonsai here! I got a lovely ginkgo bonsai for only 30RMB.

All in all - if you are looking for a peaceful place to enjoy plants, flowers, or perhaps a picnic then this is the place for you. There isn't tons of information on what is there ~ but, if you enjoy just looking at the plants than this place is fantastic.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
4 Thank Rene K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
Level Contributor
135 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 136 helpful votes
“First rate gardens”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2014

I came here eight years ago and enjoyed the bamboo garden. Then this year I returned, and there is so much more, that my allocated two hours cannot cover it.

The bamboo garden remains massive. there are two must-see conservatories (tropical/four seasons), an orchid garden, a bonsai house - with separate admission, meaning that it was a quiet escape from the dancers and tai qi'ers - all enclosed in a sprawling ground full of many types of plants.

If you come in the spring, it is good to set four hours aside for this fantastic place.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank SingaporeMatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gedera, Israel
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Amazing place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 April 2014

We were the on the last week of march.
What an amazing huge garden.
We spent an entire day there.
So much to see such a big variety.

A must see place

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Uriely
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuching, Malaysia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Don't review if you didn't go at spring time”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 April 2014

It is botanical garden, so it won't be at it's best performance if it's not spring. So it is not fair to review the place if you go during other seasons.

I went during Spring (6th April 2014) when it was in full bloom! Everything was great, so scenery, so heavenly. Tulips, roses, sakura you name it, all are colourful, in full bloom. It was like paradise. We enjoyed the garden park so much. My mom and my hubby love it so much.

We bought 'combined ticket' each (means that we can go to certain part that solely for those who pay extra) for 40 Yuan/person. For the said ticket, we were given access to other 4 parks in the place but we ended up using only 1 access (to Tropical green house) because we were tired! So therefore, 3 ticket access to other parks were wasted. The Tropical green house also was very packed with people so we don't really enjoyed it.

I personally think that for a first timer, it is enough to pay about 20 Yuan/person for the common park. Eventhough you don't have access to the other parks, the existing one is already very big and you can barely finish them in 2 hours+. You must take photo as many as you can because you won't see that much types of flowers and colours anywhere else

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
4 Thank DNurul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Shanghai Botanical Garden also viewed

Shanghai, Shanghai Region
 
Shanghai, Shanghai Region
Shanghai, Shanghai Region
 

Been to Shanghai Botanical Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing