We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Way to see Shanghai”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of China Cycle Tours

China Cycle Tours
Book In Advance
More Info
US$550.00*
and up
2-Day Private Tour of Xi'an from Shanghai by Air
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: China Cycle Tours is a Shanghai and Suzhou based bicycle tourism company specializing in guided city and countryside biking tours.China Cycle Tours operates carefully chosen cycling routes both in the cities (Shanghai and Suzhou) and in the surrounding mountains and countryside. It also can provide customized tours if the customers are interested in travelling off the beaten path.The people working in China Cycle Tours speak both Mandarin and English, they are well travelled and love to share the passion for cycling with other people. They guide various tours and handle all logistic details from activities, transportation, food and lodging.
Useful Information: Activities for older children
St. Albert, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great Way to see Shanghai”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 May 2014

We were scheduled for a full day bike tour in Shanghai but unfortunately the weather was less than agreeable with that plan. It was pouring rain all day and we ended up being delayed in meeting our tour guide due to not being able to disembark from our cruise on time. China Cycle Tours was more than accommodating to our lateness and even adjusted the length of our tour at our request as 7 hours in the pouring rain would have been a bit much.

We ended up doing 3 hours of the highlights and had a fantastic time even in the rain. We were taken to some really neat spots that would not have been a part of a typical tour which made the day much more enjoyable. We always felt safe and taken care of and highly recommend this company. They are professional and attentive to your needs. We hope to visit Shanghai again someday and rebook with them but hopefully on a day with better weather so we can do the full 7 hours.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Cruiseal0t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

160 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    128
    22
    5
    2
    3
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Greenville
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great disappointment”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2014

The 3-day Guilin adventure with China Cycle tours that I had arranged for 3 of us was going to be one of the hl-lights of our trip to China. Unfortunately, it was a huge disappointment. The weather was not good, however, my concerns are not about the weather. This entire trip was poorly planned and executed. Our guide, Li, was distant and not available for most of the trip. She was rude to at least one of my companions on several occasions. The selections of restaurants showed little pre-planning as we ate at the same location twice in two days and the restaurant next to our hotel for the 3rd meal. The bicycles were completely unacceptable, it appeared that our guide went to the nearest corner and rented rusty street bikes. Then on the final day, Li discovered that the invoice she had given me for the trip was incorrect and we were asked to pay an additional amount.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank ncreech
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChinaCycleTours S, Guest Relations Manager at China Cycle Tours, responded to this review, 15 May 2014
Thanks for taking the time to review us. We really value the opinions of our customers, and are sorry we didn’t meet your expectations and make this the best trip ever.

After talking with the team, we really think this just stemmed from a big miscommunication over the quotes over the months before the trip. We expected four people and so gave a quote based on that, in addition to 2 and 3-people ones. Since in the end only three of you came, the per-person rate was a bit higher. Li felt embarrassed and didn’t know how to go about having to ask for the 3-person rate. In the future we will strive for more clarity up front.

As far as the bikes, we only use well-maintained bikes suitable to the ride. In this case, since it was rainy we had to go with the only bikes available with fenders.

If you come by again, we’d like to make it up to you by showing you what we have learned from this. After all, there are many more places to find adventure in China, and we would love it if you would choose to do it with us.

Sincerely,

Stuart
China Cycle Tours
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Long Beach, California
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A must do to see Shanghai!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 April 2014

Our tour guide Ellen was so knowledgeable and made our ride through the city a memorable one. Riding through traffic was scary at first, but the guides made sure that we were all safe and traveled at a comfortable speed. I highly recommend this tour on day one in Shanghai so that you can get your a feel for the different parts of the city. The guide will make recommendations for further exploration when your're on your own. Highly recommended!

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank carlosgW1688IY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Germany
Level Contributor
54 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“The best way to the city”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 January 2014

I took a day tour through the city. It was absolutely great. Our guide really did a great job of showing us the beauty, diversity, do's & dont's of Shanghai. Not only did we visit many of the sights one's supposed to see, but we also traveled on numerous back roads and alleys - a truly rewarding experience.

I can strongly recommend taking a bike tour with China Cylce Tours

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank RaymondRoesti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
“Best idea ever!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 December 2013 via mobile

Great way to visit Shanghai and to get your bearings around the city. I would normally walk during my travel but found riding with a guide cover so much more ground. Friendly staff with local knowledge. For first time travellers to Shanghai this is a great way to be introduced to this enormous and bustling city. Don't be spooked by the traffic and pedestrians, it is organised chaos at its best. Also the geograpic terrain of Shanghai is very flat which makes cycling easy.

Helpful?
Thank Kameron L
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.

Travellers who viewed China Cycle Tours also viewed

Shanghai, Shanghai Region
Shanghai, Shanghai Region
 
Shanghai, Shanghai Region
Shanghai, Shanghai Region
 

Been to China Cycle Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing