We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Misty Moganshan”
Review of China Cycle Tours

China Cycle Tours
Book In Advance
More Info
US$550.00*
and up
2-Day Private Tour of Xi'an from Shanghai by Air
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: China Cycle Tours is a Shanghai and Suzhou based bicycle tourism company specializing in guided city and countryside biking tours.China Cycle Tours operates carefully chosen cycling routes both in the cities (Shanghai and Suzhou) and in the surrounding mountains and countryside. It also can provide customized tours if the customers are interested in travelling off the beaten path.The people working in China Cycle Tours speak both Mandarin and English, they are well travelled and love to share the passion for cycling with other people. They guide various tours and handle all logistic details from activities, transportation, food and lodging.
Useful Information: Activities for older children
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
57 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Misty Moganshan”
Reviewed 19 June 2014

I went out with China Cycle Tours to Moganshan for two days in May to see more of China outside Shanghai. We met Saturday morning in Shanghai and then drove to Suzhou to pick up more people. That drive took longer than I thought actually, but I guess it gives you a chance to make friends.

Anyways, when we finally get to Moganshan, weather is a bit misty with some light rain. Petty comfortable after warming up. Day 1 was pretty easy, mostly flat around the lakes, until the last hour or so of the ride. The rides through the tunnels were absolutely thrilling, especially the downhill one.

Day 2 was more challenging, and finished with an intense uphill section first to the top of a dam and reservoir. Li (our guide) really sold the challenge, and at the top I was like “Ok where’s the hard part?” I guess that’s the general stopping place for most riders, but there’s another part just past that for the really ambitious (or foolhardy), like me. Wow, really really hard steep uphill ride followed by a cannonball downhill. Totally worth it, but unless you’re in shape you won’t make it. There’s another hiking portion afterwards, too, along a trail on the mountain ridges covered by pre-Revolutionary villas, bamboo forests, tea terraces, etc etc.

Pro-tip: Get the potatoes and ginger tea at the family restaurant afterwards. :)

All in all a lot of fun, and looking forward to doing another run.

Shelly

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Shelly K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

161 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    128
    22
    5
    2
    4
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Brookline, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Stressful Cycling”
Reviewed 1 June 2014

We booked a half day city cycling tour for a group of 6 friends. One month later and we are still traumatized by our experience. We were given a guide who was an intern from rural France, who had only spent one month in Shanghai, and didn't know how to use a smartphone to take photos. She offered very little information, but more importantly was extremely careless leading a group of seven cyclists in Shanghai. She frequently crossed intersections with only seconds left on lights, without even looking to see where the rest of the group was.

Cycling in Shanghai is incredibly stressful. You are amongst cars, buses, motorcycles, other cyclists, and pedestrians, none of which pay attention to you. There was another person from the company that followed us for the first half of the tour, but then disappeared. It is also Chinese practice not to wear helmets while cycling... This was a very dangerous, albeit exciting adventure, but I would not recommend it. We were able to see a lot of the city, but mostly just in passing. If you want to explore the many different parts of the city, this tour is really just a fly by. We used many different tour companies in China, and this was BY FAR the most disappointing.

We immediately took a cab back to the French Concession neighborhood to have several drinks in order to recover.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Caroline P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChinaCycleTours S, Guest Relations Manager at China Cycle Tours, responded to this review, 7 June 2014
Dear Caroline,

We really appreciate your feedback and regret that our tour guide Elise didn’t perform up to your expectations. Your comments are taken seriously and we always use them as an opportunity for us to learn, grow, and improve as a company, and as individuals.

Our tours are designed with the customers’ safety, satisfaction, and fun in mind, so that you can enjoy a quality and educational experience without worry or hassles. This is why we emphasize that all our customers wear helmets and stay in the dedicated bike lanes that make Shanghai’s traffic safer than it may seem at first blush. Also, with tours of 5 or more, our mechanic David goes along for part of the ride to ensure that no mechanical mishaps occur. Don’t get me wrong, it’s definitely still a thrill that you need to use all your senses to navigate, and a beer to congratulate yourself afterward.

It’s true that Elise is a newer arrival to Shanghai, and is still a bit wet behind the ears. She is very enthusiastic and eager though, which is why we put her on the tour. We have spoken with her and have started to conduct additional training to improve her skills, awareness, and knowledge. We are doing the best to ensure the best possible tour for our customers, and are sorry that we disappointed you on this occasion.

We hope that in the future you could ride with China Cycle Tours again, and show you our growth.

Sincerely,

Stuart
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“One Day off in Shanghai”
Reviewed 20 May 2014

Being in Shanghai for business I had very limited time to see Shanghai and absorb the local culture and sights…only one day, a Sunday, and CCT provided an excellent tour that enabled me to pack the most experience possible into to a one day tour. The weather was not the best, a very light rain for part of the day, but if you are seeking perfect weather for everything you are doing anywhere in the world please stay at home.
I normally ride a drop-bar, 21 speed road bike and enjoy marathons but the tour was a completely different experience. A flat bar, no gears “ladies bike” of the type I have not ridden since I was a child a long time ago, but exactly the right type of bike for riding around Shanghai. Riding in Shanghai is different to anything I have done before….a bit scary at first but once you figure it out you ride like a “local”. We saw many interesting parts of Shanghai and riding a bike was the perfect way to experience and absorb the older parts of the city. The lunch was authentic Chinese and very good. The Guide, Ellen, was extremely knowledgable, very helpful and changed a great tour into an excellent tour.
If I can make it back to Shanghai I will certainly be taking another tour with CCT and hopefully with Ellen as the guide.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Rod T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Albert, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great Way to see Shanghai”
Reviewed 8 May 2014

We were scheduled for a full day bike tour in Shanghai but unfortunately the weather was less than agreeable with that plan. It was pouring rain all day and we ended up being delayed in meeting our tour guide due to not being able to disembark from our cruise on time. China Cycle Tours was more than accommodating to our lateness and even adjusted the length of our tour at our request as 7 hours in the pouring rain would have been a bit much.

We ended up doing 3 hours of the highlights and had a fantastic time even in the rain. We were taken to some really neat spots that would not have been a part of a typical tour which made the day much more enjoyable. We always felt safe and taken care of and highly recommend this company. They are professional and attentive to your needs. We hope to visit Shanghai again someday and rebook with them but hopefully on a day with better weather so we can do the full 7 hours.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Cruiseal0t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greenville
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great disappointment”
Reviewed 7 May 2014

The 3-day Guilin adventure with China Cycle tours that I had arranged for 3 of us was going to be one of the hl-lights of our trip to China. Unfortunately, it was a huge disappointment. The weather was not good, however, my concerns are not about the weather. This entire trip was poorly planned and executed. Our guide, Li, was distant and not available for most of the trip. She was rude to at least one of my companions on several occasions. The selections of restaurants showed little pre-planning as we ate at the same location twice in two days and the restaurant next to our hotel for the 3rd meal. The bicycles were completely unacceptable, it appeared that our guide went to the nearest corner and rented rusty street bikes. Then on the final day, Li discovered that the invoice she had given me for the trip was incorrect and we were asked to pay an additional amount.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank ncreech
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChinaCycleTours S, Guest Relations Manager at China Cycle Tours, responded to this review, 15 May 2014
Thanks for taking the time to review us. We really value the opinions of our customers, and are sorry we didn’t meet your expectations and make this the best trip ever.

After talking with the team, we really think this just stemmed from a big miscommunication over the quotes over the months before the trip. We expected four people and so gave a quote based on that, in addition to 2 and 3-people ones. Since in the end only three of you came, the per-person rate was a bit higher. Li felt embarrassed and didn’t know how to go about having to ask for the 3-person rate. In the future we will strive for more clarity up front.

As far as the bikes, we only use well-maintained bikes suitable to the ride. In this case, since it was rainy we had to go with the only bikes available with fenders.

If you come by again, we’d like to make it up to you by showing you what we have learned from this. After all, there are many more places to find adventure in China, and we would love it if you would choose to do it with us.

Sincerely,

Stuart
China Cycle Tours
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed China Cycle Tours also viewed

Shanghai, Shanghai Region
Shanghai, Shanghai Region
 
Shanghai, Shanghai Region
Shanghai, Shanghai Region
 

Been to China Cycle Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing