We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great new design hotel on The Bund”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Indigo Shanghai on the Bund
Ranked #25 of 5,161 Hotels in Shanghai
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 August 2011

By entering you can feel the fibrid atmosphere. Everything looks new and well taken care of. I stayed at the Premier deluxe room with river view. The view from the room is amazing, especially at night. They paid a lot of attention on every designer detail in the room. The bathroom has large windows, so you can enjoy a relaxing bath while looking at the skyline. The toilet is a whole other experience! You have an electronic panel with all kind of options for hygienic purposes. You will feel refreshed after every visit!
The bed is very comfortable. Tv is large and has a huge variety of international channels.
For business people there is free (wireless) internet in your room.
If I need to go back to Shanghai again for business, I definitely will return to this hotel.
I hope they will keep the hotel and rooms well looked after, so this can really be the best hotel in Shanghai!

  • Stayed: August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank samjonk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,449)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

977 - 983 of 1,449 reviews

Reviewed 8 August 2011

My boyfriend and I stayed in early August and from the moment I arrived (he arrived much later in the evening) the staff could not have been more helpful. The room was perfectly tranquil after a long flight with great views and very comfy pillows!!!

We didn't go for breakfast as we only wanted a continental option (cereal, fruit, pastries) which can be found much cheaper than at Indigo - the bakery at the back of the Westin lobby would definitely be recommended for this sort of thing.

The pool facilities were great and the terrace of the char bar was a great place to start a night or for a bit of night cap if you fancy something a bit earlier. It was a shame that there was not a metro in closer proximinity (15minutes walk in the August heat was a little much at times) but the staff were soooo valuable in writing down addresses for taxi drivers as neither me or my boyfriend spoke any Mandarin (save for hello and thank you by the end of the trip!!!).

Overall, a lovely place which I would recommend to anyone visiting Shanghai for the first time or for business where I imagine the hotel's extensive could be even more utilised.

Thank you to the team at the hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank marks-jetset-go
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bruce_au, General Manager at Hotel Indigo Shanghai on the Bund, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2011

Hi marks-jetset-go,


thank you so much for your feedback. We are delighted that you enjoyed our hotel and that you were well looked after by the team ( I will definitely pass on your comments !)

Regarding breakfast we have an a la carte menu as well as the full breakfast option. So you can choose something simple with great Illy coffee if you prefer. Apologies that this was not made clear by the team.

Hope to see you again in Shanghai.

very best from Indigo

Bruce

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2011

simply put, my hotel stay here was perfect. service, food and amenities were outstanding. the rooms were beautifully designed and very comfortable - home away from home. A nice change from the standard generic deign hotels.

can not wait to return to shanghai and this great hotel.

Final note. roof top bar worth mentioning. One of the best views i have ever experienced.

Room Tip: river and the bund view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sandy78_travels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bruce_au, General Manager at Hotel Indigo Shanghai on the Bund, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2011

Hi sandy78-travels,


THANK YOU............thrilled to read your review. We will continue to work on providing a great but anything but generic hospitality experience at Hotel Indigo. Do let me know when you return to Shanghai.

Very best from our neighbourhood

Bruce

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2011

What an experience of hospitality my mum, sister and i experienced during our stay at the Hotel Indigo, Shanghai. From the moment we stepped foot through the heavy revolving door of the hotel we were greeted with friendly staff who were more than helpful and their english was extremely good which was bliss after the long flight.

If you are reading this review you have either already stayed at the hotel or are looking to book a hotel in Shanghai for your holiday. An ABSOLUTE MUST whilst staying at The Indigo, if you get the chance is to dine at “CHAR” located on the 29th floor. Julie Donohoe the Executive Chef from Sydney Australia has really set the bar high for other 5 star restaurants. The view of Shanghai from the dinning area, the decor and staff really suit what Julie has brought to the hotel. After dinner the top floor outdoors (weather pending) is the perfect way to take in where you are wit the stunning view of The Bund and also to enjoy a few cocktails to wash down the delicious food from ‘CHAR’.

Breakfast is located on the 6th floor and the concept of the open kitchen is really the way it should be in all hotels these days. We stayed in a few hotels in China and found the breakfast buffets to be huge (China like’s big things) which results in a lot of waste. The help yourself buffet and selection of one à la carte dish from the menu is perfect. They have three 27” inch iMac’s located on the same level right near the electric massage chairs. Perfect to Google your plans for the day or even update your travel itinerary to stay a little longer ;)

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view of The Bund. Free WiFi throughout each level.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gav_Llewellyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2011

Free WiFi throughout the hotel - is an outstanding feature here ....

Room 2211 Bathroom overlooks the river with outstanding views of the high rise of Pudong ... Rooms are well thought out and the beds are very comfy .....

The Level 6 - Restaurant and Chill Zone is also a great space.... for chilling out and doing your emails over a cocktail or Espresso....

Room Tip: ask for number 11 rooms best rooms with views of the river...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Garymelbourne61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bruce_au, General Manager at Hotel Indigo Shanghai on the Bund, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2011

Hi garymelbourne61,


thank you for your review and positive comments.........I also love the "11" rooms - a great river / Pudong vista !

we are glad you took advantage of our complimentary "anywhere everywhere" wifi. We also have complimentary use of iMacs in QUAY guest lounge if you want a 27 inch screen !

Hope to have you with us again when you visit China.

very best neighbourhood regards

Bruce

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2011

This ultra modern and stylish Hotel located at the Bund is reaaly worth a visit.
Take a trip to the top floor and enjoy one of the best roof top bars in Shanghai.

Room Tip: save paying extra for rooms with a view , the best sights are from the bar and cafe
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Roland V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2011

Stayed in Indigo for three nights and enjoyed it a lot. We were impressed by fresh, modern and very artistic design. Rooms look gorgeous and very comfortable.
Staff is very professional, helpful and speak very good english. They help us a lot with navigating around Shanghai, booking local guide etc.
Location is one of the best in town: close to Bund, Pudong, Yu gardens, strip of new restaurants along the river bank etc., but away from hectic Nanjing Road. Level 30 bar has brilliant views.
The only downside worth to mention was breakfast: there was not much food for kids.
Overall, hotel has very friendly, caring, homy, truly boutique style atmosphere.
Our thanks for all staff and especially Anastasia.
We come back to Indigo when we are in Shaghai next time.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank TravelTO1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Shanghai hotels
The Bund
Les Suites Orient, Bund Shanghai
Jing'an
URBN Boutique Shanghai
URBN Boutique Shanghai
#34 of 5,161 in Shanghai
613 reviews
The Bund
Waldorf Astoria Shanghai on the Bund
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hongkou
Hyatt on the Bund
Hyatt on the Bund
#52 of 5,161 in Shanghai
2,145 reviews
The Bund
The Westin Bund Center Shanghai
Xintiandi
Andaz Xintiandi Shanghai
Andaz Xintiandi Shanghai
#31 of 5,161 in Shanghai
1,015 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Indigo Shanghai on the Bund? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Indigo Shanghai on the Bund

Address: No.585 Zhong Shan Dong Er Road, Huangpu, Shanghai 200010, China
Phone Number:
Region: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai > South Bund
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 5,161 Hotels in Shanghai
Price Range: £149 - £242 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hotel Indigo Shanghai on the Bund 4.5*
Number of rooms: 184
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Indigo’s first property in Asia Pacific opened its doors in December 2010. Sitting directly on the Huangpu riverfront, Hotel Indigo Shanghai on the Bund assures not only spectacular views of both the historic Bund and dramatic Pudong skylines, but an upscale boutique hotel experience where the focus is on inspired service, fresh and vibrant design reflecting the local neighbourhood, and providing guests with an authentic taste of today’s Shanghai, where old and new converge. Featuring 184 rooms, including 23 suites, each individually designed room at Hotel Indigo Shanghai on the Bund provides all of the creature comforts expected from an upscale boutique property, but they are anything but ordinary. Maximizing the spectacular views and combining traditional and modern Chinese design and bespoke pieces, each room provides an intimate haven and unexpected details – be it the walk in “shell shower” featured in a number of guest bathrooms, the oversized wet room with spectacular views, the reclaimed Shikumen brick feature wall or the hidden refreshment bar with individually designed tea sets. All Guests can enjoy the bund view at the public areas. Attention: The Shanghai Regulations on Smoking Control in Public Places took effect on March 1, 2017. Hotel can’t offer smoking room and smoking has been banned in indoor place. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Indigo Shanghai on the Bund reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing