We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“WOW ... just wow!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Indigo Shanghai on the Bund
Ranked #25 of 5,159 Hotels in Shanghai
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 March 2012

Fantastic hotel made so by a combination of three distinctive factors.
The staff - young energetic team and intrested in making sure your stay is great!
The design - from the amazing lobby, to the unique design rooms, and the fine touches. Perfect, inspiring and comfortable. Even the bathrooms were fab.
The location & views - right on the Bund and river bank. Walking distance to all the sights. Fab ferry ride to the biz area of the pudong. 15min taxi (all taxi fares are so cheap) to the bars and restaurants of the french concession.
I really can't emphasis enough how much we all enjoyed our stay!
Thank you Indigo team.

Room Tip: Upgrade to riverview corner room. Amazing views worth every cent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Corrie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,436)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

874 - 880 of 1,436 reviews

Reviewed 17 March 2012

My wife and I stayed at the Indigo one night waiting for a transferring flight. We both found the experience, though brief, a highlight of our holiday. The standard of the rooms was excellent, as was the friendly service we received from all the staff. The view from our room was unforgettable and the hotel was a short walking distance from the hustle and bustle of Old Town. We will be definitely recommending the Indigo to anyone wishing to visit Shanghai.

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Adamhorsfall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2012

very impressively thought out hotel. Facilities for business are excellent and the rooms have been well designed for both business and pleasure. Room overlooked the river added to a very pleasant stay. Would recommend this hotel to all.

Room Tip: Overlooking the river and ask for an upgrade
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank travelingarab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2012

Shanghai is now probably one of the most exciting cities in the world and the addition of the Hotel Indigo has helped raise the bar.
I thoroughly enjoyed my 5 day (business) visit and can't rave enough about every aspect of the hotel. The service, the staff, the rooms (my suite was incredible) , the restaurants, the roof top bar and outdoor balcony (with the best view in Shanghai), the interior design, artwork and peaceful (yet hip) ambiance made for a "perfect" experience.
I only wish that I had stayed at the hotel in the spring or summer to really enjoy the (up and coming) location on the south end of the Bund along the water. Regardless I still walked from the hotel to the center of Shanghai and back again and enjoyed every minute of this dynamic city.
One tiny complaint, the breakfast buffet is quite good although the "hot" dishes (especially the omlettes) need a little improvement in regards to quality and presentation.
My congratulations to the hotel and it's management for bringing this "unique boutique" to Shanghai (and hopefully this chain willl grow across Asia because it works!!).

I SHALL BE BACK.

Room Tip: Rooms with Bund and/or Pudong views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jbl1958
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2012

Fantastic hotel!!!! This is one of the best hotels I have ever stayed in. The design is ultra chic and cool but the atmosphere is very relaxed and comfortable. The staff is super nice, friendly, and attentive - it's almost like being a guest in a friend's house, they will do anything and everything to make sure you're happy. The room was jaw-dropping gorgeous - huge picture windows with an incredible view of the Bund and all that's happening in Shanghai. The bed was the most comfortable bed I think I have ever slept in. I fell in love with my down pillow but if down isn't your thing, there is a pillow menu to make sure your head is comfortable. Also really enjoyed the personalized nightcap on our second night - a hand written personalized note, 2 shots of Baileys, and little bowls of popcorn. The breakfast buffet was more than I could have ever imagined (Eggs Benedict!!)and I almost didn't leave the hotel after I discovered the massage chairs on the living room level. Didn't use the pool but it's worth a trip to check out the cool design and great view. The location is a little bit away from the ,main action of the bund but it's just a short walk to E Nanjing Road and a 20rmb cab ride to the subway in People's Square.Honestly I can't say enough great things about this hotel. Even if you don't stay here (and you should) it's worth a visit just for the ultr-cool design.

Room Tip: Don't miss the massage chairs on the 6th floor!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cannis20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2012

Hotel Indigo delivered on all fronts.
Check in - friendly, efficient and flawless
Design - contemporary, unique, inspiring, inviting
Dining - breakfast in quay cafe and dinner in char roof top... superb and refreshing
Staff - friendly, energetic, helpful. Thank you
Location - right on the bund with amazing views

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jo h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2012

Fantastic hotel! Was wowed by the room and the overall design! It's a boutique chain hotel, if such a term even exists, but it is what it is. :) Enjoyed the beds very much throughout the nights I was here, the gym equipment is fantastic (ipod docks on all gym machines!) and the pool offers a panoramic view of the Bund. Although not located right on the Bund, the Bund broadwalk extends all the way to the hotel (it ends in front of the hotel), so it's a leisurely (but bitterly cold, considering we were there in Feb) 25-minute walk from the Peninsula at the other end of the Bund to here. Taxis are cheap and aplenty. Added bonus of being close to the shiliupu fabric market (just across the street), so we had a couple of suits and workshirts done up as well. :) Could not have asked for more. I want to come back!

Room Tip: Get a room with a river view towards the Bund. If you can't, (1) go to the gym or the pool (2) v...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GetawayJunkie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Shanghai hotels
The Bund
Les Suites Orient, Bund Shanghai
Jing'an
URBN Boutique Shanghai
URBN Boutique Shanghai
#26 of 5,159 in Shanghai
609 reviews
The Bund
Waldorf Astoria Shanghai on the Bund
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Bund
The Westin Bund Center Shanghai
Jing'an
The PuLi Hotel and Spa
The PuLi Hotel and Spa
#4 of 5,159 in Shanghai
1,503 reviews
Hongkou
Hyatt on the Bund
Hyatt on the Bund
#51 of 5,159 in Shanghai
2,115 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Indigo Shanghai on the Bund? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Indigo Shanghai on the Bund

Address: No.585 Zhong Shan Dong Er Road, Huangpu, Shanghai 200010, China
Phone Number:
Region: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai > South Bund
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 5,159 Hotels in Shanghai
Price Range: £154 - £268 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hotel Indigo Shanghai on the Bund 4.5*
Number of rooms: 184
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Indigo’s first property in Asia Pacific opened its doors in December 2010. Sitting directly on the Huangpu riverfront, Hotel Indigo Shanghai on the Bund assures not only spectacular views of both the historic Bund and dramatic Pudong skylines, but an upscale boutique hotel experience where the focus is on inspired service, fresh and vibrant design reflecting the local neighbourhood, and providing guests with an authentic taste of today’s Shanghai, where old and new converge. Featuring 184 rooms, including 23 suites, each individually designed room at Hotel Indigo Shanghai on the Bund provides all of the creature comforts expected from an upscale boutique property, but they are anything but ordinary. Maximizing the spectacular views and combining traditional and modern Chinese design and bespoke pieces, each room provides an intimate haven and unexpected details – be it the walk in “shell shower” featured in a number of guest bathrooms, the oversized wet room with spectacular views, the reclaimed Shikumen brick feature wall or the hidden refreshment bar with individually designed tea sets. All Guests can enjoy the bund view at the public areas. Attention: The Shanghai Regulations on Smoking Control in Public Places took effect on March 1, 2017. Hotel can’t offer smoking room and smoking has been banned in indoor place. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Odigeo, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Indigo Shanghai on the Bund reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing