We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Special and Comfortable”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Indigo Shanghai on the Bund
Ranked #23 of 5,159 Hotels in Shanghai
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 July 2012

My second stay in 12 months at the Indigo and I noticed fine improvements to an already excellent theme. I can sum up this hotel in 3 words Special and Comfortable - they apply to the hotel and also how the Hotel treat their guests.
Shanghai is a very busy City , I find the Indigo a great haven from what is going on outside.
Good shopping is close by as are tremendous views from most levels , none moreso than 31 floors high on the rooftop bar.
One of the best indoor swiimming pools and gyms around too which helps time poor business tragics like me get some of those inflight meals out of our systems !

Room Tip: Dont pay extra for a view ,the best views are from the dinning rooms , gym and bars - more time spen...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Roland V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,439)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

809 - 815 of 1,439 reviews

Reviewed 11 July 2012

Obviously what makes this hotel outstanding in the first place is its location and the views of the Bund and Pudong which are spectacular, but there are other reasons too as written further below.

Indigo's location is of course absolutely prime.at the southern end of the Bund, right at the bank of the Huangpu - and arguably it has the best views of any hotel in Shanghai.

the building is north-south aligned = the rooms facing east (Bund-view, from around 2000+ Rmb) have absolutely spectalur views of Pudong and the Huangpu river, but even if you book a "normal" (City-view 1500+ Rmb) room, chances are good you will get at least a partial view of the river in the rooms facing north and south.

Rooms are well designed, not only esthetically but practically; the layout of the room is excellently done - from the wardrobe to the arrengement of minibar, the TV/soundsystem and the workdesk - generous space and everything at the right place.
Interior deco shows great taste - its not the usual neutral, ever-same standard you will find in most chinese hotels. it really has a feel of "home away from home" to it, very inviting and cozy - something thats rarely found in china.
Also the comfort of the bed and the sleeping-quality (good soundproofing !) is remarkable.

Service-staff is absolutely tops as well: friendly, helpful, quick (check-in & Check-out), reliable (reserved taxi to Pudong airport at 04:30 in the morning)

All in All:
Definitely will be back, as this hotel is exactly my cup of tea.
Highly recommendable and even there are plenty of excellent hotels in Shanghai i tried out before, this one is quite outstanding

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Christian O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2012

Despite many positive comments on TripAdvisor which influenced my decision to stay in this hotel, I must say I was very disappoointed and I would not recommend this hotel.

First, interior design of the hotel was very awkward and I felt the room was too busy with so many little "Chinese" themed objects which in my view were placed with very poor taste. Perhaps the rooms were designed by an interior designer from the west based on his interpretation of Chinese culture. (I noted that InterContinental Hotel Group created the Indigo brand of hotels to introduce local, indiginious cultural element in the design of the hotel interior and services.) On top of this, it was so awkward to lay down on the bed to directly face a mini bar placed straight ahead of me. The mini-bar also had a hanging advertisement on the glass door with wording "today's special: energy drink on sale, normally 45 Yuen but it is 38 Yuen today." I never saw a mini bar item on sale and an advertisement for it. The TV was located on the right hand side of the bed so I had to turn my neck to the right from the bed in order to watch the TV. (Why didn't they simply swap the location for TV and mini-bar!)

Second, I felt that the hotel would greatly benefit from better employee training. At the breakfast, I requested ice water but the waiter brought me a glass of hot water. When I requested "ice water," he brought the water in his hand, holding the mouth of the glass with his fingers. I did not drink the water because his finger print was left vivid all over at the edge of the glass.

Worst thing came at the front office when I approached to seek assistance in calling the room of my travelign companion who was staying in the same hotel. An employee named "Derek" refused to call the room for me and said it is the hotel's policy not to distrub the guest in the hotel unless it is for emergencies. I spoke again slowly and more clearly that I just wanted to call my colleague in the room to leave him a message but he insisted he would not. He even said "it is not my duty to call the guest for you." I was astounded by his attitude and poor manner. The staff (Derek) would benefit from some intensive attittude training he would want to continue to work in the hospitality industry.

Overall, my experience of this hotel was rather unpleasant and I will definitely not recommend my colleagues or freidns to stay in this hotel. While I have been a loyal member of IHG's Priority Club, I was disappointed with the brand Indigo and I will most likely avoid to stay in another Indigo Hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank 143b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 14 July 2012

Hello 143b,

thank you for taking some time to feedback your thoughts about Hotel Indigo.

Our hotels design is very unique and eclectic with strong mix of Chinese and western elements as well as old and new. While most guests enjoy this mix we know that this is not to everyone's taste.

I was concerned to read your comments our front desk and your access to another guests details. In fact your colleague had requested for their stay to be "Confidential" in this case and in order to protect our guests privacy we are unable to give out any guest details or connect to the guests room.
Derek was following our hotels and standard hotel procedure and privacy laws. We apologize if this was not communicated to you well.

Very best regards from Hotel Indigo

Bruce

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2012

In 3 years of travelling throughout China, this hotel is hands down the nicest property I have stayed at. Located just steps from the bund with beautiful views of the Huangpu River, Pudong or old Puxi...this property suits tourists or business travelers. The rooms are beyond comfortable, elegantly styled with a mixture of 'Old Shanghai' and modern features. The next time I am back in Shanghai, I will stay here.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sullyryno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2012

My first time staying at the Indigo and it won't be my last. The attention to detail in the room furnishing and fixtures was amazing. The service was beyond compare. I had a problem with a train ticket for the next day and the manager took me to the train station himself to make sure everything was taken care of. The waitresses in the restaurants were also top rate, friendly, attentive and helpful. The views are fantastic, perfect location. Couldn't ask for more. I've stayed in many great hotels but this may my all time favorite.

Room Tip: River view rooms are worth the extra cost.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2012

We had 5 memorable nights in a hotel that everyone must see and stay! I highly recommend, you get a room with the the river view and enjoy the sites & sounds of Shanghai.
The Bund is a short walk away and shopping is for all to enjoy. The rooms have its own unique style with all the sevices you would ever need and the Indigo staff will assist you for all your needs. When you make your room reservations, I highly recommend you include buffet breakfasts at the Quay Restaurant. We enjoyed using the reclining chairs for a complete body message(no charge), located in the boutique area. The roof top bar is also a must go and enjoy!! We had stayed at the Westin on the Bund last year, but The Indigo is the "BEST" place to stay for location & value! If you have time go us the swimming pool.

Room Tip: River view!! Evening sites are like Las Vegas, but in China!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sashakeena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2012

Wonderful position, on the Bund but far enough to allow a view on the old buildings of the Bund and the modern skyscrapers of Pudong. The location allows to reach easily Pudong, Puxi and both airports.
The bar and the restaurant at the 30th floor are now the top destination for tourists, expats and wealthy people.
The service is good, breakfast is satisfying. A small gym area looking to the river and a small pool. Rooms are furbished with modern Chinese style. Free wifi everywhere, opened to everybody.

Room Tip: Rooms on the old city side look on a building site, so it is better to ask for last floors. Good p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ilaria f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Shanghai hotels
The Bund
Les Suites Orient, Bund Shanghai
The Bund
Waldorf Astoria Shanghai on the Bund
Jing'an
URBN Boutique Shanghai
URBN Boutique Shanghai
#25 of 5,159 in Shanghai
611 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Bund
The Westin Bund Center Shanghai
Lujiazui
Mandarin Oriental Pudong, Shanghai
Jing'an
The PuLi Hotel and Spa
The PuLi Hotel and Spa
#5 of 5,159 in Shanghai
1,505 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Indigo Shanghai on the Bund? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Indigo Shanghai on the Bund

Address: No.585 Zhong Shan Dong Er Road, Huangpu, Shanghai 200010, China
Phone Number:
Region: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai > South Bund
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 5,159 Hotels in Shanghai
Price Range: £151 - £266 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hotel Indigo Shanghai on the Bund 4.5*
Number of rooms: 184
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Indigo’s first property in Asia Pacific opened its doors in December 2010. Sitting directly on the Huangpu riverfront, Hotel Indigo Shanghai on the Bund assures not only spectacular views of both the historic Bund and dramatic Pudong skylines, but an upscale boutique hotel experience where the focus is on inspired service, fresh and vibrant design reflecting the local neighbourhood, and providing guests with an authentic taste of today’s Shanghai, where old and new converge. Featuring 184 rooms, including 23 suites, each individually designed room at Hotel Indigo Shanghai on the Bund provides all of the creature comforts expected from an upscale boutique property, but they are anything but ordinary. Maximizing the spectacular views and combining traditional and modern Chinese design and bespoke pieces, each room provides an intimate haven and unexpected details – be it the walk in “shell shower” featured in a number of guest bathrooms, the oversized wet room with spectacular views, the reclaimed Shikumen brick feature wall or the hidden refreshment bar with individually designed tea sets. All Guests can enjoy the bund view at the public areas. Attention: The Shanghai Regulations on Smoking Control in Public Places took effect on March 1, 2017. Hotel can’t offer smoking room and smoking has been banned in indoor place. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, IHG, Agoda, Odigeo, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Indigo Shanghai on the Bund reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing