We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Top Hotel in Top Location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Indigo Shanghai on the Bund
Ranked #15 of 4,998 Hotels in Shanghai
Certificate of Excellence
Perth
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Top Hotel in Top Location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2012

Our travel agent booked this hotel after we told her we wanted to stay on or near The Bund. She told us it is a little quirky so we were looking forward to seeing what she mean. On our arrival we loved the location and the reception area certainly lived up to our expectations. We paid for an upgrade to a river view room and were blown away by the view to the "Manhattan" side of the river. The room was certainly not your average "beige" room found in most hotels but an eclectic mix of Chinese and western style and the bathroom was something to behold with full length windows facing the river - not for the shy, but there were blinds for the more modest.

The hotel was very well located, being at the southern end of The Bund and about a 10 to 15 minute walk to Old Shanghai and the Yu Gardens. The roof top bar became a regular spot to watch the sun set and all the lights on the buildings on both sides of the river. Thoroughly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Pay the extra for a river view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank NormJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,347 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    972
    287
    59
    22
    7
See reviews for
132
375
75
460
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (401)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane
Level Contributor
64 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2012 via mobile

Very nice hotel that easily deserves all the good reviews it is getting. The views are amazing at night, and the river side rooms are well worth the little extra to pay. Breakfast is varied and yum, and the restaurant is excellent (although pricey). It is at the southern tip of the Bund, but an easy walk towards the sights on the bund (about 10-15 min walk) and just North of a ferry terminal (3 min walk) that takes you to the other side of the river with the TV tower and the high rises.

Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank leuschf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
115 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 151 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2012

Really a change from the rest of the pack. Cool, trendy and out of the ordinary. The Char is superb in terms of views and the food.

Breakfast is served on the top floor with such spectacular views and the way they serve breakfast is very nice. Good service staff.
Well worth the price.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank mikeinbangkok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2012 via mobile

A funky and quirky design, with a view of the bund.
Rooftop bar is very cool, but closed by 12am. Had a few bad experiences, frustrated by the lack of English speakers (1 manager) so we got taken to M on the bund instead of Mr and Mrs bund.
To his credit the manager did send up a cheesecake and two glasses of cognac with an apology for his staff.
For the same price I preferred our stay at les suites orient for the previous 3 nights of luxury

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank L0M0ND0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bruce_au, General Manager at Hotel Indigo Shanghai on the Bund, responded to this review, 11 August 2012
Hi Lomondo,

Thanks for your tripadviser review. We appreciate your positive and cosntructive feedback. My apologies for the issue you had with your restaurant booking mix up. On this occasion our standard for our bell staff to always back up directions requests with our more qualified reception hosts was not followed through.

The team have discussed the issue and re enforced the procedures.

All the very best from the Bund in Shanghai

Bruce
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shijiazhuang, China
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2012

Even before checking in the hotel I was curious about how my experience in Indigo Shanghai would be; but I guess that it would be very good due to many very good reviews in different webpages.
From the first moment I entered the entrance until I left, my expectations were surpassed. I checked in around 2 in the night and there was a concierge in the entrance. The room was really trendy, colourful and stylish. I loved it, it made me feel like at home, with some frames hanging in the wall, some books,....
Breakfast was of exceptional quality, just the price a little bit high in my opinion.
The service of all staff was very proffesional, extremely friendly and helpful and always willing to make their best to satisfy. I would like to thanks personally to Gigi, Guest Service Manager (as I remember) and the Quay Manager, Daniel, and Assistant Manager, (Sorry I dont remember her name); they are exceptional.
I will recommend definitely to my friends, family and acquantainces.

Thanks for making my trip to Shanghai unforgettable!


Julene

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank July Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
82 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2012

We stayed for two nights at the end of a 3 week trip to China, and this was our favorite hotel of the trip. For Shanghai the location is great, sitting right on the Bund with superb views (assuming its not too hazy!). The style and design of the hotel and rooms is excellent, making it a very refreshing and relaxing place to stay. We had a corner-room which was spacious and comfortable. The shower was "rainfall" style with invigorating side jets. The breakfast was excellent, with a good selection of fresh juices, pastries, fruit, etc on the buffet and hot food ordered from the kitchen. We had a great deal which included Breakfast, and I'd recommend this if you can get it as otherwise the breakfast is quite pricey. The gym was of a good standard and the pool has views out across the Bund, so you can combine sightseeing with exercise! The bar on the top floor has an outstanding viewing deck, although it was crowded with (and slightly trashed by!) a big party of French dressed as sailors celebrating Bastille Day on the evening we went!

Overall this made a really great way to close out our trip to China, and I would strongly recommend staying here.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Snobs_Travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2012

We just came back from China and had a wonderful stay at the Hotel Indigo. The views from this hotel are stunning. We traveled with our sons and had to stay in rooms with double beds and those rooms have city views. But, we were able to enjoy views of the river when we had breakfast and that was a treat. I can only imagine how gorgeous the views must be from the river view rooms!

The amenities are great, very modern, so, if that isn't your thing, then definitely skip this hotel.

The service is superb! We always received a warm welcome upon our return from sightseeing. We had a minor concern with one of the rooms and it was immediately addressed, and, the manager followed up to make sure we were satisfied.

The brunch is delicious and offers many varieties of edibles. It was a treat to go down and eat each morning. Everyone in the dining room provided great service.

There is construction going on across the street from the rooms with city views. We enjoyed it because it allowed are sons to see the speedy progress made by the Chinese construction crews. The noise level was minimal, but, might bother some, if they are light sleepers.

I would definitely stay at the Hotel Indigo again if I were returning to Shanghai!

Room Tip: City view rooms face construction, but, noise level was minimal for us. Only one double room per fl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BENDC12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Shanghai hotels
The Bund
Les Suites Orient, Bund Shanghai
Lujiazui
Mandarin Oriental Pudong, Shanghai
The Bund
Waldorf Astoria Shanghai on the Bund
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Bund
Fairmont Peace Hotel
Fairmont Peace Hotel
#7 of 4,998 in Shanghai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,833 reviews
People’s Square
Shanghai Marriott Hotel City Centre
People’s Square
JW Marriott Hotel Shanghai at Tomorrow Square
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Indigo Shanghai on the Bund? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Indigo Shanghai on the Bund

Property: Hotel Indigo Shanghai on the Bund
Address: No.585 Zhong Shan Dong Er Road, Huangpu, Shanghai 200010, China
Phone Number:
Region: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai > South Bund
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 4,998 Hotels in Shanghai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hotel Indigo Shanghai on the Bund 4.5*
Number of rooms: 184
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Indigo’s first property in Asia Pacific opened its doors in December 2010. Sitting directly on the Huangpu riverfront, Hotel Indigo Shanghai on the Bund assures not only spectacular views of both the historic Bund and dramatic Pudong skylines, but an upscale boutique hotel experience where the focus is on inspired service, fresh and vibrant design reflecting the local neighbourhood, and providing guests with an authentic taste of today’s Shanghai, where old and new converge. Featuring 184 rooms, including 23 suites, each individually designed room at Hotel Indigo Shanghai on the Bund provides all of the creature comforts expected from an upscale boutique property, but they are anything but ordinary. Maximizing the spectacular views and combining traditional and modern Chinese design and bespoke pieces, each room provides an intimate haven and unexpected details – be it the walk in “shell shower” featured in a number of guest bathrooms, the oversized wet room with spectacular views, the reclaimed Shikumen brick feature wall or the hidden refreshment bar with individually designed tea sets. All Guests can enjoy the bund view at the public areas. Attention: The Shanghai Regulations on Smoking Control in Public Places took effect on March 1, 2017. Hotel can’t offer smoking room and smoking has been banned in indoor place. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Ebookers, IHG, Odigeo, Agoda, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Indigo Shanghai on the Bund reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing