We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Elegance on the Bund!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Indigo Shanghai on the Bund
Ranked #24 of 5,105 Hotels in Shanghai
Certificate of Excellence
dresden, germany
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Elegance on the Bund!”
Reviewed 29 July 2013 via mobile

Wonderful views of the river traffic along the Bund. Eggs Benedict as part of the breakfast buffet was heavenly. Top notch service, intriguing lobby, quiet location amid the hubbub that is Shanghai. You are a little removed from the Metro, and it is a bit of a walk to anything else is weather is an issue, but nothing a cab ride can't solve. Very efficient staff. We stayed three days during Tomb Sweeping holiday and enjoyed every moment of pampering.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mtjwl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,401 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,002
    302
    66
    23
    8
See reviews for
135
385
78
483
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (412)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2013

My parnter and I stayed for one night and we couldnt be happier. We had the Premier room overlooking the bund and it was gorgeous. Big soft bed, decorated so you knew you were in china, fantastic amenities. The bath even overlooked the incredible view. The staff members were wonderful too, helping us with our bags, helping us with directions and even just chatting to us about how we were finding china. They are over staffed but that works in favour for anyone staynig there because whenever you need something there will be someone there to help you within a few minutes. I really couldnt say enough nice things about this hotel. The bar upstairs was breath taking being able to see all of the lights across Shanghai and the pool and gym have equally breath taking views. Hotel Inigo is a bit expensive compared to other places but it is 100% worth it.

Room Tip: Try and get a room with a view - you wont regret it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rachel E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Taupo, New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2013

This hotel is in a great location, in the Bund area and in easy reach of the shopping, old Chinese and the ultra modern financial district. The Indigo is modern and spotlessly clean. Jackson, the Assistant Front Office Manager went an extra mile to check us into a room at 9 am after our long flight. We did not expect to have a room at this time, but he rescheduled planned maintenance and upgraded us to ensure we did have one to go to. The breakfast was very good and we ate in this restaurant most days. We would highly recommend this hotel. We loved it!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FussyTraveller009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2013

Having visited Shanghai multiple times and even lived there for a few months, I can confidently say that the Indigo Bund offerred a truly impressive experience. While the location is in a still developing area (Shanghai develops fast so this will be moot shortly), it still positions you very well for easy access to major sites besides the Bund, which is at your doorstep, such as Yu Yuan Gardens and the Old City. With taxis being incredibly inexpensive, I would not sweat location for a moment.

The rooms offer a great level of charm from the local areas but are finished with modern luxury and comfort, which makes coming back from a long day on the Shanghai streets a wonderful experience.

Stay at the indigo and have a drink at the rooftop bar, and dinner at their restaurant Char.

Room Tip: Request a Bund View Suite if you can swing it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lower750
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shanghai_Indigo, General Manager at Hotel Indigo Shanghai on the Bund, responded to this review, 28 July 2013
Dear Lower750-

Thank you so much for sharing your recent experience with us here at the Indigo. We enjoy and pride ourselves on doing all we can to make you feel at home and share the many local insights we have uncovered.

We look forward to welcoming you both back to Shanghai soon and am certain will have even more tips and experiences to share with you.

Safe Travels -
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2013

We have just come back from our 5 night stay in Hotel Indigo, and we have had a fabulous time! It was our first time in Shanghai, and we wanted to explore the city, and be in the heart of it. This hotel was picked for its great location, but we were blown away by how great the hotel and staff were. Shanghai is an amazing city, but this hotel added to the experience. The rooms are beautiful, the facilities are excellent, the steakhouse (Char) has the best steak EVER, and the staff are very warm and friendly. This hotel has a fantastic terrace and bar on the 30th floor that provides the most spectacular views of all the buildings and architecture along the river. We were all very disappointed to leave, but we have already made a list of the places to visit when we return to Shanghai, and we will definitely be staying in Hotel Indigo Shanghai on the Bund!

Room Tip: Ask for views of the river facing Pu Dong
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrew A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2013 via mobile

...and who has those anymore? Well they have figured it put in Shanghai, the new Shanghainese urban chic is defined by this amazingly place, and pitch, perfect hotel. As with many of my fellow reviewers, this will now become my home, and my companies home, away from home when we are in the region. Benchmark quality. Take my advice and check this place out, you will not regret it.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dale H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2013

There have been times over the past few days when the breakfast crowd at this Shanghai high-end hotel reminded me of a Texas Oil-Drillers convention. I mean that in a good way because they obviously like it here. The Indigo Shanghai on the Bund is definitely not where you want to stay if you are seeking a Chinese experience. The only thing really Chinese about it is the management and service staff. The hotel restaurant is a steak house, the kind of steak house where they put on the menu the exact number of days the cow was fed the "good" grain. This is a steak house that has ketchup if you want it. That's right: ketchup in a Shanghai restaurant. Chairman Mao has got to be twisting in his container.
My room, 1002, is lovely, stylish really with a round designer rug on dark wood floors. Everything is custom made, built in. My absolute favorite toy in the room, though, is the toilet. It is one of those deals that has a control panel mounted on the wall next to it. Whatever you think you might need a toilet to do, this puppy is up for the job. You just have to be careful that the nozzle inside is pointed in the right place, or you will get a sharp spout of water up your nose. And it is China water, which you do not want up your nose, trust me. Climate controls, a shower with several shower heads pointing in different directions and a big window overlooking the river.
I like it, obviously, because it amuses me as much as comforts me. First day I took a shower, I stood in there for twenty minutes trying to figure out how to work the thing. You have to have a sense of humor. Great bed! Beautiful view from the 30th floor bar.

Room Tip: Ask for one overlooking the river. From room 1001, I can see the river, but I'm not overlooking...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank nugs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Shanghai hotels
The Bund
Les Suites Orient, Bund Shanghai
People’s Square
Shanghai Marriott Hotel City Centre
The Bund
Waldorf Astoria Shanghai on the Bund
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Lujiazui
Mandarin Oriental Pudong, Shanghai
People’s Square
JW Marriott Hotel Shanghai at Tomorrow Square
The Bund
Fairmont Peace Hotel
Fairmont Peace Hotel
#7 of 5,105 in Shanghai
1,974 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Indigo Shanghai on the Bund? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Indigo Shanghai on the Bund

Property: Hotel Indigo Shanghai on the Bund
Address: No.585 Zhong Shan Dong Er Road, Huangpu, Shanghai 200010, China
Phone Number:
Region: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai > South Bund
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 5,105 Hotels in Shanghai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hotel Indigo Shanghai on the Bund 4.5*
Number of rooms: 184
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Indigo’s first property in Asia Pacific opened its doors in December 2010. Sitting directly on the Huangpu riverfront, Hotel Indigo Shanghai on the Bund assures not only spectacular views of both the historic Bund and dramatic Pudong skylines, but an upscale boutique hotel experience where the focus is on inspired service, fresh and vibrant design reflecting the local neighbourhood, and providing guests with an authentic taste of today’s Shanghai, where old and new converge. Featuring 184 rooms, including 23 suites, each individually designed room at Hotel Indigo Shanghai on the Bund provides all of the creature comforts expected from an upscale boutique property, but they are anything but ordinary. Maximizing the spectacular views and combining traditional and modern Chinese design and bespoke pieces, each room provides an intimate haven and unexpected details – be it the walk in “shell shower” featured in a number of guest bathrooms, the oversized wet room with spectacular views, the reclaimed Shikumen brick feature wall or the hidden refreshment bar with individually designed tea sets. All Guests can enjoy the bund view at the public areas. Attention: The Shanghai Regulations on Smoking Control in Public Places took effect on March 1, 2017. Hotel can’t offer smoking room and smoking has been banned in indoor place. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, IHG, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Indigo Shanghai on the Bund reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing