We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Indigo Shanghai on the Bund
Ranked #18 of 5,069 Hotels in Shanghai
Certificate of Excellence
oliver
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“nice hotel”
Reviewed 5 May 2014

was there 2 nights for business, staff was ok, restaurant up on top was good but very expensive. Hotel room was very nice. good location sort walk to shopping and great alleys to get lost in to find local food.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bradcoliver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shanghai_Indigo, General Manager at Hotel Indigo Shanghai on the Bund, responded to this review, 6 May 2014
Dear Bradcoliver -

Looking at your past submissions clearly you are a world traveler and have had occasion to stay in many great hotels. We do appreciate you comments concerning the physical pant of the hotel its rooms , location and amazing views but am saddened that our staff were not able to make a better impression on you.

We do strive to engage all of our guests and do whatever we can to help them enjoy their stay with us as best they can. I do hope we will have another opportunity to welcoming you back to the hotel Indigo here in Shanghai on the Bund and demonstrate just that.

Safe Travels

Christoph
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,395 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,003
    298
    64
    23
    7
See reviews for
133
383
78
481
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (412)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level 6 Contributor
107 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2014

People,rooms, bathroom, breakfast, internet speed....
they are all rated as excellent !

The rooms are equipped with DVD players comfortable beds and pillows, a coffee maker and large windows of the bund.

The bathroom comes with a rubber duckie, bath salt and at extras you could choose bathing kits.Just imagine a long day at work and coming back to bath tub with an LCD and a power shower! (and view of the bund)

The breakfast is serving mostly clean and lean dishes.


they think for everything here, up to the extent of making sure you have your complete stationery at the working desk in the room.

This is the epitome of a wonderful home...

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sayangku
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shanghai_Indigo, General Manager at Hotel Indigo Shanghai on the Bund, responded to this review, 6 May 2014
Greetings Sayangku-

Thank you for your kind comments on TripAdvisor. Its wonderful when our guests are able to enjoy the hotel and the real focus on relevant luxury ... things thought of and put in place to surprise, delight, and satisfy our guests needs... your needs and not some traditional concept of what is required for an exceptional guest experience.

With you and your needs in mind the staff and I look towards how we might continue to improve and enhance your experience. We do look forward to welcoming you back to hotel Indigo -

Christoph
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide
Level 6 Contributor
131 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 April 2014

My wife and I spent the first 5 nights of our China holiday at the Indigo in Shanghai and absolutely loved it. We had a Bund view room, and it was amazing to look down over one of the great boulevards of the world each night. The hotel was everything we expected and more - with just the right amount of quirkiness to go along with the graciousness of the hosts and the willingness of the staff to help out wherever they could.

The room was a perfect size, and the bathroom was fantastic (glad I'm not cleaning the 'wet room' concept each day though!) The mix of modern western and 'asian' decor was just right, and the bed comfortable, and the air conditioning the best we had in China.

As others have noted, the breakfast's were great, with just enough variance each morning to keep things interesting, and the view from the Char bar finished off some pretty good cocktails and gin and tonic's.

However, the absolute undisputed star of the hotel must be Julie. I don't know exactly her title - but perhaps "Empress of all things to help out the Westerners" might be appropriate. From the moment she heard our Australian accents at breakfast on the first morning, she took us under her wing and provided some excellent advice including directions and other little nuggets of information (all in Chinese characters) to fill our days. With the exception of one little hiccup of a restaurant (that would be more appropriate for our parents than us I think) she managed to size us up, and help us find the best of Shanghai. Her and the rest of the Host team in the Client Lounge really help set this hotel apart from others. Try also a trip up to the observation deck of the Shanghia World Financial Centre (the 'bottle opener') - amazing views and a little more cost effective (and higher!) than the Pearl Tower.

We ate room service one night (after a long day our touring) which was very good, and the breakfast's I've discussed above. We didn't eat at Char, but the drinks and the view were more than enough. (Have a look at "Lost Heaven on the Bund" for a great dining experience though. Julie recommended it, but we were already on to it, and they managed to get us a booking on a Saturday night which was lucky!)

About a 10 minute stroll from the end of the Bund, so you could say it was a little isolated - but the taxi's were plentiful and cheap, and the distance made the view perfect! I couldn't recommend Indigo highly enough, and if you're planning a trip to Shanghai - I'd suggest that you give it some serious consideration.

Room Tip: Ask for a Bund View Room - it's probably better than the Pudong Views and definitely better than...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AdelaideArchitect
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shanghai_Indigo, General Manager at Hotel Indigo Shanghai on the Bund, responded to this review, 2 May 2014
Dear AdelaideArchitect-

First allow me send heartfelt regards from "The Empress" Julie and her food and beverage team who were all so excited for having made your acquaintance. The entire hotel team look forward to welcoming you back to hotel Indigo upon your return to Shanghai.

The city itself is an incredible combination of new and old - traditional and cutting edge and very much the vibe which runs through hotel Indigo.

Thank you for your kind insights and many wishes for you both to enjoy a fantastic summer.

Christoph
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2014

Stayed here two nights, and loved our stay there. Great hotel, amazing rooms, helpful reception and easy to find. Everything worked as expected.

When we wanted to go see the ERA Acrobats show at the night, we talked to the reception, who then called them right away. No questions asked, it was very professional all way through.

Unfortunately we never got to try the breakfast!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LarsHoldgaard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shanghai_Indigo, General Manager at Hotel Indigo Shanghai on the Bund, responded to this review, 2 May 2014
Greetings LarsHoldgaard-

You are right - you will need to make another trip back to Shanghai and join us here at Hotel Indigo if for no other reason than to try our amazing chilled breakfast buffet and hot a la carte menu both included in a majority of the rooms packages. (evil grin)

But for whatever might bring you back to Shanghai we certainly would look forward to having you back with us again.

Safe travels

Christoph
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2014 via mobile

It was a 7 nights stat for me at this fantastiassociated. This was not the most fabulous hotel I have ever stayed but definitely this is the most remarkable one that I really want to stay and experience more in the coming time.

I really like this hotel concept. At the time of reservation, I thought this hotel would be something like W hotels sparing the wow factor of modern art. Indigo has much more to introduce because of its charmingly blend with local culture. It is not a typical design, definitely not put many modern decoration that out of classic travelers' taste, not into too much Chinese things. It is just enough for international flavor, enjoying comfortable, delightful room but can feel the Shanghai feeling in the air. Among all the fabulous hotels I have ever stayed in Shanghai, Banyan Tree offers the best Bund view, the old Langham Yangtze is so mystery, most classical and cozy feeling with Portman Ritz Carlton and I have found the most exciting room category here.

Normally, I skip my breakfast for business trip but I did have daily breakfast here. Actually, it dispointed me for the first time because of the simple buffet counter. It is not Asian style expectations for breakfast. The most exciting thing I discovered after that was the a la cart menu features Shanghai, Japan and Western style. Once ordered, the dishes will be delivered to your table in respective Shanghai, Japan or Western way. One more thing, I like the way they put juices, yogurts and fresh fruits into some big fridges. You just open and serve yourself like home. It is just fabulous.

There were a few things happened the the hotel associates were very attentive and helpful. They took very quick actions to solve the problems with sincere apologies that made me very appreciated.

There were some flaws. One the day of check out when I were packing, I found a mess of dirt and hair the lighting space between the bedhead and the painting backside. It was not a good experience thru. One more thing, maybe this is subject to the hotel concept, I was eager to try the turn down service but there was no turn down service during my stay.

In general, I recommend this hotel to everyone because I really want to stay this hotel again for my upcoming trip. Indigo Shanghai is really unique!

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank showteeth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shanghai_Indigo, General Manager at Hotel Indigo Shanghai on the Bund, responded to this review, 2 May 2014
Greetings Showteeth-

Thank you for taking the time for writing such a comprehensive review and comparison for us here on TripAdvisor. I must agree, we have some world class hotels strewn across the city and the team is proud to be considered among one of the best in town.

I do apologize for the discovery of a fur ball behind the bed's head rest and have certainly brought this to the attention of our housekeeping staff. Cleanliness is without question the first and most important criteria of any guest room before all else can be considered so we do take such mis-steps very seriously.

We hope however, we will still be able to welcome you back to hotel Indigo upon your return to the city and I would be thrilled at the opportunity to meet you in person.

with warm regards

Christoph
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HK
Level 6 Contributor
160 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2014

Service in this hotel was unparalleled, the staff really tries hard to make you feel welcomed. You are greeted with a smile, and the staff and management are eager to help you. The location is quite good, by the bund and walking distance to Yu Garden. The room we got was spacious, and had a great view of the bund. The Rooftop bar provided a great view on a clear day. Breakfast was adequate, if it's included in your rate, enjoy, otherwise, give it a miss and go elsewhere. We really enjoyed our stay here at Hotel Indigo Shanghai.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hkfornow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 April 2014

We have just left Shanghai after staying at a Hotel a Indigo. Cannot recommend this hotel highly enough, everything from the rooms to the breakfasts to the staff was excellent. The bathtub overlooked the river and the Bund, amazing views. It was so cool but so unassuming too ( a rare combination) highly recommended

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank avidtraveller64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shanghai_Indigo, General Manager at Hotel Indigo Shanghai on the Bund, responded to this review, 2 May 2014
Avidtraveller64-

Hope that you had a pleasant and safe trip home. It was such a pleasure to have you with us over the last week and certainly look forward to welcoming you back to Shanghai and Hotel Indigo.

Julie our Director of F&B and resident Ausie and her team have been working hard to make the breakfast experience one which will just start off the day right regardless if you are a foreign or domestic guest... something for everyone...

Much like the hotel itself... there is something for everyone to enjoy and look forward to returning to again in the future... which we hope we have accomplished with your recent stay as well.


Christoph

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Shanghai hotels
The Bund
Les Suites Orient, Bund Shanghai
People’s Square
Shanghai Marriott Hotel City Centre
The Bund
Waldorf Astoria Shanghai on the Bund
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Lujiazui
Mandarin Oriental Pudong, Shanghai
People’s Square
JW Marriott Hotel Shanghai at Tomorrow Square
The Bund
Fairmont Peace Hotel
Fairmont Peace Hotel
#8 of 5,069 in Shanghai
1,937 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Indigo Shanghai on the Bund? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Indigo Shanghai on the Bund

Property: Hotel Indigo Shanghai on the Bund
Address: No.585 Zhong Shan Dong Er Road, Huangpu, Shanghai 200010, China
Phone Number:
Region: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai > South Bund
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 5,069 Hotels in Shanghai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hotel Indigo Shanghai on the Bund 4.5*
Number of rooms: 184
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Indigo’s first property in Asia Pacific opened its doors in December 2010. Sitting directly on the Huangpu riverfront, Hotel Indigo Shanghai on the Bund assures not only spectacular views of both the historic Bund and dramatic Pudong skylines, but an upscale boutique hotel experience where the focus is on inspired service, fresh and vibrant design reflecting the local neighbourhood, and providing guests with an authentic taste of today’s Shanghai, where old and new converge. Featuring 184 rooms, including 23 suites, each individually designed room at Hotel Indigo Shanghai on the Bund provides all of the creature comforts expected from an upscale boutique property, but they are anything but ordinary. Maximizing the spectacular views and combining traditional and modern Chinese design and bespoke pieces, each room provides an intimate haven and unexpected details – be it the walk in “shell shower” featured in a number of guest bathrooms, the oversized wet room with spectacular views, the reclaimed Shikumen brick feature wall or the hidden refreshment bar with individually designed tea sets. All Guests can enjoy the bund view at the public areas. Attention: The Shanghai Regulations on Smoking Control in Public Places took effect on March 1, 2017. Hotel can’t offer smoking room and smoking has been banned in indoor place. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Agoda, IHG, Ebookers, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Indigo Shanghai on the Bund reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing