We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice view of Shanghai”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Indigo Shanghai on the Bund
Ranked #24 of 5,105 Hotels in Shanghai
Certificate of Excellence
Hong Kong, China
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Nice view of Shanghai”
Reviewed 4 July 2014

This hotel offers a great view of Shanghai bund. I was given executive room as a platinum IHG member, which, I think, offers the best view. Service was good. Breakfast is OK but not great. There is no subway nearby though.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Astoria_HKG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shanghai_Indigo, General Manager at Hotel Indigo Shanghai on the Bund, responded to this review, 5 July 2014
Greetings Astoria_HKG

Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience with us here at Hotel Indigo. I am glad that you overall stay was a very good one and we certainly look forward to welcoming you back upon your return the Shanghai.

I am sorry to hear that Breakfast was only OK and hope I might trouble you with a request that you might share more specifics as to what we might do better to improve this critical part of almost all of our guest's stays.

Please feel free to email me at christoph.zbinden@ihg.com as we strive to continue to improve the guest critical and relevant aspects of our business and with your help we can get one step closer.

Christoph
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,403 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,002
    304
    66
    23
    8
See reviews for
135
386
78
483
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (412)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2014

Always enjoy the Indigo.
Grrrt staff : decor in lobby, reading + common areas. Get Apple-envy using their iMacs (then its back to a pedestrian Mac L/t when home.) Stunning river-views.

Just wish…had been given a heads-up re; F+B renovations.
Next time, it'll be ok !

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank possuminpandaland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shanghai_Indigo, General Manager at Hotel Indigo Shanghai on the Bund, responded to this review, 8 July 2014
Dear possuminpandal-

Such a pleasure to see guest returning time and time again to enjoy both our unique and spacious rooms with their fantastic views of the city and the Bund or just coming in for a relaxed meal in Quay (which has just launch its new lunch and dinner menu - a certain must try featuring Asian specialties from around the region) or a fantastic steak in our award winning Char Dining with its breath taking views and never to forget Charbar on the 30th floor.

Yes, the expansion of both Char bar and Char Dining are almost completed and these additions should be open to the public by the end of the month. I would look forward to taking you on a personal tour upon your return to hotel Indigo. Just let me know when next you wish to visit so I can be certain to be available - christoph.zbinden@ihg.com

Fortunately, the work on the 29th and 30th floors was organized in such a way that we never needed to close either venue - but we too very much look forward to the launch of these two new spaces.

Thank you for your kind words and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Christoph
General manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver
Level 6 Contributor
177 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2014

We stayed at the Indigo back in April and we loved our stay. Its traditional Chinese touches mixed with modern design makes it the perfect pied a terre in Shanghai.
The staff is very kind and helpful, the views are fantastic and the breakfast is to die for. We also liked the fact that we could just walk up the Bund for dinner and walk to the Old Town gardens as well. I would definitely recommend this place to anyone going to Shanghai.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Najebo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shanghai_Indigo, General Manager at Hotel Indigo Shanghai on the Bund, responded to this review, 5 July 2014
Dear Najebo -

We are all so glad that you really enjoyed your time with us here at Hotel Indigo. Yes the hotel is a great combination of traditional and modern Chinese design used in a way to be both playful and respectful of this amazing city we find ourselves in. Of course, our location in one of a kind and offers views that no other hotel in the city can boast... but it is you comment about the friendliness of the staff and the level of service which you received which puts a smile on my face as I know how hard the team work to make sure each guest has a fantastic stay with us. In fact, we have been working on our breakfast product and service really focusing on both over the last 9 months and the response has been great - do we get it right ever time every day - no ... but it is through listening to our guests and actively trying to improve that number continues to increase with every new guest.

We look forward to having you back to Shanghai soon - would love to personally introduce you to our new Quay Lunch and Dinner menus which really introduce some fantastic new local dishes and flavors that I am sure will delight you as well.

Christoph
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
Level 6 Contributor
99 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2014 via mobile

A return guest to hotel indigo after a year absence and everything was perfect.

With greetings by all staff - genuinely happy to see me return. Abundant smiles. Warm welcomes.

The breakfast is fab. Fresh. Quality. Variety.
The rooms well kept and maintained ... As new!
The service throughout amazing.
Char Bar terrace best spot in town to get a drink ... And about to get bigger!

Hats off to this amazing team for making my stay so special!

Oh. Almost forgot!
BREATHTAKING VIEWS!

Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank thomas_destinations
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shanghai_Indigo, General Manager at Hotel Indigo Shanghai on the Bund, responded to this review, 23 June 2014
Greetings thomas_destination

The team here at Hotel Indigo are most proud of the ever growing number of return guests we have the pleasure of welcoming back and creating new wonderful memories with. It's one thing to select this fun and vibrant hotel the first time but given the amazing number of competitors you have the opportunity to select from when visiting Shanghai it is our singular focus to ensure you have a fantastic stay with us each time in order to first win and then nurture your loyalty.

On behalf of the entire team thank you for returning to Hotel Indigo your home away from home when in Shanghai and we look forward to your next visit when in fact we will be able to introduce you to our recently completed expansion of both Charbar and Char Dining. As we continue to strive to keep the experience fresh for our new and returning guests.

Christoph
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dana Point, California, United States
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2014

Here for the weekend on my own prior to meeting with local colleagues, so I wanted somewhere cheerful and self contained to get some work done and then relax prior to a busy work week.

It's a very nice building, clean, highly decorated. Fine bed, good work-space, excellent bath facilities. But I'm sure there was no mention of the construction which has eliminated the best restaurant and closed the terrace, leaving only the cafe'/breakfast buffet available for meals.

The menu is extremely limited, food is indifferently prepared and sloppily served. The restaurant service is shockingly bad, as if the entire team is new and untrained.

I guess if you only want to sleep and you like the view it's an OK place, but then you are paying for full service aren't you?

Room Tip: Views are really spectacular but the river walk is NNW of the hotel so really only rooms on that cor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Walter T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Indigo Shanghai on the Bund, responded to this review, 8 July 2014
Dear Walter T,

Thank you for taking the time to relay your comments regarding our property during your recent stay. I am pleased that you found our hotel and some of its amenities convenient for your needs.

Please accept our sincerest apologies you were not satisfied with the level of service received and for any inconvenience you have encountered particularly with the renovations. We greatly appreciate your feedback as this gives us the avenue to improve on our guest satisfaction.

Again, thank you for your time and we hope to have an opportunity to serve you again.

Best Regards,

John O
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2014

I and my girlfriend stayed at this hotel in May. So this is a delayed review. Overall, this is a great hotel at a nice location. We had a very pleasant stay.

We had a city view room. The room is a bit small but clean, stylish and comfortable. The front desk staffs are friendly. I like the fact they served the tea during the check-in process, which is a bless in the hot summer. I also enjoyed the traditional Shanghai "Big White Rabbit" candies, which brought back my childhood memories.

There is a nice roof-top bar, which offers a nice view of the bund from different perspective. The view might not be as impressive as the view you might get from other roof top bars in the center of the bund, which overlooks the finance district in Pudong. However, the view is still thoroughly enjoyable, giving you a different angle. Plus it is very quiet and relaxing.

The location of the hotel is a bit far away from the busy central bund area. It will take some amount of walk to the center of the bund. It took me around 20 minutes to get to the central bund area. The walk can be enjoyable, since you will walk on the pedestrian walkway right next to the river. There is no subway station nearby so that you need to grab a taxi or take bus #55 to your hotel. Also, there are not many restaurants near the hotel within walking distance. You need to go somewhere toward the central bund area to get more options.

Overall, we enjoyed our stay and will go back again.

Overall, we both enjoyed the stay

Room Tip: If you can afford, get a room with river view. The view is impressive.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Kevin F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shanghai_Indigo, General Manager at Hotel Indigo Shanghai on the Bund, responded to this review, 23 June 2014
Dear europe61,

As they say - better late than never! We here at Hotel Indigo really appreciate the time you have taken out of your busy day to share with us your recent experience.

An experience which speaks of many of the little things we do here to make our guest's stays both memorable and enjoyable. The white complementary rabbit candies found in each room are just one such touch - a nostalgic connection to many of our childhoods or an introduction to something whimsical and local.

Judging by your location you are a resident of Shanghai which makes your review that much more special given your knowledge of the city and opportunity to select from so many other hotels - we certainly do hope we can welcoming you and your girlfriend back to Hotel Indigo soon.

I would be my personal pleasure to meet you then in person.

Christoph
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2014

After researching hotels on trip advisor and being our first trip to Shanghai decided to try the Indigo. Wow what a fantastic hotel ! We thoroughly enjoyed all aspects of the Hotel. We booked a river view room to take in the atmosphere of Shanghai and couldn't have been happier. The hotel is an easy walk to the bund and a good central location. We found the staff very attentive and the breakfast and restaurants outstanding. Make sure you try the rooftop bar at dark to take in the views of this amazing city. If you are planning on a visit to Shanghai you cant go wrong with the Indigo.

Room Tip: Spoil yourself and get a river view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank griswalds59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shanghai_Indigo, General Manager at Hotel Indigo Shanghai on the Bund, responded to this review, 23 June 2014
Greetings griswalds59-

It is Fantastic to see how powerful the frank and candid reviews on TripAdvisor can make finding the perfect hotel such a pleasure. We here at Hotel Indigo understand the critical importance of making sure that each of our guests leave having had a pleasurable and memorable stay. Certainly, we always find ways to improve our facilities and services often with the direction of contributors such as yourself. Yet it is always a thrill to read of yet another guest who has enjoyed their stay with us and shares their experience with all to read.

Thank you and we look forward to welcoming you back upon your return to Shanghai.

Christoph
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Shanghai hotels
The Bund
Les Suites Orient, Bund Shanghai
The Bund
Waldorf Astoria Shanghai on the Bund
Lujiazui
Grand Kempinski Hotel Shanghai
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Bund
The Westin Bund Center Shanghai
People’s Square
JW Marriott Hotel Shanghai at Tomorrow Square
The Bund
Fairmont Peace Hotel
Fairmont Peace Hotel
#7 of 5,105 in Shanghai
1,975 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Indigo Shanghai on the Bund? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Indigo Shanghai on the Bund

Property: Hotel Indigo Shanghai on the Bund
Address: No.585 Zhong Shan Dong Er Road, Huangpu, Shanghai 200010, China
Phone Number:
Region: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai > South Bund
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 5,105 Hotels in Shanghai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hotel Indigo Shanghai on the Bund 4.5*
Number of rooms: 184
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Indigo’s first property in Asia Pacific opened its doors in December 2010. Sitting directly on the Huangpu riverfront, Hotel Indigo Shanghai on the Bund assures not only spectacular views of both the historic Bund and dramatic Pudong skylines, but an upscale boutique hotel experience where the focus is on inspired service, fresh and vibrant design reflecting the local neighbourhood, and providing guests with an authentic taste of today’s Shanghai, where old and new converge. Featuring 184 rooms, including 23 suites, each individually designed room at Hotel Indigo Shanghai on the Bund provides all of the creature comforts expected from an upscale boutique property, but they are anything but ordinary. Maximizing the spectacular views and combining traditional and modern Chinese design and bespoke pieces, each room provides an intimate haven and unexpected details – be it the walk in “shell shower” featured in a number of guest bathrooms, the oversized wet room with spectacular views, the reclaimed Shikumen brick feature wall or the hidden refreshment bar with individually designed tea sets. All Guests can enjoy the bund view at the public areas. Attention: The Shanghai Regulations on Smoking Control in Public Places took effect on March 1, 2017. Hotel can’t offer smoking room and smoking has been banned in indoor place. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, IHG, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Indigo Shanghai on the Bund reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing