We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Modern boutique hotel with classic Chinese design touch of furniture” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Indigo Shanghai on the Bund

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Indigo Shanghai on the Bund
Ranked #17 of 4,967 Hotels in Shanghai
Certificate of Excellence
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Modern boutique hotel with classic Chinese design touch of furniture”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2014

Located in the centre of Shanghai Puxi area. Nice interior design, professional and helpful staff. Nice view over the Bund and Huangpu River and Pudong Financial centre.
Unique and modern room design with traditional Chinese furnitures.

Room Tip: Suites have better view on the Bund and the Huangpu River Restaurant Cha - Grill and Bar was very n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chibke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shanghai_Indigo, General Manager at Hotel Indigo Shanghai on the Bund, responded to this review, 18 July 2014
Greetings Chibke-

Thank you for taking the time to share with us your recent experience here at Hotel Indigo. We know that there are so many choices when it comes to accommodation here in Shanghai so it becomes that much more important for the entire team to do everything we can to make our guests feel special and well looked after so when next they are in need of a great hotel experience or a perfect setting for an awesome steak dinner or breath taking views while sipping cocktails - you will think of us.

Look forward to welcoming you back.

Christoph
General manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,315 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    946
    282
    58
    22
    7
See reviews for
127
364
71
456
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (399)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New Brunswick, New Jersey
Level Contributor
101 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2014 via mobile

Shanghai was the second stop on our honeymoon. Upon entering the hotel, we were immediately impressed by the decor of the lobby- there are unique furniture and accessories, as well as interesting artwork. The location is really great. Its right next to the cool docks, which seem to be an up and coming attraction. There is a lot of upgrading and construction going on around the hotel. Onward and upward! We didnt find the construction to be noisy or bothersome.

We went to check in, and my husband mentioned that we were staying with them for part of our honeymoon. The desk staff members, Star and Stefenie, were extraordinarily helpful, and graciously upgraded us to a suite with gorgeous views of the river, and of the buildings on the opposite side of the river. We could see the light shows at night without even leaving the hotel! Many thanks again to Star and Stefenie- you guys really helped make Shanghai and our stay at Indigo a standout part of our honeymoon.

The decor in the suite was very unique. They incorporated chinese lanterns and murals into the design, and its really gorgeous- the room felt very homey. The bed is obscenely comfortable, and the pillows are large and smushy. The blackout curtains are very effective. There are also sheers. The office space features chargers if you need them. The bathroom was large and gorgeous- there is a large bathtub, as well as a modern shower, with a separate stall for the toilet. Lots of counter space and drawers. The open closet area is roomy, and there were plenty of hangers. The air conditioning was very effective.

The amenities in the hotel are very nice- we utilized the pool daily as a cool off from the heat outside. The pool isnt heavily chlorinated, and there are views of the river. The gym has a nice selection of machines that i have in my home gym, although i didnt use any of them :p

While in Shanghai, we used uber in lieu of taxis, and we found it to be speedy and convenient, not to mention super affordable.

I am reviewing the restaurant, char, separately.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank im_a_t0urist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shanghai_Indigo, General Manager at Hotel Indigo Shanghai on the Bund, responded to this review, 13 July 2014
Greetings im_a_tOurist-

I was so excited to read your comments on TripAdvisor this morning , Sunday, that I rushed into work and went to personally congratulate both Star and Stephanie for making the difference between you both enjoying a good stay and instead having a great and memorable one.

On behalf of the entire hotel Indigo staff allow me to once again congratulate you both on your recent marriage and many wishes for much love and joy to you both.

Perhaps we will have the pleasure of seeing you both again - perhaps in celebration of one of your future anniversaries

All the best,

Christoph
General Manager .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level Contributor
31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2014

Stayed one night. Easy to get to from the airport. I went Maglev and then Taxi (About 40yuan), as had too many bags to mess around on the metro.

Welcome was very warm, and the quality of English spoken by reception staff was excellent. Escorted to the room, with a great view of the Bund, and the more modern part of Shanghai (Across the river). Was a 10 minute walk to the old part of the Bund.

Room was fabulous. Specious, well decorated, extremely clean. Fab bathroom.

Later went up to bar (Char Bar) on 30th floor. Was very good, except service was very orientated towards the outside terrace with amazing views of the Bund. We were inside, so found we had to keep getting up and asking for service... but then very quick. Prices in the bar were typical western style pricing so, I suspect, expensive for Shanghai.

Bed was very comfortable. Slept like a log.

Good selection of English speaking TV channels.

Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Ask for a river view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SiobhanEllis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shanghai_Indigo, General Manager at Hotel Indigo Shanghai on the Bund, responded to this review, 11 July 2014
Greetings SiobhanEllis-

Thank you for your kind words regarding the hotel. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your overall stay with us and were able explore the Bund and the surrounding area.

I will certainly speak with the Charbar team as it is critical that all our guests receive the same high level of service regardless of where you sit. Certainly on a beautiful night many of our guests prefer the outside terrace but that in no way should impact the level of attention received by those guests who elect to stay inside.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Hotel Indigo upon your return trip to Shanghai


Christoph
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala lumpur
Level Contributor
21 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2014 via mobile

Artistic room deco with cosy ambience. Room is really comfortable with amazing view. Concierge staff are friendly and helpful.
Not so good experience - there was a queue of about 4 people waiting for taxi ride and bellboy decided to give the taxi away to a western foreigner who's way behind the queue. Apart
from that, it was a nice stay.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Palmsyy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shanghai_Indigo, General Manager at Hotel Indigo Shanghai on the Bund, responded to this review, 10 July 2014
Dear Palmsyy,

Thank you for sharing your experience with us as it will allow us to redouble our training efforts as it applies to the staff assisting at the entrance of the hotel. I can assure you that no offence was intend and under no circumstance would we treat any nationality, race or gender other than with the up most respect and attention. Not knowing the specific dates of your stay I cannot do any further research regarding the matter but do wish to mention that some guests do call down and reserve taxis which then arrive and wait for them in particular and will not take other fares even if there are what would seem other guests waiting before them. Of course I cannot confirm if this happened in your specific case and have made a point to all my front of house staff that any such behavior will simply not be tolerated here.

I am glad to read that you otherwise did enjoy your room and stay and hope we will be able to welcome you back to hotel Indigo upon your return to Shanghai.

Christoph
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
oxford uk
Level Contributor
35 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2014

Totally wonderful hotel, decor amazing - rooms feel like a beautiful home, not a hotel, views are completely stunning- from the room, from the bath, from the pool, the restaurant, and from the relaxing work and lounge area, and especially from 30th floor outdoor roof bar. Definitely the best hotel I have ever stayed in.
Staff are very friendly and helpful. The food was quite pricey and I did not think was very good, but nothing like that could even begin to detract from the 5* ++++ it gets as a hotel.
Great location- It is right on the river walkway, only about 15 mins walk from the classic 1920s and 30s part of the Bund, and 5 mins from an old part of town with lovely markets, 16th century garden of pagodas, temples etc. Not near metro, but Taxis very cheap if you need to go further.

Room Tip: Well worth paying a bit more for a Bund river view, it is REALLY special
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ellenmary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shanghai_Indigo, General Manager at Hotel Indigo Shanghai on the Bund, responded to this review, 9 July 2014
Greetings ellenmary-

Well that is quite a compliment noting the number of cities and hotels you have stayed in as described by your other TripAdvisor reviews. I am so glad that we were able to capture the spirit of old Shanghai for you and at the same time found the many modern amenities both relevant and enjoyable.

I am however very sorry to hear that you found neither the breakfast or the meals in either Char dining or Quay up to your expectations much less enjoyable. We do strive to make every aspect of Hotel Indigo both of great value and memorable and we clearly failed at both. I do thank you for taking the time to write this review but should you be so kind and share a bit moire time with us I would love to hear what in particular you did not enjoy about your food and beverage experiences so that we may improve and should we have the pleasure of your return to Shanghai and the Hotel Indigo demonstrate how seriously we take our pledge.

Please feel free to email me directly at christoph.zbinden@ihg.com

Christoph
General manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
112 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2014

Management very present and proactive throughout stay. Great launch point for exploring Shanghai, away from extremely busy intersections, right on the Bund, great walkway. Concierge services were very helpful and accommodating! Do not recommend Char restaurant - very poor service, overpriced food, small portions - not reflective of the high price point! Some fun design and great views - where the locals go to grab a drink to take in the sights from the rooftop. For the price point of the accommodation breakfast was not included and mediocre (booked through Indigo/IHG website). Although a traveller/guest - communication with staff overall very difficult - not my experience at other accommodations in the area (with the exception of the wonderful concierge staff!).

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Evan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shanghai_Indigo, General Manager at Hotel Indigo Shanghai on the Bund, responded to this review, 8 July 2014
Dear Evan H-

Thank you for taking the time to write us concerning your recent experience at Hotel Indigo. I am glad to here that you enjoy both your accommodations and the overall facilities and amenities offered by the hotel. Further to hear that the front desk staff and our concierge in Quay were both warm and helpful. Of course we strive to improve the level of spoken English throughout the hotel through a series of weekly English classes it is something we must all stay on top of.

Having reviewed your guest folio I noted that the rate which you paid did in fact include 2 breakfast which in Quay consists of a cold breakfast buffet and the choice of any of the hotel breakfast a la carte items on the menu. This is done to ensure the freshness of the hotel items served. I certainly do apologize that over the course of your stay you had not been made aware of this inclusion as I am certain knowing so would have addressed both the variety and value issues you have noted. I will have my front desk staff get in contact with you to see how best we can arrange for either a voucher to be sent to you for future visit or the cost of the breakfast refunded to you for your stay.

Lastly, I was very saddened to read about your less than exceptional dining experience in Char which is consistently given high marks for both service and quality of food. Again I have reviewed your bill on the night in question and do hope we will have the privilege of welcoming you back to Hotel Indigo upon your return to Shanghai so that I may personally ensure that you will enjoy a memorable first class experience.

Christoph
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
92 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 July 2014

I spent 3 nights in the Indigo and I found it great value for money. The views of Pudong and the river are simply stunning.
The rooms are beautifully decorated and comfortable. Great spacious bathroom and very very clean.
The food is good for breakfast, I did not try the restaurant for dinner or lunch. The bar on the roof is great but gets really full towards the end of the day with expats and chinese alike that want to enjoy the views.
Location is great, just by the Yuyuan gardens, allowing you to walk to the french concession, bund and food markets.
Great hotel to go to. Price/value relation is great.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mpancorbo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shanghai_Indigo, General Manager at Hotel Indigo Shanghai on the Bund, responded to this review, 5 July 2014
Dear Mpancorbo-

Great to read that you really enjoyed your time here with us at Hotel Indigo and were able to enjoy many of the special amenities which make this hotel so special. Sorry to hear you did not have time to enjoy Char on this last trip but very much hope we can introduce you upon your return to Shanghai and hopefully hotel Indigo.

On another note, you are right Charbar does get crowded on beautiful nights with many hotel and outside guests. So much so, that we will be opening a new south outside terrace to accommodate another 150 guests opening at the end of next week. Most amazingly, we were able to expand both the bar and Char dining one floor beneath without ever having to close either to our guests. In fact, there is always as space four our hotel guests as they receive special recognition and priority whenever the bar begins to fill.

Look forward to welcoming you back.

Christoph
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Shanghai hotels
The Bund
Les Suites Orient, Bund Shanghai
Lujiazui
Mandarin Oriental Pudong, Shanghai
The Bund
Waldorf Astoria Shanghai on the Bund
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Bund
Fairmont Peace Hotel
Fairmont Peace Hotel
#6 of 4,967 in Shanghai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,797 reviews
People’s Square
Shanghai Marriott Hotel City Centre
People’s Square
JW Marriott Hotel Shanghai at Tomorrow Square
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Indigo Shanghai on the Bund? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Indigo Shanghai on the Bund

Property: Hotel Indigo Shanghai on the Bund
Address: No.585 Zhong Shan Dong Er Road, Huangpu, Shanghai 200010, China
Phone Number:
Region: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai > South Bund
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 4,967 Hotels in Shanghai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hotel Indigo Shanghai on the Bund 4.5*
Number of rooms: 184
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Indigo’s first property in Asia Pacific opened its doors in December 2010. Sitting directly on the Huangpu riverfront, Hotel Indigo Shanghai on the Bund assures not only spectacular views of both the historic Bund and dramatic Pudong skylines, but an upscale boutique hotel experience where the focus is on inspired service, fresh and vibrant design reflecting the local neighbourhood, and providing guests with an authentic taste of today’s Shanghai, where old and new converge. Featuring 184 rooms, including 23 suites, each individually designed room at Hotel Indigo Shanghai on the Bund provides all of the creature comforts expected from an upscale boutique property, but they are anything but ordinary. Maximizing the spectacular views and combining traditional and modern Chinese design and bespoke pieces, each room provides an intimate haven and unexpected details – be it the walk in “shell shower” featured in a number of guest bathrooms, the oversized wet room with spectacular views, the reclaimed Shikumen brick feature wall or the hidden refreshment bar with individually designed tea sets. All Guests can enjoy the bund view at the public areas. Attention: The Shanghai Regulations on Smoking Control in Public Places took effect on March 1, 2017. Hotel can’t offer smoking room and smoking has been banned in indoor place. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Indigo Shanghai on the Bund reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing