We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Great alternative to a standard business hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Indigo Shanghai on the Bund

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Indigo Shanghai on the Bund
Ranked #16 of 4,941 Hotels in Shanghai
Certificate of Excellence
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great alternative to a standard business hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 January 2011

Stayed one night there with a friend when I was having a long weekend in Shanghai before hectic Chinese New Year. Didn't know it was a new boutique hotel opened in December before I arrived, but was quite impressed by its inner decor.

Our room had an amazing view of the river and you could tell they added lots of details to the decor. Loved the bathroom design. Feels like a turkish bathroom! Only thing is that you feel you should also get a steam bath after a shower....

There is also a small indoor swimming pool together with a small but top-standard gym. It looks quite sleek. I mean, maybe a bit too sleek to some people.

The most memorable highlight about th hotel though is its breakfast. Plus standard continental breakfast, you get to choose from three different styles of hot meals, which are American, Japanese and Shanghainese. I chose Shanghainese, but I have to say the congee was quite average... However the effort is really commendable.

All in all. it is a great alternative to a generic business hotel. Only wish it could be cheaper..

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank twgenf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,299 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    936
    278
    56
    22
    7
See reviews for
126
362
70
448
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (395)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Taipei
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 January 2011

Front desk service is excellent, hardware of the room is good but the plug is not work should have some design issue due to this hotel only open 1 month.
I extra pay for one breakfast but I just feel waste my moneny, it is terrible. I will recommend, the hardware wise, I like it but need a lot of improvement for sofeware.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TracyTaipei
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bruce_au, General Manager at Hotel Indigo Shanghai on the Bund, responded to this review, 27 January 2011
Dear TraceyTaipei,

Thank you for your feedback.

You will be pleased to know that Chef Julie has added some delicious new items to our breakfast. Try the bread & butter pudding, fresh home style fritatta or the Shanghai style noodles next time you visit. These are all on the kitchen table selection, For many more options check the Quay menu, The Shanghai breakfast is a great way to taste the real flavors of the city.

Neighborhood regards,

Bruce Ryde
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 January 2011

Having a wonderful & pleasant stay. The night view of the Bund is still vivid in our mind. Thanks for the hospitality they showed me and my husband, and we will surely choose Hotel Indigo when we are next in Shanghai!

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PDDD100129
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beijing
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 January 2011

Entering the guestroom, like a small child in a wonderland, I was expecting to find any astonishment! Special cakes in elegant paper-made small box, elaborate Hotel Indigo introduction and postcards in a very special iron box, all these embody the inspiration and enthusiasm of Hotel Indigo to guests, just absolutely expressing “Great Hotel, Guests Love”!

It was amazing that Ken Zhou, FOM called me when I was in the office. He provided me with a guestroom with a better view after my check-in! Without love to guests, he may not find my mobile number! From this point, I can say his carefulness and attentiveness to details of guest’s staying at Hotel Indigo deliver a kind of touch! He thinks of what a guest might want! A surprise is being delivered silently! Maybe we can name it a type of real hotel service which touches the softest part in heart! Through such a hotel experience, we are moved to tell friends or guests who are still wondering which hotel to be their next destination. Undoubtedly, I will say Hotel Indigo will be the one you are looking for! Once you choose it, you will never regret and never forget! It’s Indigo, it’s your life! City makes better life!



The shower area is dedicated with ceramic tile in blue-white porcelain, a Chinese traditional treasure while combining with special Hotel Indigo design and local neighboring culture, a true selling point and attractive one!



I even find a book “Pride and Prejudice” on the book shelf, which is the one we students analyzed during my postgraduate study for English literature! As a matter of fact, staffs at Hotel Indigo pay attention to every detail, especially, right selection for the best service!

Friendly attentiveness to guests makes us feel at home!

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Meretlune
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 January 2011

From the minute I walked in the door I was made to feel welcome! Great boutique hotel design in keeping with the neighborhood and not overdone. Our room was a generous size with views of the Shanghai's Bund and Yu Garden. For me the bed and outside noise factors important. Indigo get both right! It's central location does not come with the noise of a big city and the bed delivers a good nights sleep. I enjoyed the breakfast service which was comprised of western classics I am used to eating around Sydney's cafe scene. A nice treat when traveling in China. The staff have grasped the western service elements well although it is still a little rehearsed. I am certain this will feel more natural in the coming months. This is the first Indigo I have stayed in and has inspired me to check out some of the others in my travels. I checked Wikipedia and see Indigo have quite a few around the world. Shanghai is still showing under construction but as far as I can tell from my stay, they are open and in business. Recommended!

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Capt888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shanghai, China
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 January 2011

Loved my brief one night stay in this hotel especially taking a bath overlooking Pudong/The bund.

Breakfast was great. Staff were friendly at every point.

Only slight disappointment was the bar and restaurant at the top of the hotel were closed but I guess this will just take time to get up and running.

Great stay.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank normbro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BruceRyde_au, General Manager at Hotel Indigo Shanghai on the Bund, responded to this review, 8 January 2011
Hi "normbro"

Thank you for you great comments on trip advisor - we are still very new ( one month this week!) and your early support means much to us.

We are sorry that our rooftop retaurant is not open yet - Just to let you know CHAR bar and grill will open 18 March with 3 levels of contemporary dining and bar ( with outdoor terrace looking over Shanghai)

I hope we see you agin in Shanghai

Neighborhood regards

Hotel i
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 December 2010

Great new hotel on the south bund with some great views of both the ultra-modern Lujiazui area as well as the historical bund. Room design and layout is refreshing and is both modern as well as reflective of local culture. Char restaurant and bar offers stunning views and should become a hot local hangout if they can get the service right. My stay was short and as such I can not comment too much on service.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Roadwarrior1109
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Shanghai hotels
The Bund
Les Suites Orient, Bund Shanghai
Lujiazui
Mandarin Oriental Pudong, Shanghai
The Bund
Waldorf Astoria Shanghai on the Bund
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Bund
Fairmont Peace Hotel
Fairmont Peace Hotel
#5 of 4,941 in Shanghai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,776 reviews
People’s Square
JW Marriott Hotel Shanghai at Tomorrow Square
People’s Square
Shanghai Marriott Hotel City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Indigo Shanghai on the Bund? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Indigo Shanghai on the Bund

Property: Hotel Indigo Shanghai on the Bund
Address: No.585 Zhongshan East Second Road, Huangpu District, Shanghai 200010, China
Phone Number:
Region: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai > South Bund
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 4,941 Hotels in Shanghai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hotel Indigo Shanghai on the Bund 4.5*
Number of rooms: 184
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Indigo’s first property in Asia Pacific, opens its doors in December 2010. Sitting directly on the Huangpu River front, Hotel Indigo Shanghai on the Bund assures not only spectacular views of both the historic Bund and dramatic Pudong skylines, but an upscale boutique hotel experience where the focus is on inspired service, fresh and vibrant design reflecting the local neighbourhood, and providing guests with an authentic taste of today’s Shanghai, where old and new converge. Featuring 184 rooms, including 23 suites, each individually designed room at Hotel Indigo Shanghai on the Bund provides all of the creature comforts expected from an upscale boutique property, but they are anything but ordinary. Maximizing the spectacular views and combining traditional and modern Chinese design and bespoke pieces, each room provides an intimate haven and unexpected details – be it the walk in “shell shower” featured in a number of guest bathrooms, the oversized wet room with spectacular views, the reclaimed Shikumen brick feature wall or the hidden refreshment bar with individually designed tea sets. All Guests can enjoy the bund view at the public areas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Ctrip TA and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Indigo Shanghai on the Bund reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing