We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“My den in shanghai!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Dorsett Shanghai

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Dorsett Shanghai
Ranked #69 of 4,969 Hotels in Shanghai
New Delhi, Delhi, India
Level Contributor
104 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“My den in shanghai!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2013

A very nice property!
Decent Room.
Nice location...
ITs next to Century Park metro station.
Quite convenient for public transport.
Business centre is good.
you get a Cab next to hotel 24 hours.
and next thing i remember is that
i was extending my hotel for one more night every night....
and i ended up spending 5 nights here...
lovely view of century park from the room....

Room Tip: chose the room facing Century park. lovely garden view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gauravjalan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doris H, General Manager at Dorsett Shanghai, responded to this review, 20 June 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for staying at Dorsett Shanghai and we are so glad to learn of your wonderful stay experience. Please check up our Preferred Guest Program for your future stays in Shanghai.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

405 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    109
    227
    54
    7
    8
See reviews for
24
49
33
220
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2013

We booked this hotel for a short stay and we needed to be close to the airport but not far away from the city centre. And it didn't disappoint.
From the airport, we took the Maglev, then one station by metro and in 30 minutes we were in the hotel. The entrance is just as you exit the metro station and it's great. You get can very quicky to the city centre as well as the airport.
The rooms were clean and quite big for what I was expecting.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Delia C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doris H, General Manager at Dorsett Shanghai, responded to this review, 20 June 2013
Dear Guest,
This is our honour to having you stay in Dorsett Shanghai, the hotel location and accessibility are met with your satification. The breathtaking 140 million metre Century Park view from the hotel room which is a unique value plus of our hotel. We look forward to welcome you back on your next trip to Shanghai.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huntsville, Alabama
Level Contributor
170 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2013 via mobile

Everything about my stay was just great, everyone on staff was friendly and professional at all times.
My room had a view of Century Park which was wonderful and great to see all the activity from early morning and late evening. The bed was very comfortable and the bath was spacious with a tub and a double head shower.
Breakfast had an excellent layout and everything tasted good.
Housekeeping was very through and never disruptive, used the laundry service and everything was returned by evening crisp and clean.
Hotel is located at Century Park Metro Station Line 2 Exit 4 you do not even get wet during a rain storm getting from the Metro to the hotel. It makes getting around the city fast and economical.
A convince store is just outside the metro entrance which was good for water and snacks.

Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank KiloBravo1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doris H, General Manager at Dorsett Shanghai, responded to this review, 14 June 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for sharing your stay experience at Dorsett Shanghai!
Our design-led hotel stands as a landmark symbolizing chic and charm. A short trip from Century Boulevard, Pudong's main throughfare, and facing the picturesque Century Park, we are glad Dorsett Shanghai meets your preferences for the prefect combination of service, grace and comfort and yet ideal location.
We look forward to welcoming you back to Dorsett Shanghai!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Heerhugowaard, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
338 reviews
103 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 June 2013 via mobile

Good beds, very nice and clean bathroom, good small lobby, service is fine. Location across a park and one block away from a shopping area. We will stay here more in stead of parkview hotel. I appreciate the lighting design in the room

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Peteruga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doris H, General Manager at Dorsett Shanghai, responded to this review, 14 June 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for choosing to stay at Dorsett Shanghai!
Hotel lobby drenched with natural light by day and brusting with energy at night, decked with lively, hand-painted furnishings and warmed by our staff's genuine desire to assure that you have a wonderful home away from home feeling.
We look forward to having you stay in Dorsett Shanghai for your future visits to Shanghai.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2013

Location is fantastic. Take maglev to long yang station, then subway line 2 , 1 stop to century park. Exit 4 and the escalator leads you to the rear entrance of the hotel.

Breakfast spread is gorgeous. Varities of local and western dishes. Fruits are abundant. Service at the restaurant is excellent.

Staffs are friendly and efficient. Rooms spacious and they are cleaned promtly daily. Cabs are easy to get from the hotel.

Local supermarket is just across the road from the rear entrance.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ChanSooPing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doris H, General Manager at Dorsett Shanghai, responded to this review, 14 June 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your great comments of Dorsett Shanghai and stay experience sharing with other clients. We will continue to keep up the good work to servicing every guest in our hotel.
We look forward to having you back to Dorsett Shanghai!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
28 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 May 2013

We went to the Dorsett Shanghai during a 24 hour stopover between flights. It was perfect for our needs. They let us check in when we arrived, around 9 am. They let us have breakfast on arrival, as we would leave too early the following day. The room was nice (once we figured out how to work the curtain in the bathroom), there was complimentary bottled water, and the wifi worked. The TV had a few English channels.
As most reviewers have noted, the location right at the Metro door is perfect if you want to use public transport.
For us, the best part was the breakfast buffet, which was plentyful, varied, filling, and tasty. We even had room service for dinner, and we enjoyed that as well. We would definitely return if we are ever in Shanghai again.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cork95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doris H, General Manager at Dorsett Shanghai, responded to this review, 28 May 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for choosing Dorsett Shanghai at your recent stay in Shanghai, the hotel is standing from across the celebrated 150millionsquare metre Century Park, offers a picture-perfect view of the park and accessibility to major business and leisure points in the city. Guest can take a 5-minute taxi ride to Longyang Maglev Train station, to reach Pudong International Airport in 8-minute ride.
We look forward to having you stay at Dorsett Shanghai once again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
118 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 May 2013

The Dorsett's biggest attraction is the fact that you can get to and from it very easily. You can take the Metro from Pudong airport (line 2) and walk straight upstairs at the Century Park station to the side door of the hotel. Line 2 will also take you 10 minutes walk from the Bund (East Nanjing station). And if you are visiting the new Expo Centre fir a trade fair the hotel has a shuttle bus in the morning and it's a few stops down the line on the Metro back at night.
Rooms are OK but nothing special, wifi works, bar and restaurant are up to a standard but lack atmosphere. Staff very friendly and all do their job well.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking Century Park
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank john s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doris H, General Manager at Dorsett Shanghai, responded to this review, 28 May 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for sharing your stay experience at Dorsett Shanghai!
Our all day dining restaurant "Gusto on the Green" is overlooking the breathtaking view of Century Park, take delight in the fused flavours of east and west amidst the causal, yet elegant, surrounds of this distinctive cafe; guest enjoy the restaurant's peace and quiet, this is an ideal place for business association and/or friends gathering.
Chic and sassy, Fengshui Bar is a rendezvous of the "old and new", highlightes an antique Chinese opium bed-style seating and a bar built with multi-coloured glass that gives off a sensational spray of vibrant hues against a romantic atmosphere.
We look forward to welcoming you back to Dorsett Shanghai.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Shanghai hotels
Century Park
Jumeirah Himalayas Hotel Shanghai
Century Park
DoubleTree by Hilton Shanghai Pudong
Century Park
Grand Mercure Shanghai Century Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Century Park
Kerry Hotel Pudong Shanghai
Kerry Hotel Pudong Shanghai
#12 of 4,969 in Shanghai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 993 reviews
Courtyard Shanghai-Pudong
#47 of 4,969 in Shanghai
4.0 of 5 bubbles 513 reviews
Century Park
Jinjiang Inn (Shanghai Maglev Station)
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dorsett Shanghai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dorsett Shanghai

Property: Dorsett Shanghai
Address: No. 800 Hua Mu Road | Pudong New District, Shanghai 201204, China (Formerly Yue Shanghai Hotel)
Region: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai > Century Park , Shanghai New International Expo Center
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #69 of 4,969 Hotels in Shanghai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Dorsett Shanghai 4*
Number of rooms: 264
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of the dynamic Pudong new district, Dorsett Shanghai is facing Century Park, a peaceful oasis in the city. The hotel uniquely fuses modern design themes with Chinese elements and luxurious interiors. Guest rooms are ideally designed for relaxing or working, with comprehensive facilities complemented by the highest level of quality service. Over 80% of the rooms have balconies that offer stunning views of the city and Century Park. The hotel is a 15-minute walk from Shanghai New International Expo Center and Kerry Parkside, and adjacent to Metro Line 2 (Century Park metro station), making cross-town meetings and leisure activities a breeze: Lujiazhui Financial Area, Shanghai Aquarium,Oriental TV Tower (10 min), People’s Square, Nanjing Pedestrian Street and The Bund (15 min), Jinan Temple (22 minutes), Zhongshan Park (28 min), Hongqiao airport and train station (45 min), Pudong International airport (40 min by metro and 10 min by maglev train) The award-winning Dorsett Shanghai hotel is owned and managed by Dorsett Hospitality International (HKEx Stock code: 2266), one of Asia’s fastest-growing hotel groups, with a growing portfolio of hotels in key cities around the Asia region and the UK. Dorsett Shanghai is a member of WORLDHOTELS First Class Collection, which counts some 500 unique hotels in 70 countries worldwide in its membership roster. An exquisite experience starts the moment you step into our lobby - drenched with natural light by day and bursting with energy at night, decked with lively, hand-painted furnishings and warmed by our staff's genuine desire to assure that you have made the right choice of hotel on your visit.Yue Shanghai Hotel offers 264 guest rooms and suites, uniquely designed with vibrant colour themes and furnished with all the essentials modern travellers require – for doing business, to experience all the amazing features the metropolis has to offer or simply to chill out and "get away from it all".Spacious balconies in more than 80% of the rooms and suites provide windows to various vistas – the exciting flurry of the city in motion and the awesome, sweeping view of lush greens, winding walkways and a sprawling man-made lake that make up the famous Century Park.As part of our continuing effort to provide our guests with excellent facilities,in every guest room and suite, the latest in communications and entertainment facilities and other essentials are available – complimentary use high-speed and wireless internet access; at hotel lobby we have equipped two computers with internet access available for free use from 6:30am to 12:00 midnight. Dining options offer a culinary treat of regional cuisines; quaint cafes to while away lazy afternoons while a charming Oriental-inspired lounge provides welcome respite after a day's work. The hotel offers a conference and banquet facility for an exclusive venue for business and social events; a range of vital business services, conveniences as well as venues for recreation and relaxation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Ctrip TA, Expedia, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Dorsett Shanghai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing