We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beat Expectation”
Review of Dorsett Shanghai

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Dorsett Shanghai
Ranked #76 of 5,032 Hotels in Shanghai
Bangkok
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Beat Expectation”
Reviewed 23 November 2013

I stayed at Dorsett Shanghai for 1 night and was thoroughly impressed. First, the rate (through booking.com) was extremely reasonable at Y588 per night including 15% tax but not inclusive of breakfast. Second, the service was impeccable. Compared to my previous two nights at 88 XIntiandi which is more than double the price, Dorsett Shanghai's staff is much more attentive. You do feel that they all want to go the extra miles to help. Third, location is extremely convenient to get around the city as it is right next to Line 2 at Century Park. Although I didn't feel right I am in Shanghai at all as it is right opposite Century Park and most surrounding buildings are relatively low rise. Fourth, the room is nicely decorated and has everything that you would want in a hotel room - strong water pressure, crisp linens, good and free wifi signal, large TV with decent English programs and clean. Perhaps two negative comments that I may have about the room are the hardness of the bed/pillow and the cleanliness of the sink (it was clean but not 5 out of 5). All in all I would highly recommend Dorsett Shanghai if you need a value for money and convenient base for when you are in Shanghai for shopping or visiting the Shanghai Expo (which I did).

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jj388
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

423 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    116
    231
    60
    7
    9
See reviews for
25
53
35
230
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
104 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 November 2013

Stayed there in October for about a week.
Why I like it:
1. convenient location and easy access
I am a big fan of public transit -- in any major city. Dorsett is right off the exit from Line-2 Century Park (exit 4). Taxi is plenty in Shanghai, but have the easy access by subway is a big plus, especially when you need to go out during the rush hour.
With the easy access, you are no more than 20 min from anywhere of the city access.
2. Location
The hotel is right across street from Century Park, sort of like next to Central Park in NYC. It is probably one of the best area (air quality, cleanness, etc) in this huge city.
3. Room and amenity
It has comfortable room, good internet access (speed wise). Not much you can ask for, in a mid level hotel.
4. Breakfast
The choice and selection is decent, suitable for both domestic and Western taste.
5. Cost
Very reasonable for this area

What I miss:
1. AC is turned off for the season
In October, it is cool outside, but the room is still a little hot (and humid), AC is off, only blows air (and it is weak). I have to have the window open most of all the time to have the room cool
2. No coin laundry
This is not very convenient for long stay -- i stayed there for 9 days, the laundry service ain't cheap, and I am not fond of have someone else doing my underwear.

Over all, This is a good hotel to stay, I highly recommend it.

Room Tip: If you are lucky, ask for a Park view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SiqingWei
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
31 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 November 2013

I have stayed here a couple of times - earlier when it was called YUE SHANGHAI - since a year now DORSETT Shanghai
Great location if you visit Shnghai for a trade show.A 5-7 mins ride by cab and if in the evening you see more touts than cabs...just start walking in 20-30 mins at a leisurely you shall reach the hotel - if hungry stop by at a pizza hut or dominos enroute for a quick bite
This hotel sits above a MRT station.Never realised its utility until last evening of my this trip to Shanghai....went to the famous shopping area by train,,,
The hotel staff is very courteous and they ensure that the cab gets verbal and written instructions when you leave the hotel. Rooms are spacious and comfortable.The breakfast is 4/5 A great place indeed...I shall visit again for sure.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AKS2013AKS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 October 2013

Excellent hotel! Only a 15 min walk from expo centre or 5mins by taxi. 3 free shuttles to expo centre daily! Post office nearby. Awesome breakfast. Friendly, helpful staff. Fluent English. Clean rooms.

Room Tip: Higher floors have great views and non smoking
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Pieter667
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
86 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 October 2013

Stayed here for 4 nights in an upgraded room.

Pros:
- Proximity to subway (right above Century Park Station)
- Supermarket, convenience store and small shops nearby
- Friendly staff

Cons:
- Poor room layout. The room we got upgraded to (room no. 1604) was a corner room with many windows and a balcony. The bed is positioned right between and below 2 windows, such that even after we drew the curtains, light still seeped through the gaps and shone right into our eyes early in the morning.
- Poor quality windows. Granted the room was very bright but it being a typhoon day, the windows and balcony door rattled loudly against the wind. Informed the hotel and they sent a lady up from the housekeeping who basically told us nothing could be done about the noise. Another staff told me it's due to the fact that the windows were not the "vacuum-sealed" quality type. We've not experienced this anywhere before. In the end, the Husband simply solved the problem by stuffing tissue between the window and door gaps as buffer.
- Traffic noise. We were told that the room has a park view which was nice but also means that its facing the main road. The poor quality of the windows and position of the bed (right below the windows) did not help in cutting down the traffic noise and incessant honking.
- Room interior looked a little worn especially the bathroom. There were water stains on the sink counter top and stains on the bathroom sliding door. Could be due to improper cleaning or poor quality of the materials used which allow water seepage.
- Inexperienced housekeeping staff & inconsistent service. Housekeeping staff who manned the phone could not understand basic English.
We switched the "Do not disturb" sign to "Please make up room" and informed housekeeping to come after 5pm. When we came back at about 10+pm, room was still not made up.
Old hand towels were removed but not replaced with fresh ones.
Tea bags were not replenished.
- Obscured entrance. Cab drivers are not familiar with this hotel and completely missed it when we arrived on the first day. We had to direct cabbies every time we took a cab back.
- Small & crowded breakfast room with decent choices.

We could have asked to change to another room but we'd unpacked and I overheard that they were booked out.... I peeped into a neighbouring room and it looked ok, at least position of the bed is better than our corner room.

Overall, more like a better local Chinese hotel than an international (hong kong) chain.

Room Tip: Do not take room 1604 if you are a light sleeper.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kopi-O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 October 2013

We had a wonderful stay at the Dorsett Shanghai. We watch the fireworks from our room on the 19th floor. The room was a bit small but very well appointed. The bathroom was lovely with mood lighting. There is supermarket very close to the hotel and the underground is just next to it. Only reason I did not give it 5 stars is that the first lady we spoke to at reception got it wrong with our reservation and was very abrupt. But her colleague was very nice when I ask to change our room.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Isa086
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
222 reviews
107 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 October 2013

Located really close to the Maglev, so we chose this hotel due to our late arrival time, and weren't too disappointed. Check-in was a bit of a mess, and it took them about 10 minutes to find my reservation. I had to make a few suggestions, and ended up sending them my voucher via email and settling it in the morning. The hotel is literally on top of the metro station (1-stop from the Maglev) which is incredibly convenient.

Breakfast was fine, but we were here on a Chinese holiday, which meant that it was excessively crowded and noisy. There were some staff roaming around, but they were way too busy and understaffed. Food was fine, albeit limited because there was just too many people. Fruits were nice, though.

The room was fine, too. Kings were unavailable, so we had to settle for two singles, which were fine. On the other hand, the bathroom was just weird. The shower leaked water onto the floor (poor design) and the counter lit up green, but just looked dumb. Sticking to basic design would have served them much better.

All is fine here. If you get a good rate, it's good for sleep and breakfast. I wouldn't recommend it for much longer than that, unless you want to stay in a bedroom community right next to Century Park. We just happened to be staying in the hotel during the fireworks, which were right in front of us. They were huge and awesome, so close that they shook the building and set off car alarms.

Room Tip: Park views are better, but "city" view was fine too.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank manh_attan04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Shanghai hotels
Century Park
Jumeirah Himalayas Hotel Shanghai
Century Park
Grand Mercure Shanghai Century Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Century Park
Kerry Hotel Pudong Shanghai
Kerry Hotel Pudong Shanghai
#14 of 5,032 in Shanghai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,033 reviews
Century Park
Renaissance Shanghai Pudong Hotel
Century Park
Crowne Plaza Century Park Shanghai
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dorsett Shanghai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dorsett Shanghai

Property: Dorsett Shanghai
Address: No. 800 Hua Mu Road | Pudong New District, Shanghai 201204, China (Formerly Yue Shanghai Hotel)
Region: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai > Century Park , Shanghai New International Expo Center
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #76 of 5,032 Hotels in Shanghai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Dorsett Shanghai 4*
Number of rooms: 264
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of the dynamic Pudong new district, Dorsett Shanghai is facing Century Park, a peaceful oasis in the city. The hotel uniquely fuses modern design themes with Chinese elements and luxurious interiors. Guest rooms are ideally designed for relaxing or working, with comprehensive facilities complemented by the highest level of quality service. Over 80% of the rooms have balconies that offer stunning views of the city and Century Park. The hotel is a 15-minute walk from Shanghai New International Expo Center and Kerry Parkside, and adjacent to Metro Line 2 (Century Park metro station), making cross-town meetings and leisure activities a breeze: Lujiazhui Financial Area, Shanghai Aquarium,Oriental TV Tower (10 min), People’s Square, Nanjing Pedestrian Street and The Bund (15 min), Jinan Temple (22 minutes), Zhongshan Park (28 min), Hongqiao airport and train station (45 min), Pudong International airport (40 min by metro and 10 min by maglev train) The award-winning Dorsett Shanghai hotel is owned and managed by Dorsett Hospitality International (HKEx Stock code: 2266), one of Asia’s fastest-growing hotel groups, with a growing portfolio of hotels in key cities around the Asia region and the UK. Dorsett Shanghai is a member of WORLDHOTELS First Class Collection, which counts some 500 unique hotels in 70 countries worldwide in its membership roster. An exquisite experience starts the moment you step into our lobby - drenched with natural light by day and bursting with energy at night, decked with lively, hand-painted furnishings and warmed by our staff's genuine desire to assure that you have made the right choice of hotel on your visit.Yue Shanghai Hotel offers 264 guest rooms and suites, uniquely designed with vibrant colour themes and furnished with all the essentials modern travellers require – for doing business, to experience all the amazing features the metropolis has to offer or simply to chill out and "get away from it all".Spacious balconies in more than 80% of the rooms and suites provide windows to various vistas – the exciting flurry of the city in motion and the awesome, sweeping view of lush greens, winding walkways and a sprawling man-made lake that make up the famous Century Park.As part of our continuing effort to provide our guests with excellent facilities,in every guest room and suite, the latest in communications and entertainment facilities and other essentials are available – complimentary use high-speed and wireless internet access; at hotel lobby we have equipped two computers with internet access available for free use from 6:30am to 12:00 midnight. Dining options offer a culinary treat of regional cuisines; quaint cafes to while away lazy afternoons while a charming Oriental-inspired lounge provides welcome respite after a day's work. The hotel offers a conference and banquet facility for an exclusive venue for business and social events; a range of vital business services, conveniences as well as venues for recreation and relaxation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Dorsett Shanghai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing