We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Damn, I forgot to rate this!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Jumeirah Himalayas Hotel Shanghai
Ranked #14 of 5,161 Hotels in Shanghai
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 July 2013

I was in China for business back in April and this was the conference hotel. Beautiful, austere, modern, efficient, friendly, elegant. Best place I've stayed at. Terrific location on top of a subway stop that allowed me to visit anyplace in Shanghai. The breakfast and dinner buffets are to die for. When I visit China again I will stay here again. Though tipping is not generally recognized in China, you'll want to tip here. Superb staff. This spa is other worldly. I almost expected to see Sean Connery working out next to me. I imagine my buff body probably intimidated him though.

Room Tip: I imagine all rooms are elegant. Higher up of course is always the best view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TheZipMeister
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JR_Hotel_Manager, General Manager at Jumeirah Himalayas Hotel Shanghai, responded to this reviewResponded 10 July 2013

Dear TheZipMeister,

Thank you very much for your recommendation on Trip Advisor, following your recent stay at Jumeirah Himalayas Shanghai.

It is indeed very gratifying to learn that you appreciated the hotel and the service levels you experienced, for which Jumeirah is renowned. Your kind comment about your breakfast and dinner buffet experiences are also highly appreciated.
Thank you once again for your kind words. We certainly look forward to welcoming you back at Jumeirah Himalayas, hopefully in the very near future.

Sincerely,
John Roberts
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (746)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

396 - 402 of 746 reviews

Reviewed 6 July 2013

I recently stayed at the Jumeirah Himalayas hotel in Shanghai and I have to say it's the one of the best hotel experiences I have had, not just in Shanghai, but in the world. Their attention to details is second to none, their customer service is exceptional and everyone is treated like a VIP guest!

The hotel in Shanghai is authentically Chinese inside, capturing the cultural beauty of the region. Ask someone about the ancient pergola in the middle of the lobby and who it belonged to and also ask the meaning of the tibetan scripture written high around the walls of the lobby.

The staff are very welcoming, gretting at the entrance all day, every day and ensuring you are well looked after. Even a drink in the bar has been well thought out, with world renowned drinks available and complimentary snacks as you are seated.

As I said, one of the best hotel experiences in the world! Highly recommended.

Trevor McLachlan

Room Tip: Ask for a corner room for the best views!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TrevorM1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JR_Hotel_Manager, General Manager at Jumeirah Himalayas Hotel Shanghai, responded to this reviewResponded 10 July 2013

Dear TrevorM1972,
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback on Tripadvisor following your recent stay in Jumeirah Himalayas Shanghai.

We are delighted to read that enjoyed your stay so much, and very much appreciate such a positive review of the facilities and service. It is very gratifying to know that we met and perhaps even exceeded expectations on a variety of issues. I am particularly glad that you enjoyed the art and design elements – we are very proud of the Chinese heritage of the design, and the blend with modern features to deliver e unique product. Perhaps on your next stay you may also enjoy the Lobby iPod art tour program. With the support of Apple, the hotel lends iPod nano pre-loaded with information in English and Mandarin featuring the artworks on display and explaining the Feng Shui elements of the hotel.

Thanks you once again, TrevorM1972, for your comments. We certainly look forward to welcoming you back to Jumeirah Himalayas in the near future.

Sincerely,
John Roberts
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2013 via mobile

Stayed in the hotel for ten nights for a work event so can't comment on value for money but I can say that the service and rooms were an excellent standard!
The staff couldn't do more for me...very friendly and the personal touches in the room were great!
Also loved the breakfast buffet :)

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sundreamer85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JR_Hotel_Manager, General Manager at Jumeirah Himalayas Hotel Shanghai, responded to this reviewResponded 10 July 2013

Dear Sundreamer85,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback on Tripadvisor, following your recent stay in Jumeirah Himalayas Shanghai.

I really appreciate very much your acknowledgement of such positive elements of your stay – in particular the rooms and service. I will be sure to pass on your comments to all departments, so that they may share them with the people who contributed to your enjoyment of your stay. They will find such a positive review of the hotel and of their work very motivating.

Thank you once again for your comments. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Jumeirah Himalayas in the very near future.

Sincerely,
John Roberts
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2013

Its a classy hotel and ideally located near a convention center.

Location is very beautiful. Rooms are very good, and ambience is very good.

GYM is very good. There is a good Indian restaurant near hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Amit S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JR_Hotel_Manager, General Manager at Jumeirah Himalayas Hotel Shanghai, responded to this reviewResponded 10 July 2013

Dear Amit S,

Thank you for staying with us at Jumeirah Himalayas Shanghai and for taking the time to post a review on Trip Advisor.

I am very pleased to learn that you enjoyed your stay, and appreciate your positive feedback on so many aspects of the hotel.

We certainly look forward to welcoming you back to Jumeirah Himalayas Shanghai, hopefully in the very near future.

Sincerely,
John Roberts
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2013

I had a wonderful time in the Jumeirah. It is certainly the best hotel I have ever stayed in, and I was made to feel like a princess throughout my stay. I stayed in a suite where everything was super clean, tidy, it was light, the bathroom was outstanding, the bed was extraordinary, the house keeping was impeccable...the hotel facilities are also excellent, with a gym, indoor pool, sauna, hot baths, ice room...room service is always on time and the food is really tasty. All in all, my stay in Shanghai was perfect thanks to this hotel.

I cannot help but feel jealous of those ones heading to the Jumeirah! and I really hope I can go back some time in the future.

Room Tip: I stayed in a room I think they call a business suite on the 16th floor and I could not have asked f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Martacarolina79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JR_Hotel_Manager, General Manager at Jumeirah Himalayas Hotel Shanghai, responded to this reviewResponded 28 June 2013

Dear Martacarolina79,

Thank you so much for taking the time to post your feedback with regards to your recent stay at Jumeirah Himalayas Shanghai.

I am delighted to learn that you thoroughly enjoyed the facilities and services in the hotel. Our team is very focused on extending the highest level of service to our guests and I am so pleased that the results are apparent. I have passed your feedback onto the rest of the team – they will find it very motivating, especially the colleagues from Housekeeping and In-room Dining.

Once again, thank you for making Jumeirah Himalayas your destination of choice in Shanghai, and we certainly look forward to welcoming you back in the very near future.

Sincerely,
John Roberts
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2013

Excellent stay at the Jumeriah Himalayas. Conveniently located in between Pudong Airport and the city, next to the Expo Centre. The hotel is impressive from both the outside as the inside. When you enter the lobby there is a massive dragonboat made out of African rosewood on display. The lobby is furthermore decorated with a private Chinese art collection, antique pagoda (used for performances) and a 16 metre high LED ceiling showing colourful animations. The hotel blends Chinese heritage with a modern vision, all according the Feng Shui philosophy.

Check in was done in room and I was allocated a Grande Deluxe Suite, with very classy furniture, again mixing authentic chinese style with a modern vision. High quality bathroom amenities, large LED tv and comfortable bed with luxury bedding. Ample powerpoints to charge your devices, USB and HDMI connections and free wireless internet throughout the hotel.

Service was great, friendly staff who was very pro active, tables regularly cleared during dinner and breakfast. Plenty of high quality food options to choose from (Grillroom, Japanese, Chinese or an all day dining venue serving excellent buffets), all very reaasonably priced.

The gym was very well equipped with state of the art Technogym equipment, sauna’s, fire and ice rooms and hot stone baths and even a hot yoga room! The Spa offered a variety of treatments (did not try them) and a lap pool complements the wellness offerings.

Jumeirah has succeeded in creating a modern luxury hotel infused with authentic Chinese toches and Feng Shui elements.

Room Tip: The hotel offers many room types, ask for a corner room if possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GlavK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JR_Hotel_Manager, General Manager at Jumeirah Himalayas Hotel Shanghai, responded to this reviewResponded 17 June 2013

Dear GlavK,

Thank you for sharing your experience from your recent stay with us at Jumeirah Himalayas Shanghai on Tripadvisor. We appreciate your comments and support.

I am pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and you were happy with the services provided by our colleagues. Thank you for acknowledging so many positive elements about the hotel from the check-in to the lobby and restaurant experiences, through to the design of the rooms and the facilities for the gym. I have shared you comments with the team and they are equally happy to hear that you had an enjoyable stay with us.

Once again, thank you for taking the time to post this wonderful and detailed review on Tripadvisor. We look forward to welcoming you back on your return to Jumeirah Himalayas Shanghai.

Sincerely,
John Roberts
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2013

This is a great hotel, but living in Dubai we are used to the high standard that Jumeirah sets. Our room was wonderful but we found that the staff struggled to understand English and therefor could not always meet our needs. We hope that as the hotel gains experience this will improve....we are huge Jumeirah fans and will definitely visit again.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank M D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JR_Hotel_Manager, General Manager at Jumeirah Himalayas Hotel Shanghai, responded to this reviewResponded 17 June 2013

Dear M D,

Thank you for staying with us at Jumeirah Himalayas Shanghai and for taking the time to write a review on Trip Advisor.

I was very pleased to learn that you enjoyed your stay with us. It is good to know that you enjoyed the facilities, and especially the rooms. I do note your comment concerning the English level you experienced, and do apologize that you found this detracted from your overall enjoyment of your stay. This is indeed an ongoing focus for our training and staff development efforts, and as you mention, I do hope that you will find the language less of a barrier when you visit again in the future

We certainly look forward to welcoming you back to Jumeirah Himalayas Shanghai, hopefully in the very near future.

Sincerely,
John Roberts
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Shanghai hotels
People’s Square
Shanghai Marriott Hotel City Centre
Lujiazui
Grand Kempinski Hotel Shanghai
Lujiazui
Mandarin Oriental Pudong, Shanghai
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Lujiazui
Grand Hyatt Shanghai
Grand Hyatt Shanghai
#34 of 5,161 in Shanghai
2,454 reviews
Century Park
Kerry Hotel Pudong Shanghai
Kerry Hotel Pudong Shanghai
#20 of 5,161 in Shanghai
1,129 reviews
The Bund
Les Suites Orient, Bund Shanghai
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jumeirah Himalayas Hotel Shanghai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jumeirah Himalayas Hotel Shanghai

Address: No. 1108 Mei Hua Road, Pudong New District, Shanghai 201204, China
Region: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai > Century Park , Shanghai New International Expo Center
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 5,161 Hotels in Shanghai
Price Range: £112 - £253 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Jumeirah Himalayas Hotel Shanghai 5*
Number of rooms: 393
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Jumeirah Himalayas Hotel Shanghai is perfectly placed for business and leisure. Located in the heart of Pudong, the hotel is directly opposite the Shanghai New International Expo Centre and close to the green expanse of Century Park. Metro line 7 is accessed directly from the basement of the Himalayas Centre, allowing easy citywide connections. The Maglev train station is just a short walk away for speedy seven-minute transfers to/from Pudong International Airport. Construction of the Himalayas Centre started in 2006 under the direction of world-renowned architect Arata Isozaki, who also created the Barcelona Olympic Stadium and Los Angeles MoMA. Jumeirah Himalayas Hotel opened in March 2011. Inspired by Chinese cultural elements and traditional feng shui principles, architect Arata Isozaki designed the landmark Himalayas Center, where Jumeirah Himalayas Hotel is located. A three-dimensional Urban Forest comprising dramatically sculpted columns defines the central section of the Himalayas Centre. It also carries an important loading capacity function and provides an arresting entrance to the Jumeirah Himalayas Hotel. Tien Shu Patterned Walls Wrapped around the base of the two towers presents a conceptual interpretation of ancient Chinese characters from the Tien Shu by Cang Jie. Special windows have also been custom made to subtly insert between the characters allowing light to flood the hotel interiors. The Jumeirah Himalayas Hotel tower is constructed in the form of the Yu Cong, an ancient Chinese ritual object formed from an outer square representing earth, and inner circle representing heaven. The cylindrical atrium stretches 14 levels through the centre of the tower. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jumeirah International, Ctrip TA, Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Jumeirah Himalayas Hotel Shanghai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing