We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent - one of the best”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Jumeirah Himalayas Hotel Shanghai
Ranked #14 of 5,159 Hotels in Shanghai
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 September 2013

Excellent hotel with great service. Fantastic rooms - spacious, great beds, great bath and shower. Very good service, no matter during the day or in the middle of the night (emirates departure or arrival). Great food for breakfast. Good drinks selection at bar. Good wifi. Excellent staff - you get mooncakes at mid-autumn festival, and a cake for your birthday. Excellent location, next to metro stop and just across the road from office and shopping centre - easy access for our local office...

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WolverhamptonBessie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_John_Roberts, General Manager at Jumeirah Himalayas Hotel Shanghai, responded to this reviewResponded 25 September 2013

Dear WolverhamptonBessie,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback on TripAdvisor.

I was delighted to read that you had enjoyable stay with Jumeirah Himalayas Shanghai, and that you were pleased with the service and facilities, and especially that you found the staff helpful and pleasant. I appreciate you recommending Jumeirah Himalayas Shanghai very much, and I do hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back again in the near future.

Sincerely,
John Roberts
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (734)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

367 - 373 of 734 reviews

Reviewed 16 September 2013

I would highly recommend the Jumeirah Himalayas - top notch 5* star quality, as opposed to some of the local chains that claim to be 5*. The staff are warm, friendly, and go out of the way to accommodate requests. The rooms are very spacious, aesthetically well designed and modern. There is a metro line bang opposite the road - so commuting to the city center isn't an issue. In addition, there are well priced local eateries within 2 minutes of walking distance. Would definitely use this hotel for my next stay in Shanghai.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BubblyMiles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_John_Roberts, General Manager at Jumeirah Himalayas Hotel Shanghai, responded to this reviewResponded 25 September 2013

Dear Sidney R,

Thank you for posting your review on your recent stay at Jumeirah Himalayas Shanghai. I appreciate you taking the time to do so.

I am delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay so much, and very much appreciate such a positive review of the facilities and service. It is very gratifying to know that we met and perhaps even exceeded expectations on a variety of issues. I am particularly glad that you enjoyed the art and design elements – we are very proud of the Chinese heritage of the design, and the blend with modern features to deliver a unique product. We are happy to have had such an impact on your visits, and I will certainly pass your comments onto the many departments that help to create the experience of your stay. Your words will not only motivate our colleagues, but inspire the entire team at Jumeirah Himalayas to continue providing the best service experience.

We do look forward to welcoming you back in the not too distant future. And, once again, thank you so much for your comments and support.

Sincerely,
John Roberts
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2013

When you visit China, you are almost prepared to face certain language and culture driven challenges. Even in certain expensive hotels in the metro cities of China (including Beijing) I have stayed earlier, these are challenges which haunt you for the entire stay.

Jumeirah hotel makes a successful attempt in overcoming this common issue and the overall experience is just great. The staff is courteous, speaks good English and the number of staff is just excellent, be it the reception or the floor service.
Thumbs Up from my side !!

Room Tip: Better to check the location of the AC vent. If visiting in summer time, it can be quite hot.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ashutoshmagus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2013 via mobile

I was there for 24hours n i enjoyed my stay soo much since i stepped in the room which i call a suite, a very well equipped room, very comfy bed, the view i had was average but lt didnt really matter, close to the markets, nice food n helpful staffs n from the hotel u get direct access to a mall n a food court

Thank Sabrine T
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
GM_John_Roberts, General Manager at Jumeirah Himalayas Hotel Shanghai, responded to this reviewResponded 16 September 2013

Dear Sabrine T,

Thank you for posting your review on TripAdvisor, following your recent stay at Jumeirah Himalayas Shanghai.

I am very pleased to see that you were so happy with your stay in the hotel. Thank you for acknowledging so many positive elements of your stay - especially the hotel facilities and the hosipitality of our colleagues.

We certainly look forward to welcoming you back to Jumeirah Himalayas Shanghai, hopefully in the very near future.

Sincerely,

John Roberts
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 4 September 2013

One of the best hotels in Shanghai, I would recommend it to anyone. The rooms are very spacious and well decorated. The gym is great and the spa is amazing. The staff at the Jumeirah Himalayas are very friendly and attentive, it's just great.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WallysTrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2013

It was really amazing hotel to stay-!
Gym is so wide and clean, nice atmosphere to work out. Swimming pool is really huge~!
And spa is the best!!!! They have ICE room, Steam sauna, and nice jaccuzi. next to it there's towel and sunbed. Staff are so kind~! Thank you~!
But I don't like bath room in the room. It's all cover with glass. I went there with my friend, so when I take shawer there's no personal area.. all visible..;; It is different color from the mid- even... there's no curten or something to close. But except that, It was really good stay.

Room Tip: you have to ensure your door is closed. Because door is not close properly if you just let it close...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 700heather
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2013

One of the best hotels in Shanghai, I would recommend it to anyone. The rooms are very spacious and well decorated. The staff at the Jumeirah Himalayas are very friendly and attentive, it's just great.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank IcedRainbow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Shanghai hotels
People’s Square
Shanghai Marriott Hotel City Centre
Lujiazui
Mandarin Oriental Pudong, Shanghai
Lujiazui
Grand Kempinski Hotel Shanghai
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Lujiazui
Grand Hyatt Shanghai
Grand Hyatt Shanghai
#32 of 5,159 in Shanghai
2,431 reviews
Century Park
Kerry Hotel Pudong Shanghai
Kerry Hotel Pudong Shanghai
#20 of 5,159 in Shanghai
1,105 reviews
The Bund
Les Suites Orient, Bund Shanghai
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jumeirah Himalayas Hotel Shanghai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jumeirah Himalayas Hotel Shanghai

Address: No. 1108 Mei Hua Road, Pudong New District, Shanghai 201204, China
Region: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai > Century Park , Shanghai New International Expo Center
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 5,159 Hotels in Shanghai
Price Range: £119 - £250 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Jumeirah Himalayas Hotel Shanghai 5*
Number of rooms: 393
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Jumeirah Himalayas Hotel Shanghai is perfectly placed for business and leisure. Located in the heart of Pudong, the hotel is directly opposite the Shanghai New International Expo Centre and close to the green expanse of Century Park. Metro line 7 is accessed directly from the basement of the Himalayas Centre, allowing easy citywide connections. The Maglev train station is just a short walk away for speedy seven-minute transfers to/from Pudong International Airport. Construction of the Himalayas Centre started in 2006 under the direction of world-renowned architect Arata Isozaki, who also created the Barcelona Olympic Stadium and Los Angeles MoMA. Jumeirah Himalayas Hotel opened in March 2011. Inspired by Chinese cultural elements and traditional feng shui principles, architect Arata Isozaki designed the landmark Himalayas Center, where Jumeirah Himalayas Hotel is located. A three-dimensional Urban Forest comprising dramatically sculpted columns defines the central section of the Himalayas Centre. It also carries an important loading capacity function and provides an arresting entrance to the Jumeirah Himalayas Hotel. Tien Shu Patterned Walls Wrapped around the base of the two towers presents a conceptual interpretation of ancient Chinese characters from the Tien Shu by Cang Jie. Special windows have also been custom made to subtly insert between the characters allowing light to flood the hotel interiors. The Jumeirah Himalayas Hotel tower is constructed in the form of the Yu Cong, an ancient Chinese ritual object formed from an outer square representing earth, and inner circle representing heaven. The cylindrical atrium stretches 14 levels through the centre of the tower. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jumeirah International, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Jumeirah Himalayas Hotel Shanghai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing