We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“"Not recommended at all"” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Holiday Inn Express Sanlin Shanghai

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Holiday Inn Express Sanlin Shanghai
Ranked #1,665 of 4,966 Hotels in Shanghai
Columbia, Maryland
2 reviews
“"Not recommended at all"”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2013

Hotel staff was friendly and price was good this is why I gave 2 stars, otherwise I'd given 1 star.
1. Hotel is not clean at all, including rooms and breakfast area.
2. Breakfast is only attractive to Chinese people I guess, because I don't like to eat pork buns or rice in the morning. There wasn't any options. I ate cucumber and small tomatoes.
3. There is not refrigerator in the room.
4. A/C was not working. I called the hotel staff, they said it is working and I need to wait. Next day It is still not working it never came down from 27C (80F). I talked to the receptionist, he send someone to change filters, etc. They said it is working now and it is fixed. Next morning I called the manager and told him it has been working all night and still it is 27C. He gave me some explanation about central system and other bull. I told him if he can provide me another room or fix it so that it will be around 20C or not. He can provide another room. I told him to get the room to 20C and then I'll move. He said it is not possible, because of the central system, etc. same bull. I just checked out and went to a different hotel.
5. I gave my suit for dry clean service. It took more than a day to get it back, and it was not done properly.
6. Wireless internet is very very slow. It does not work most of the time.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

87 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    13
    44
    17
    8
    5
See reviews for
3
1
6
31
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Elkhart, Indiana
Level Contributor
55 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 May 2013

I stayed for a night on a business trip. Compared to other international hotel brands in Shanghai, this is an excellent value. It's reasonably located, about 45 minutes to Shanghai Hongqiao airport. I wil stay again.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Scott C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
92 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 March 2013

This is a clean and fairly new hotel. We stayed as part of a large group and actually stayed on two separate occasions one week apart (so the hotel was organized by someone else). We arrived ahead of the main group and were quickly checked in (the ability of some of the front desk to speak and understand English varied, though some staff were very fluent and if you're patient and clear, you will be understood) and got our room. The rooms are well designed and have very large walk-in showers. The beds are quite hard, this seems to be the norm for China. Breakfast was a mostly Chinese selection which I personally quite liked (makes a change from rubbery scrambled egg). The hotel rate is very reasonable. Wifi was strong in the lobby, where there are also PCs for use, less so in the rooms.

The really big downside to this hotel is the location, in a suburb of Shanghai some distance from major downtown attractions. Plenty of good quality local restaurants are nearby. English is virtually non-existent, but you can always get by and prices are excellent for good fresh food. There's also a large WalMart across the street and also in the surrounding area lots of shops and a street market selling good fresh food.

However, if your main aim is to visit Shanghai downtown then this hotel is a poor choice. It's a good 20 minute walk to the closest subway station, or you can take a very cheap bus. The hotel is located right next to a bus station. However, if you're not able to read Chinese then the buses can be quite intimidating since not all buses are numbered! We were quite happy to walk to the subway stop.

While the hotel itself, and the surrounding area, are perfectly fine the location so far from downtown Shanghai would prevent me from booking this hotel myself. Our group was 80-strong and this may have been the only hotel able to accommodate us all. A taxi from Pudong airport was about 150 yuan, and a similar price to downtown Shanghai if you didn't want to take public transport. If your work needs bring you to this hotel then it's fine, but don't choose it for a vacation.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nitten_Traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hurstville, Australia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 March 2012

This could be a better place if it's managed properly. We encountered the following problems during our stay;
- all rooms seems to be smoking despite the sign shows no smoking
- management cast a blind eye on guests who smoke in their rooms, some even leave their room door open so that the hall way is full smell of cigarette.
- no hot water during busy hours
- reception seems to be nice over the phone but very slow in rectifying issues. The simple and only solution they have is just to wait.
- overall cleanliness of this hotel is poor.
- broken kettle that doesn't switch off when boiling

Room Tip: Avoid unless you are a smoker yourself.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sakuraii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Shanghai hotels

Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2011

Nice hotel and Economically priced , and situated near to International convention center of Shanghai. The staff speak pretty good English , helpful , and good service. But the breakfast seems pretty disappointing. So few western menu. Pretty new hotel, but far from the city center. The hotel is located about 30 minutes by Taxi from the airport and same to City Center like Nanjing road etc.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dream_Traveller005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guangzhou, China
Level Contributor
47 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 March 2011

I use Holiday Inn in Nanjing very often and this was quite different and disappointing. However, I also use Ibis for it's low price and basic standards. Holiday Inn Express, Sanlin is comparable to the Ibis chain. So if you're on a tight travel budget, I think it's worth the compromise.

Highlights-
- Breakfast was terrible.
- Bathroom design for sharing a room.
- Front desk courtesy, helpfulness
- Location from SH city center.
- Location from subway.
- No iron so I'm sure other details are missing
- Linens and towels are low grade
+ Location has plenty of food options around but mostly fast food, WalMart also.
+ Bed is softer than the normal Chinese hotels.
+ Ipod dock alarm clock.
+ Elevator has security system with your room key.
+ Good WiFi in the rooms
+ Good TV channel selections

Details-
If you are trying to sight-see in SH, I strongly do not suggest this hotel. It's far removed from the city center and in the 'burbs. I used this location because it's a short drive to our office location. Breakfast is included but seriously bad. It's all traditional Chinese foods except toast and coffee, which I'm happy to eat but everything was of poor quality- overcooked or too cold. Things looked clean but very sloppy and there's not enough seating no matter what time you get to the dining area. Front desk was rude to my Chinese coworker and does not know enough English if you're limited. Big ah-ha, there's not an iron to be borrowed in the hotel. Who doesn't have at least 1 iron for community use?? It's also an indication when you see the shower and the bathroom have those refillable soap dispensers like you see in the gym showers or public restrooms' sinks. I will give kudos to the bed and pillow. It was surprisingly soft and so I slept through the night. Also they had an ipod dock, which was a huge surprise given everything else. Last bad design is their bathroom. There's one door that swings to close the whole bathroom or to served as the shower door. That's cool for a single bed room but we were staying in a 2 double bed room... if you want 2 beds, wouldn't you think privacy is also expected regarding the bathroom area? Wow, come on. Anyhow, it's a better value than the Da Muzhi Ibis that I used to use but don't expect anywhere close to the usual China Holiday Inn experience.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EZE2525
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Shanghai hotels
The Bund
Les Suites Orient, Bund Shanghai
Lujiazui
Mandarin Oriental Pudong, Shanghai
People’s Square
Shanghai Marriott Hotel City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
People’s Square
Radisson Blu Hotel Shanghai New World
Shanghai Railway Station
Pullman Shanghai Jing An
Pullman Shanghai Jing An
#58 of 4,966 in Shanghai
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,602 reviews
Old Town
SSAW Boutique Hotel Shanghai Bund
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Sanlin Shanghai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Sanlin Shanghai

Property: Holiday Inn Express Sanlin Shanghai
Address: No.215 Taihuan Road, Pudong New District, Shanghai 200123, China
Region: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1,665 of 4,966 Hotels in Shanghai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Sanlin Shanghai 3*
Number of rooms: 298
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Sanlin Shanghai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Sanlin Shanghai Hotel Shanghai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing