We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Hotel with spectacular View”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Ritz-Carlton Shanghai, Pudong
Ranked #3 of 5,222 Hotels in Shanghai
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 September 2011

One of the best I have stayed in so far. The rooms were modern and Luxurious and the view from the room was spectacular. The location too was perfect too since it was closer to Pearl Tower, the bund and other places in the city we were visiting. I will definitely stay here when I visit Shanghai next time.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank CAASG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,798)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,140 - 1,146 of 1,798 reviews

Reviewed 27 August 2011

Very nice service in club floor both food and staff, I always have meal in hotel's
restaurant , however Itilian restaurant still not satisfied by me and friend in this five star int'l hotel!

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2011

Stayed 2 nights.nice pool,breakfast and the rooftop bar.Don't forget to visit the bar at night. hotel guests don't have to pay minimum charge for the bar's outdoor table.

  • Stayed: August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ilovetrip111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2011

Our stay at the Ritz Carlton Pudong was lovely. We stayed in a deluxe room and later upgraded to Bund room. Both rooms were modern and luxurious with amazing views. The service was impeccable. The concierge patiently answered all my questions and trust me I had many. Location was excellent. Walking distance to Superbrand mall, Oriental pearl tower, Aquarium and river front. Breakfast catered for all tastes. We will definitely stay there if we visit Shanghai again.
Please see my blog post for a more detailed review on the hotel:
http://thirtysumting.wordpress.com/2011/08/05/review-ritz-carlton-shanghai-pudong/

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank thirtysumting
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2011

The Shanghai bund view is really very beautiful! Sitting in the club lounge, and drinking some soft drink, that is amazing! If you will come to Shanghai Pudong, you must stay in the
Ritz-Carlton Shanghai Pudong.

Room Tip: The primer view suite is the best one!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cicielaine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2011

I stayed 2 nights at the Ritz Carlton in Pudong, Shanghai with my husband.
Since it is THE RITZ and the reviews were excellent, I had very high expectations.
But we had to complain, starting from our arrival by car: they wouldn't let us park at the entrance to unload the car. No valet parking (in a 5 star hotel?? ok.) Instead we were sent in the parking garage of the IFC mall. To find the entrance was quite hard: most of the signs were hidden behind parked cars. As we finally got there, there was nobody from the hotel to help out carry our stuff. We were fine, but I don't think this suites a high standard hotel!
When we checked in, we explained our difficulties to the manager. They told us, they knew. Oh, and if you park there, no discounts because you are staying at the hotel. You only get discounts by buying something at the mall. Again, need to complain!! We were buying a quite expensive two night stay at the hotel in the same building of the mall!!
The hotel room was good: spacious and yes, very luxurious with gold and wood and marble everywhere. Not our taste, but nothing to complain about.
Breakfast was quite good: lot of chinese food but also nice pastries and all you can find in a continental breakfast. Service was ok, a bit slow. On sunday, we were not able to have our breakfast there, because it was too busy. So, again, something to complain about. As hotel guest, I want to have a table where I can get my breakfast! Instead I had a muffin and a cappuccino at the starbucks in the mall.
Do not miss the night view from the bar! We couldn't get a table the first night, but they reserved a good one for us the next day (this is a plus point for good service!) and it was impressive. Cocktails also very yummy!
Location is convenient if you want to go to the superbrand mall. Subway is close. But you are in Pudong and not in the city center.
Getting a taxi was not very easy. The Garcons (the staff was dressed like a french garcon, quite funny) would not go on the street to catch one, but just wait for one to drop someone off. So you were quicker on you own.
We had a swim in the SPA pool. The view was great: you see the Bund. The pool is not too big, they also have a small one with hot water.
Leaving the hotel was again quite hard: they brought us to the ground floor lobby and said "that way is the elevator to the garage, pay at the exit". Again, complaining, that they do not bring your stuff to the car!!!!! And, it was wrong. We had to pay at the cashier desk in the mall (other side, nice long walk with bags and everything!) to get out.
So, I do not think we will go back to the Ritz. There are soooooo many good hotels in Shanghai. With far better service and far cheaper.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank lauramatte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2011

Second time stay in this hotel, the first time was last year when they are newly open. Last time I gave them credit for not delivering the service I want because every new hotel need to run in. However , this time is not much improvement. When check in, we were told no booking was made. But we have confirmation number given , eventually, room booking was found and was told the girl only key in the surname. That is the reason why the booking cannot found. I was not convinced. Check in took around half an hour, there is only three computer available, another staff always jum in to use the machine which affect the check in process.
Room was good decorated. Had a lunch at the chinese restaurant. After all a disappointed experience. We ordered set lunch at 200RMB per person. Soup come out warm and tasteless. Other food was so so. The service from the lady manager was good to offer us another soup once she found out our comment.
The breakfast was nicely done with lots of choices. Fruit juice is the best with four to five to choose from.
One thing is the taxi driver did not know the way to hotel. May be the hotel should do something about it to promote more on the local market.
There isn't any turndown service and we have to turn down our bed. No newspaper available for first day but suddenly appeared at our door on the second day.
All in all, there is still areas need to improve before they claim themselves a five star hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Carman C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Shanghai hotels
Lujiazui
Mandarin Oriental Pudong, Shanghai
The Bund
Waldorf Astoria Shanghai on the Bund
Lujiazui
Grand Hyatt Shanghai
Grand Hyatt Shanghai
#39 of 5,222 in Shanghai
2,498 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Lujiazui
Four Seasons Hotel Shanghai at Pudong
The Bund
The Peninsula Shanghai
The Peninsula Shanghai
#12 of 5,222 in Shanghai
1,234 reviews
Lujiazui
Pudong Shangri-La, East Shanghai
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ritz-Carlton Shanghai, Pudong? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ritz-Carlton Shanghai, Pudong

Address: No.8 Century Avenue, Lujiazui, Pudong New Area | Shanghai IFC, Shanghai 200120, China
Phone Number:
Region: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai > Lujiazui
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Shanghai
#3 Luxury Hotel in Shanghai
#6 Business Hotel in Shanghai
#6 Family Hotel in Shanghai
#7 Romantic Hotel in Shanghai
#193 Best Value Hotel in Shanghai
Price Range: £217 - £340 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Ritz-Carlton Shanghai, Pudong 5*
Number of rooms: 285
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestling at the heart of Shanghai’s financial district and offering sweeping views across vibrant Huangpu River and historical Bund, The Ritz-Carlton Shanghai, Pudong’s guarantees guests a memorable experience and an unforgettable Shanghai visit. Situated on the upper floors of a stylish 58-floor tower in Lujiazui at the very heart of modern Shanghai’s commercial center, the 5-star luxury hotel occupies a prime location with stunning views of the iconic Oriental Pearl Tower, overlooks The Bund and is just minutes from the historic Yu Gardens. The hotel’s location also affords rapid access to both Hongqiao International Airport and Pudong International Airport. A thriving business and retail center, Shanghai ifc mall above which the hotel is located provides access to some of Shanghai’s very best upscale shopping. Designed in elegant Art Deco style, the air-conditioned rooms come with large windows and a flat-screen TV. Modern comforts include a Blu-Ray DVD player, BOSE sound systems and Nespresso coffee maker. Club rooms also include access to 24-hour Club Lounge, where guest can enjoy 5 exquisite food and beverage presentations daily. The Ritz-Carlton Spa features a 24-hour gym, indoor swimming pool, relaxing massage treatments and a dry sauna. The hotel also conveniently provides a business centre, 24-hour room service and a 24-hour front desk. Scena Restaurant serves Italian dishes, while the Michelin-starred Jin Xuan Restaurant offers fine Cantonese dining. Other dining options include Flair, the highest rooftop restaurant & bar in China, and afternoon tea at Aura Lounge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Travelbag, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your The Ritz-Carlton Shanghai, Pudong reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Ritz-Carlton Shanghai Pudong Hotel Shanghai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing