We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First time here”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Ritz-Carlton Shanghai, Pudong
Ranked #3 of 5,146 Hotels in Shanghai
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 November 2011

It's my first time being in Ritz Carlton but definitely heard about this property before. Good location as it allows me to have access to many shopping areas in Shanghai and also love their design and atmosphere! Great and attentive service staff the property has but a little barrier with the language communication..

Was there for 1 night stay before I travel to another part of China for my business hence did not manage to try their Food and Beverage outlets inside. But took a look at the menu and it looks appetizing.

Definitely value for money for the type of accommodation and service received from this property. A little crowded which causes noise in the surrounding but still acceptable.

Dislike:
1 of the staff can't communicate well with me and didn't even bother to try and walk away to look for another staff to look for me. Was upset by this incident..

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Benjy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,625)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,037 - 1,043 of 1,625 reviews

Reviewed 31 October 2011

Excellent hotel, I agree with the general positive comments form other reviewers. I came may be too early after the opening of the hotel when the staff were not sufficiently trained: I had some repetitive and disturbing issues with my credit card (VISA) which was not working at the payment terminal of the hotel. Despiat edaily discussion with various level of staff members, It took the whole week I stayed in the hotel for the staff to recognise their technical issue forcing me to withdraw cash from the local ATM (which of course accepted my card against fees). This gave me a bad experience which I was not expecting from an hotel of this level.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Elie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2011

This is my favorite hotel in Shanghai. The beds are so comfortable, the bathroom is sensational and service is great. The location is good for shopping and if staying on business.I have stayed in both Garden View and Bund View rooms and both are awsome.I recommend this hotel to all my friends travelling to Shanghai.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Scott Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2011

I have been travelling to Asia on and off for 30 years, and have stayed in many 5 star hotels in Hong Kong, Singapore, KL, Manila, etc., and I can tell you this is about as good as it gets. In fact, I found myself trying to find shortcomings (an in-room coffeemaker would be nice, and there was no iron in the clothes closet), but overall I can't remember a better experience. I will say that I have had a slightly better breakfast buffet- in terms of variety - at a few Shangri-La's but really that is about it. This is not to say that the Ritz buffet is not outstanding, I just missed the fresh mango and found the sushi selection weak... how spoiled is that comment?

Congrats to the Ritz for delivering an outstanding experience.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank roberto_jose_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2011

This is Ritz Carlton and it lives up to it's name by providing luxurious everything. The view is incredible, service is the best, everyone from courteous staffs down to the maid that tend to your room is well train professional. Nothing is overlooked in this brand new Ritz in Shanghai and location is right next to the famous Oriental Pearl Tower. You have to stay in this hotel least once in your life time and pamper your self to total luxury.. we all deserve at least once.

Room Tip: Ask for the room with view of Oriental Pearl Tower, you will enjoy the view at night..
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Tony S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2011

Normally business sends me to lower brand hotels but had the pleasure of 4 days, service was A1.
Room superb, bed fantastic.
My only complaint a little selfish was no baked beans at breakfast
Flair Bar was great with excellent snacks

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pddThailand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2011

We stayed for 2 nights at the Executive Club floor with our 2 young kids. The room is sheer luxury esp for couples - huge bed and large bathroom with huge bathtub and even footstools to help kids reach the sink. Deco was tasteful and the room made you go WOW! However, the bathtub is not suitable for kids as it's hard to get in. Also, the standard room was a tad too small for 4 and I ended up with a dry nose sleeping on an add on bed under the air-con vent. View was fantastic though - can see the Pudong river and entire financial district. Check in and check out service was quick and staff were very polite. Exec Club lounge is very spacious and the view is fantastic. Food variety is acceptable and staff were generally quite patient despite our kids running around, and they would just gently ask the children to be careful not to knock into the glass but were not irritated by them. Even the conceirge staff and butlers were all very enthusiastic in greeting us. The buffet restaurant service has much to be desired though. Chefs were very helpful but there does not seem to be enough waiters, nor were they attentive enough towards customers asking for service. I helped myself to cutlery a few times. Overall, up to expectation of Ritz Carlton, except the breakfast buffet restaurant staff ought to be warmer and more helpful and attentive to reflect the usually high standards of the Ritz.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank to_calvary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Shanghai hotels
Lujiazui
Mandarin Oriental Pudong, Shanghai
Lujiazui
Four Seasons Hotel Shanghai at Pudong
The Bund
Waldorf Astoria Shanghai on the Bund
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Lujiazui
Grand Hyatt Shanghai
Grand Hyatt Shanghai
#34 of 5,146 in Shanghai
2,413 reviews
The Bund
Fairmont Peace Hotel
Fairmont Peace Hotel
#8 of 5,146 in Shanghai
2,050 reviews
People’s Square
Shanghai Marriott Hotel City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ritz-Carlton Shanghai, Pudong? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ritz-Carlton Shanghai, Pudong

Address: No.8 Century Avenue, Lujiazui, Pudong New Area | Shanghai IFC, Shanghai 200120, China
Phone Number:
Region: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai > Lujiazui
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Shanghai
#3 Spa Hotel in Shanghai
#6 Business Hotel in Shanghai
#7 Romantic Hotel in Shanghai
#8 Family Hotel in Shanghai
#196 Best Value Hotel in Shanghai
Price Range: £243 - £707 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Ritz-Carlton Shanghai, Pudong 5*
Number of rooms: 285
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestling at the heart of Shanghai’s financial district and offering sweeping views across vibrant Huangpu River and historical Bund, The Ritz-Carlton Shanghai, Pudong’s guarantees guests a memorable experience and an unforgettable Shanghai visit. Situated on the upper floors of a stylish 58-floor tower in Lujiazui at the very heart of modern Shanghai’s commercial center, the 5-star luxury hotel occupies a prime location with stunning views of the iconic Oriental Pearl Tower, overlooks The Bund and is just minutes from the historic Yu Gardens. The hotel’s location also affords rapid access to both Hongqiao International Airport and Pudong International Airport. A thriving business and retail center, Shanghai ifc mall above which the hotel is located provides access to some of Shanghai’s very best upscale shopping. Designed in elegant Art Deco style, the air-conditioned rooms come with large windows and a flat-screen TV. Modern comforts include a Blu-Ray DVD player, BOSE sound systems and Nespresso coffee maker. Club rooms also include access to 24-hour Club Lounge, where guest can enjoy 5 exquisite food and beverage presentations daily. The Ritz-Carlton Spa features a 24-hour gym, indoor swimming pool, relaxing massage treatments and a dry sauna. The hotel also conveniently provides a business centre, 24-hour room service and a 24-hour front desk. Scena Restaurant serves Italian dishes, while the Michelin-starred Jin Xuan Restaurant offers fine Cantonese dining. Other dining options include Flair, the highest rooftop restaurant & bar in China, and afternoon tea at Aura Lounge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Travelbag, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelsClick so you can book your The Ritz-Carlton Shanghai, Pudong reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Ritz-Carlton Shanghai Pudong Hotel Shanghai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing