We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic location, great service, great views from guest rooms and public areas.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Ritz-Carlton Shanghai, Pudong
Ranked #2 of 5,035 Hotels in Shanghai
Certificate of Excellence
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Fantastic location, great service, great views from guest rooms and public areas.”
Reviewed 24 September 2012 via mobile

I spent 1 week here in Shanghai on business. Very convenient personally for me as my company office is just over the road.

The hotel itself is spectacular, with great views over Shanghai from the public areas (bars, restaurants, gym, pool, etc...) and I guess most rooms.

The service was impeccable and the staff could not do enough to help you.

Food quality was excellent with a great choice in the bar and restaurant.

I would recommend staying here on business or for a special treat if for pleasure.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dan N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,412 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,151
    193
    46
    11
    11
See reviews for
157
223
78
650
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (208)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 September 2012 via mobile

Wonderful location; great, fully trained staff; the Club Lounge has breath taking views and is well-stocked with liquor, wine, beer, and freshly prepared appetizers! The Ritz-Carlton Shanghai, Pudong is 1 of my favorite hotels to stay in Shanghai, China along with the Waldorf-Astoria Shanghai on the Bund!

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PrivateBanker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
23 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 September 2012 via mobile

I came to Shinghai many times for working. Normally my assistant book an exeutive room at Shangri-la Pudong for me.
Now i want to try some different thing, Shang was ok to me but why dont I try sth better? It is just opposit of the road! So this is the first time for Ritz Carton in Shanghai (yes I have stayed at ritz in Cannes....my best experience ever I sware.)

In my oppinion...
Lacation- *****
room design&atmosphere- *****
very clean, very new, good linin,

But things i dont like...
-The food :-(
-Not convinent for check in.
I arrived alone at 11:00pm nobody tace care my luggeges. I have to bring all to 55 fl. For check in. Small check in and take quite long.
So, next time not here. The IFC mall everything overprice, i just want a good supermarket to get some snack and mineral water.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Blogberry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
oxford, ma.
Level Contributor
40 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 September 2012

We stayed our last night in Shanghai at the Ritz Carlton, Pudong. The hotel is expensive but you can not beat the service and quality. Our room was beautifully furnished and the view was Breathtaking. We were on the 48th floor overlooking the Bund. At night the view was magical overlooking the river, and all the neon lit boats. We had drinks up on the roof top deck, which overlooks the Pearl Tower. It was pricey , but worth it. All the staff were fabulous, and very attentive to our needs. If you are looking for a beautiful luxurious hotel stay here.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sylvi97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
39 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 August 2012

This hotel turned me down. There wasn't a proper bathroom partitioning system in my room, when I took shower even the rug far away from the bathroom got wet. I called for help and asked the staff why there was a design flaw like this, yet she told me that she feel confused too. I may not be the first guest in this room because the hotel has been opened for quite a while, however I couldn't see any partition system in the bathroom except an almost useless curtain; their behaviour made me feel that they never noticed this problem before.

I asked if I can borrow a iPhone charger, they asked me to send my iPhone to business centre; the way to business centre is very complicated but with no clear instruction signage, and I had to leave iphone there for a couple of hours. I understand that not every five-star hotel would provide iPhone charger, while this experience is very uncomfortable.

Overall this hotel made me feel very confused. I always consider Ritz a very respectful brand and never expected a experience like this.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Beilinbaby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beijing
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 August 2012

We stayed here for a weekend a couple of weeks ago.

The hotel is nice, especially the views are breathing. The lobby on the 52nd floor is already giving you a “wow” arrival experience.
The bar on the 58th floor is also impressive. The outside seating area with the view and the quality of the tapas were amazing!

The room was also up to our expectations, clean and spacious.

The only downside on this trip was the service quality. We have experienced the same issues in other 5star hotels in China already – staff doesn’t seem to be very warm and attentive to guests. We constantly had to look for a waiter when our glasses were empty. Our minibar and coffee wasn’t refilled after the 1st night and we also encountered some problems during check out. The receptionist seemed to be more busy talking with a colleague and picking up the phone then processing our check out.

Overall not bad at all, but the service needs to be improved!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Travell0ver0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
46 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2012

We stay in Les Suites Orient Bund for 5 nights. Wonderful experience. The position on the Bund is fantastic, just in front of Pudong skyline. The staff is very professional, ready to help you in every need. I want to thank in particular Amy Watanabe for her professional and helpful attitude. The room is big and with a breathless view on the Bund and Pudong from the window in the bathroom. Fantastic even the bathtub and shower. In the room we had wi-fi free, Ipod dock station, fresh fruit everyday, and Illy coffe (best italian espresso) as complimentary. The breakfast is international taste, both western and eastern. From the hotel easy to take ferry to Pudong, just cross the street, 5 minutes walk fromt Old Shanghai street an Yu Garden,15 minutes walk from Nanjing Road, and 15 minutes by taxi to Maglev station. For me and my wife, after Beijing, Pingyao and Xi'An a fantastic end of travel. (I am italian).

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paolonzio77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Shanghai hotels
Lujiazui
Mandarin Oriental Pudong, Shanghai
The Bund
Waldorf Astoria Shanghai on the Bund
Lujiazui
Four Seasons Shanghai Pudong
Four Seasons Shanghai Pudong
#3 of 5,035 in Shanghai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 587 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Bund
Fairmont Peace Hotel
Fairmont Peace Hotel
#7 of 5,035 in Shanghai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,878 reviews
People’s Square
JW Marriott Hotel Shanghai at Tomorrow Square
The Bund
Les Suites Orient, Bund Shanghai
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ritz-Carlton Shanghai, Pudong? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ritz-Carlton Shanghai, Pudong

Property: The Ritz-Carlton Shanghai, Pudong
Address: No.8 Century Avenue, Lujiazui, Pudong New Area | Shanghai IFC, Shanghai 200120, China
Phone Number:
Region: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai > Lujiazui
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Shanghai
#2 Spa Hotel in Shanghai
#6 Business Hotel in Shanghai
#7 Romantic Hotel in Shanghai
#8 Family Hotel in Shanghai
#179 Best Value Hotel in Shanghai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Ritz-Carlton Shanghai, Pudong 5*
Number of rooms: 285
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestling at the heart of Shanghai’s financial district and offering sweeping views across vibrant Huangpu River and historical Bund, The Ritz-Carlton Shanghai, Pudong’s guarantees guests a memorable experience and an unforgettable Shanghai visit. Situated on the upper floors of a stylish 58-floor tower in Lujiazui at the very heart of modern Shanghai’s commercial center, the 5-star luxury hotel occupies a prime location with stunning views of the iconic Oriental Pearl Tower, overlooks The Bund and is just minutes from the historic Yu Gardens. The hotel’s location also affords rapid access to both Hongqiao International Airport and Pudong International Airport. A thriving business and retail center, Shanghai ifc mall above which the hotel is located provides access to some of Shanghai’s very best upscale shopping. Designed in elegant Art Deco style, the air-conditioned rooms come with large windows and a flat-screen TV. Modern comforts include a Blu-Ray DVD player, BOSE sound systems and Nespresso coffee maker. Club rooms also include access to 24-hour Club Lounge, where guest can enjoy 5 exquisite food and beverage presentations daily. The Ritz-Carlton Spa features a 24-hour gym, indoor swimming pool, relaxing massage treatments and a dry sauna. The hotel also conveniently provides a business centre, 24-hour room service and a 24-hour front desk. Scena Restaurant serves Italian dishes, while the Michelin-starred Jin Xuan Restaurant offers fine Cantonese dining. Other dining options include Flair, the highest rooftop restaurant & bar in China, and afternoon tea at Aura Lounge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Marriott, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Ritz-Carlton Shanghai, Pudong reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Ritz-Carlton Shanghai Pudong Hotel Shanghai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing