We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“First Rate in Shanghai”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Ritz-Carlton Shanghai, Pudong
Ranked #2 of 5,032 Hotels in Shanghai
Certificate of Excellence
Corona, California
Level Contributor
136 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“First Rate in Shanghai”
Reviewed 2 July 2014

Let's start with an orientation. This hotel looks down on the Bund, the old famous waterfront on Shanghai, but from the Pudong side of the river. It also overlooks the Oriental Pearl, also on the Pudong side. Both beautiful views. There is a luxury shopping mall right next door, IFC. The fitness center is first rate, as is the breakfast buffet. The rooms are simply sumptuous. Big bathtub, separate shower, huge bed, fluffy bathrobes. You know, the Ritz. At night, the view of the Oriental Pearl from the Flair bar is fabulous. And Sea Dong, the Assistant Manager there, is going to take care of you. All the staff service is excellent. Some negatives: you could run a country off the prices they charge for laundry, and traveling to and from the hotel is a hassle because it's on the wrong side of the river. Figure 200 RMB for a taxi ride to and from the airport. And more to get around town. And Shanghai traffic rivals Los Angeles and New York for jams. The "lobby" is on the 52 floor. So it's a two elevator ride from your room to the ground floor. I would recommend this hotel for business, or for couples on a romantic holiday. Families with young children won't find the value good, or the location convenient, unless they have a car (and why would you have a car in Shanghai?).

Room Tip: Ask for a view of the Bund. Many of the rooms look away from the river. You're going to pay fo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tmgarrett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,407 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,148
    192
    46
    11
    10
See reviews for
155
222
77
649
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (207)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
56 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2014

Arrived at this hotel after a very long and tiring day and could not have expected a better reception both in terms of service and appearance of this place. Everything was very first class.

Rooms are very inviting, cosy and comfortable, yet also stylish and functional (some might say the design is somewhat ornate, but it worked for me). Very pleasant feeling upon walking into the room and staying in. Spotlessly clean and everything works well. Very helpful and efficient staff. Good breakfast at the restaurant.

Negatives? Visitors to Shanghai proper (Puxi) might balk at the Pudong location; was not a problem for me, as a short taxi/car ride downtown is quick (and I had quite a few meetings in the central area and also went sightseeing)

Kudos to the hotel staff and management for a great stay

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BobMQC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
Level Contributor
81 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2014

I stayed for 2 weeks on business at the Pudong Ritz-Carlton and most of my expectations were met. The location was good as it was right next to the IFC mall and Lujiazui station, guests have free entry to the rooftop bar Flair which served some good snacks as well as drinks. The service at the club lounge was outstanding and you are truly made to feel like a valued guest. The only issue was my pass wasn't activated on the club lounge floor when I first arrived and subsequently when I checked the staff realised it should have been activated. The rooms are designed to feel opulent and definitely gives you the wow-factor on entry. However the some of the fixtures particularly the felt like it was a bit run-down and for some reason the housekeeping wouldn't collect the laundry and I had to ring them to collect them. Breakfast was delicious with a great selection and overall this is still a wonderful hotel to stay in, the excellent service provided by the staff without exception is the highlight.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SushiTravelDiaries
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leominster, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
120 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 155 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2014

I stayed at the Ritz Pudong for a week for business. I arrived pretty early in the morning (7am) but they still checked me into my room no problem. I was greeted by the bell staff and ushered up to check in, which was speedy and given the keys to my room. I stayed in 4815, which is on a corner overlooking the Bund. Amazing view! And the room was huge, separate work and bed areas, rain shower head, HUGE bathtub (i did use it!) and a TV in the bathroom, in addition to the two TVs in the room itself!

The Ritz also knows how to wow you, the housekeeping staff sets it so when you come back to your room after a long day, when I opened the door to my room the drapes began to dramatically open by themselves unveiling a fantastic night view. It was quite dramatic! I looked forward to it every night!

Their breakfast was great, lots of items for people from all over the world to enjoy, and you got to sit with a panoramic view of the Bund to complement your breakfast. They had an actual honeycomb from which you could get honey, omelets made to order, and fresh squeezed juices. Also, if you go to make toast, instead of having you wait for it to get brown, they'll just bring it over to you when it's done. Nice touch.

Hotel is connected to the ifc mall and the HSBC tower, so it's super convenient, and since the mall itself is connected to the metro, you never have to step outside to get on public transportation! It's also across the street from the Super Brand Mall for even more shopping.

The only bad experience I had at the hotel was one morning I was eating a piece of watermelon and on it was what I thought was a black watermelon seed.... until the "seed" started crawling around my plate! I stabbed it with a chopstick and killed it, and just got a new plate. I don't think it's the hotel's fault, but it made for an interesting morning. Now I know why other countries don't want you bringing fruit across the border.

And one final comment, I was NEVER able to find an electrical outlet in my bathroom. In some rooms there's a drawer under the sink that has a hair dryer and an outlet, but not in my room. Weird. Oh, and the electrical outlets are designed to accept plugs from all over the world, don't worry about bringing an adapter!

I would stay at the Ritz again, and recommend it!

Room Tip: Pay more to get the Bund view, it really is quite lovely to look at!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ConferenceMgr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
47 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2014

Had a short one night stay with room overlooking the tower as well as the Shanghai bund across. Perfect for those with meetings at Pudong area hotel to save transportation getting across from Puxi the next day. Attentive staff,very fast check in and check out with minimal hassle. Luxurious bathroom. I have no faults for this hotel, it lives up to its brand.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michelle L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shanghai, China
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2014

I cannot express my thanks enough to the staff for making our visit so special and memorable. My son and I felt like we were on Mount Olympus. We swam in the infinity pool on the 53rd floor overlooking the Bund and relaxed in the ample infinity hot tub with the same view. It is breath taking!. We also went to the rooftop restaurant called Blaze or Torch. I don't remember the name but the food and the view I will always remember. I had a Malaysian dish of noodles cooked in coconut milk with curry, prawn, papaya, ginger and other things that made it magically delicious. My son and had been working in country for two months and this sure was an awesome treat. This is actually the first time something "Ritzy" ever lived up to it's hype in my experience. All I can say is the management must be good to have employees so happy to do their job. I cannot say enough how well we were treated, like Rock stars but better; like friends who are Rock Stars. If you got some cash and want to be ensconced in luxury around genuinely friendly people, this is the place for you.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Thomas O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2014

Last year on my business trip to Shanghai, I stayed at the Ritz Carlton for 7days. The rooms were just great. The hotel itself is a skyscraper and finds itself among that iconic Pudong skyline.

Food was good. The dining halls were just great.

Room Tip: Rooms on the Bund side have picturesque views and are available at a premium but the other non-premi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Zatopeq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Shanghai hotels
Lujiazui
Mandarin Oriental Pudong, Shanghai
The Bund
Waldorf Astoria Shanghai on the Bund
Lujiazui
Four Seasons Shanghai Pudong
Four Seasons Shanghai Pudong
#3 of 5,032 in Shanghai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 586 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Bund
Fairmont Peace Hotel
Fairmont Peace Hotel
#7 of 5,032 in Shanghai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,872 reviews
People’s Square
JW Marriott Hotel Shanghai at Tomorrow Square
The Bund
Les Suites Orient, Bund Shanghai
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ritz-Carlton Shanghai, Pudong? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ritz-Carlton Shanghai, Pudong

Property: The Ritz-Carlton Shanghai, Pudong
Address: No.8 Century Avenue, Lujiazui, Pudong New Area | Shanghai IFC, Shanghai 200120, China
Phone Number:
Region: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai > Lujiazui
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Shanghai
#2 Luxury Hotel in Shanghai
#6 Business Hotel in Shanghai
#7 Romantic Hotel in Shanghai
#8 Family Hotel in Shanghai
#181 Best Value Hotel in Shanghai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Ritz-Carlton Shanghai, Pudong 5*
Number of rooms: 285
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestling at the heart of Shanghai’s financial district and offering sweeping views across vibrant Huangpu River and historical Bund, The Ritz-Carlton Shanghai, Pudong’s guarantees guests a memorable experience and an unforgettable Shanghai visit. Situated on the upper floors of a stylish 58-floor tower in Lujiazui at the very heart of modern Shanghai’s commercial center, the 5-star luxury hotel occupies a prime location with stunning views of the iconic Oriental Pearl Tower, overlooks The Bund and is just minutes from the historic Yu Gardens. The hotel’s location also affords rapid access to both Hongqiao International Airport and Pudong International Airport. A thriving business and retail center, Shanghai ifc mall above which the hotel is located provides access to some of Shanghai’s very best upscale shopping. Designed in elegant Art Deco style, the air-conditioned rooms come with large windows and a flat-screen TV. Modern comforts include a Blu-Ray DVD player, BOSE sound systems and Nespresso coffee maker. Club rooms also include access to 24-hour Club Lounge, where guest can enjoy 5 exquisite food and beverage presentations daily. The Ritz-Carlton Spa features a 24-hour gym, indoor swimming pool, relaxing massage treatments and a dry sauna. The hotel also conveniently provides a business centre, 24-hour room service and a 24-hour front desk. Scena Restaurant serves Italian dishes, while the Michelin-starred Jin Xuan Restaurant offers fine Cantonese dining. Other dining options include Flair, the highest rooftop restaurant & bar in China, and afternoon tea at Aura Lounge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Marriott, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Ritz-Carlton Shanghai, Pudong reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Ritz-Carlton Shanghai Pudong Hotel Shanghai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing