We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“FLAIR -- 350rmb pp minimimum - what are you thinking .....”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Ritz-Carlton Shanghai, Pudong
Ranked #3 of 5,059 Hotels in Shanghai
Certificate of Excellence
Singapore
Level Contributor
92 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“FLAIR -- 350rmb pp minimimum - what are you thinking .....”
Reviewed 12 October 2010

The hotel overall is great, if you like this style of hotel, it delivers on the Ritz Carlton promise ... but my entire experience was ruined when meeting friends for a cocktail at Flair - An amazing roof top bar with spectacular views ... BUT being harshly told as we exited the lifts that to sit on the terrace there is a minm 350rmb per person charge i thought (a) that is no way to greet a customer and (b) 350rmb is outrageous -- that is 3 martinis!!!! -- i understand the need to charge a minm per head charge, but be reasonable with this, not irresponsible, as this only encourages more drinking or forcing the hand of customers to buy only top shelf (i would guess most people would be pretty drunk after 3 martinis!)
Please get your act together ... needless to say we left the building plus there was only 2 other tables out on the terrace!

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank thomas_destinations
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,453 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,184
    196
    48
    13
    12
See reviews for
166
234
82
662
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (211)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 September 2010

I recently spent ten nights at this shiny new hotel on a combination business/leisure trip and it really was an excellent experience. I was initially a bit worried about booking in since I knew they had only recently opened but everything seemed to be fine-tuned to perfection (except for the "vitality jacuzzi" which was closed for repairs).

The views from everywhere are stunning! The river and the Bund sparkled at night from our room, the lobby lounge and the Italian restaurant. Flair, the rooftop bar, is a perfect place to relax both at sunset and after dark when it seems you can almost reach out and touch the landmark Oriental Tower with all of Shanghai laid out below you (and I recommend the sushi if you're ordering food with your drinks).

The staff were in top form and always greeted us by name when we returned from outside. In fact, I've stayed in several Ritz-Carlton's in China and I think the staff here were even better than the other properties when it came to friendliness and professionalism. They truly seemed to anticipate every need.

The rooms were roomy with an art-deco designed bathtub that was surprisingly comfortable. No Star World english tv channel, unfortunately, but they had the other standard ones including all of the movie options.

Overall, a stunningly designed hotel in a fantastic location with staff and service to match. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank afternoonguy66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beijing
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 September 2010

It's a great new hotel, you must try. I like the disign, very unique, mordern and comfortable. The Deluxe room with Bund view is well designed, high-tech, especially with Bose wave system. For me, I could play my own music from my iphone, so call personlized service. The staff are professional and warm, Excellent service. I attenend the meeting in Ballroom, ballroom design is also great, service and food quality are just excellent. Also another must try is their rooft top bar, the view of outdoor setas just amazing.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank N12M30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shanghai, China
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 September 2010

Good design for ballroom, restaurants especially Flair bar
Excellent service provided by hotel staff. You could not imagine this hotel only opened at the end of June (less than 3 months)

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank june_ren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aalen, Germany
2 reviews
Reviewed 2 September 2010

You like something special, on top of the high standard?
As a frequent business traveller, I spend nearly half of my time travelling and staying in top 5 star hotels worldwide. Most of them are nice, but somehow standard, a bit boring, cold or stiff.
If you like to experience something else, I recommend this new hotel in Pudong.
For me it is currently the best hotel in Asia or may be in the world. The hotel has such an outstanding view to the Bund, the Hangpu river and you have the feeling, you can grab the colourful lights of the Shanghai TV Tower at the open multi level top terrace. Fantastic! The atmosphere is outstanding.
I like also this nearby top bar and restaurant, where you can sit down on massive wood tables enjoy creative tapas, delicious seafood combinations and look with a spy glass to the Bund or down to the colourful boats circling the hotel in the bending of the Hangpu river. It is perfect to invite friends and business partners here, to experience special moments embedded in a decent, well oiled 5 star environment and service.
The rooms have large round bended window areas towards Bund and Hangpu. It is a refreshing experience in comparison to the simple square box design, you find so frequently. The whole setup and interior is breathing a decent and luxurious blend of local and international elements. You can find some fancy specials, such as these Bordeaux coloured tanned ray skin elements combined with bronze frames and mirrors in the elevator section.
All is opening up, inspiring, pure luxury and gives you the feeling you are special and inspires you in a relaxed atmosphere. I hate standard and boring set ups, which are so common in the today’s business world. Therefore the hotel deserves my top recommendation for everybody, who is looking for some extra.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jorg_sommer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong / Hamburg
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 31 August 2010

I really enjoyed my stay at this hotel. The rooms are spacious and bright, with fantastic views, a nice, big bathroom and very comfortable beds.
Everything seems to be put together with much love for detail, like the embroidered wall paper in the lobby, and I absolutely loved the phone in the box!
Staff were very friendly and spoke English very well, and quickly helped to resolve the problem I had connecting to the internet, they even checked an hour later if everything was fine. Overall, the service was excellent, from bellboy Henry in his lovely uniform who took care of me and my bags to the waitress serving drinks at "Flair", the fantastic roof top bar at the Ritz, which is definitely a must for everyone coming to or living in Shanghai.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jm_richter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 August 2010

Enjoyed the stay. The rooms are elegant, and the view are spectacular. Service is very friendly and courteous. The gym/pool is nice. A few issues:
1) At time of departure, the website had no map or directions, and taxi drivers have no idea where the hotel is (apparently even the address in Chinese isn't very informative). On the way from the airport, we ended up getting dropped off nearby the hotel and then walking a couple blocks with our luggage. This isn't great fun in August in Shanghai after 20 hours of travel. The staff is apparently fully aware that drivers don't know where the hotel is and often can't figure it out from the official address -- this is so easy to fix! Post a decent map and/or directions in Chinese on the website.
2) The bedding is great except there is no top sheet and no light-weight blanket in the room. So, there's the sheet and there's a super-thick comforter. Great for Maine, not so much for Shanghai. Unless of course you blast the AC, but then you just alternate between being hot and cold. No iron either, but they'll press for a price.
3) I liked the staff -- they were genuinely friendly and tried hard to be helpful. On some questions, they seemed to be a little confused (even the conciereges who speak the best English). After they get asked the same question a zillion times, they'll probably converge to the standard of service one expects at Ritz-Carlton, but in the meantime there's still a learning curve.
4) Wireless service is complimentary. But there is no free public terminal on which to check email, etc.
5) Food at the hotel restaurants (we tried 3) was mediocre for the price (some dishes were quite good, but most were just OK), but breakfast was great.
6) Not much seating space in the lobby to wait for visitors, read the paper, or kill time while room is being made up. There's a lot of seating in Aura (and great views), but one feels compelled to buy a $10 drink while sitting there.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank xReading
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Shanghai hotels
Lujiazui
Mandarin Oriental Pudong, Shanghai
Lujiazui
Four Seasons Shanghai Pudong
Four Seasons Shanghai Pudong
#2 of 5,059 in Shanghai
598 reviews
The Bund
Waldorf Astoria Shanghai on the Bund
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Bund
Fairmont Peace Hotel
Fairmont Peace Hotel
#7 of 5,059 in Shanghai
1,901 reviews
Lujiazui
Grand Hyatt Shanghai
Grand Hyatt Shanghai
#26 of 5,059 in Shanghai
2,312 reviews
People’s Square
JW Marriott Hotel Shanghai at Tomorrow Square
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ritz-Carlton Shanghai, Pudong? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ritz-Carlton Shanghai, Pudong

Property: The Ritz-Carlton Shanghai, Pudong
Address: No.8 Century Avenue, Lujiazui, Pudong New Area | Shanghai IFC, Shanghai 200120, China
Phone Number:
Region: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai > Lujiazui
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Shanghai
#3 Spa Hotel in Shanghai
#6 Business Hotel in Shanghai
#7 Romantic Hotel in Shanghai
#8 Family Hotel in Shanghai
#186 Best Value Hotel in Shanghai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Ritz-Carlton Shanghai, Pudong 5*
Number of rooms: 285
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestling at the heart of Shanghai’s financial district and offering sweeping views across vibrant Huangpu River and historical Bund, The Ritz-Carlton Shanghai, Pudong’s guarantees guests a memorable experience and an unforgettable Shanghai visit. Situated on the upper floors of a stylish 58-floor tower in Lujiazui at the very heart of modern Shanghai’s commercial center, the 5-star luxury hotel occupies a prime location with stunning views of the iconic Oriental Pearl Tower, overlooks The Bund and is just minutes from the historic Yu Gardens. The hotel’s location also affords rapid access to both Hongqiao International Airport and Pudong International Airport. A thriving business and retail center, Shanghai ifc mall above which the hotel is located provides access to some of Shanghai’s very best upscale shopping. Designed in elegant Art Deco style, the air-conditioned rooms come with large windows and a flat-screen TV. Modern comforts include a Blu-Ray DVD player, BOSE sound systems and Nespresso coffee maker. Club rooms also include access to 24-hour Club Lounge, where guest can enjoy 5 exquisite food and beverage presentations daily. The Ritz-Carlton Spa features a 24-hour gym, indoor swimming pool, relaxing massage treatments and a dry sauna. The hotel also conveniently provides a business centre, 24-hour room service and a 24-hour front desk. Scena Restaurant serves Italian dishes, while the Michelin-starred Jin Xuan Restaurant offers fine Cantonese dining. Other dining options include Flair, the highest rooftop restaurant & bar in China, and afternoon tea at Aura Lounge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Travelbag, Marriott, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Ritz-Carlton Shanghai, Pudong reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Ritz-Carlton Shanghai Pudong Hotel Shanghai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing