We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“not disappointed”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
JW Marriott Hotel Shanghai Changfeng Park
Ranked #23 of 5,138 Hotels in Shanghai
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 July 2011

The hotel is a bit out of the way in the city of Shanghai, but that fact is made up with the beautiful hotel rooms and excellent staff. I don't stay at the marriott often, so I was surprised when I was given the corner room with both park view and Suzhou creek view. the rooms has electric control for the curtains, beautiful ambient light and great TV channel selection. the bed is also quite comfortable. my co-worker got a room that's almost as big as a suite, but it's not on the corner. apparently the corner rooms tend to be smaller.

the amenity at the hotel is also pretty good. the gym is very high tech and the pool is very soothing. they give you water and place towel at each work out machine. the staff is very nice and addressed me madam almost all the time, which is not something I was used to. you also get two water bottles a day, if you want more, you can ask for more. after a few days, the staff figured out who are my co-workers and started seating us together during breakfast.

a few things I wish they can improve. I called the internet help line to get a password for internet and the lady wasn't very helpful, I had to call the front desk. the blinds in the bathroom need to be lowered electrically, so if you really need to go when you come back to your room, you have to wait. taxi can be a bit difficult to find, especially during rush hours and near the closest subway station. expect a 15 minutes wait, it's fine after rush hour. I had to walk back one of the nights when I couldn't get a cab.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ciciewang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (637)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

379 - 385 of 637 reviews

Reviewed 10 June 2011

An all round winner. The rooms are very well fit out and high quality. The staff are amazing and felt very welcomed the entire stay.

My only complaint is the spa is expensive, way above the prices you pay in independent massage places but it is very clean and the fit out excellent.

I highly recommend staying here.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SWCSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2011

Last April, my wife and I decided to cash in our Marriott rewards points to stay at the ChengFeng Marriott hotel in Shanghai I was a little worried that all of my hard earned reward points might be used on a less than ideal place, but we have ALWAYS had a great time at any Marriott that we have stayed at. We discovered that the hotel was a little over a year old and looked and felt brand new. This was particularly evident in the health club/work out room and spa. Everything was wonderfully new. The buffet was as impressive as ever with a wide variety of foods and unlimited beer and wine. We ended up talking with two persons working in the buffet, Aeron Quejano & Robert Hu. Both were extremely helpful and delightful to talk with. In all, the experience was A+ from beginning to end. The only negative, if you could call it that, was that the shopping malls down the street were not yet open to the public although they looked ready for the ribbon-cutting. Highly recommended. This hotel is why my wife and I are such avid Marriott fans.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank rsknapp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2011

Stayed here for 12 days as it is close to my place of business office. Stayed here on and off for 3 weeks last year not long before EXPO was on, so was interesting to see it 12 months later,

This is a modern hotel - opened early 2010 so is still great inside. Lots of marble, spotlessly clean and triping over staff to help. Large rooms with all you need and the bed is very comfortable. Standard modern fitout for Marriott. Discovered the pool/gym/jacuzzi area this time - which is wonderful and well worth the time taken to enjoy it. Lots of space, loads of luxury.

The main thing I noticed this time was the decline of the food service, As I was there for almost 2 weeks I had more than one opportunity to try the food and compared to last year, there has been a big reduction in quality. Served raw chicken twice in the restaurant (staff surprised an a little unsure of the prototcol of what to do with it), Asian buffet positively tired and lacking flavour, Indian meals which were a highlight last year have lost their authenticity, room service quite simply not worth the money, and very inconsistent and breakfast while still interesting appeared tired also.

My recommendation - this is still a great hotel and good value for the quality, but jump in a cab and head out for dinner - taxis are cheap, and the South Beauty restaurant nearby is fantastic and 1/3 of the price of the restaurant.

Still hate having to pay for internet too.... 1200rmb for the two weeks is just stupid.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pip T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2011

I stayed here twice last month, 2 weeks in a row & thoroughly enjoyed my time here. Everything already written about this hotel being new, etc. is accurate - the 'hardware'.

'Software' - The young staff, many of them trainees or just starting out in this career, are friendly & enthusiastic. The restaurant staff take initiative to interact with customers, are attentive & energetic. This gives the hotel an upbeat atmosphere. I'm happy to see the hotel willing to invest the effort in giving these young people the correct & positive experience.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank nick_ng
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2011

One of the best Marrioot Hotels I'd ever stay at. The facilities are brand new and offer all a business traveler is expecting. The executive lounge and the service is perfect. They offer delicious snacks and during cocktail hour Aaron is mixing cocktails on demand. To finish the day i recommend the Panaroma Bar with life music by the "Midnight Angels" and Aaron's professional bar service. To summerize a hotel that is very well managed and i would recommend to stay.

  • Stayed: April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank OchoNW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2011

I had stayed in this Hotel between Nov 2, 2010 to Nov 4, 2010. This was on a business stay and it was booked officially by local agency.

The view from the room and bath room was fantastic. There was an Indian Lady at the reception counter who has also helped in many ways.

The rooms are extremely nice and cosy.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DR_SRBABU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Shanghai hotels
People’s Square
JW Marriott Hotel Shanghai at Tomorrow Square
Gubei / Hongqiao / Minhang
Renaissance Shanghai Caohejing Hotel
People’s Square
Shanghai Marriott Hotel City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Caoyang / Zhenru
Renaissance Shanghai Putuo Hotel
Lujiazui
Grand Kempinski Hotel Shanghai
Gubei / Hongqiao / Minhang
Renaissance Shanghai Yangtze Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to JW Marriott Hotel Shanghai Changfeng Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about JW Marriott Hotel Shanghai Changfeng Park

Address: No.158 Daduhe Road,Putuo District, Shanghai 200062, China (Formerly Shanghai Marriott Hotel Changfeng Park)
Region: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai > Changfeng Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 5,138 Hotels in Shanghai
Price Range: £101 - £294 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — JW Marriott Hotel Shanghai Changfeng Park 5*
Number of rooms: 501
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The JW Marriott Hotel Shanghai Changfeng Park is located at the Changfeng Ecology Commercial District in west Shanghai, facing the picturesque Changfeng Park and Suzhou River. It is well positioned, neighboring the Shanghai Convention & Exhibition Center of International Sourcing and the internationally renowned National Exhibition and Convention Center (NECC). The hotel is also adjacent to Changfeng Parkside Plaza, one of the largest shopping malls in west Shanghai. The hotel is easily accessible, located just a 15-minute drive from the Hongqiao Integrated Transportation Hub, which houses the Hongqiao International Airport, Hongqiao Railway Station and Bus Station. The property's 501 spacious guestrooms boast scenic views of either the Changfeng Park or Suzhou Creek. Each guestroom features a full array of modern amenities such as a full-size executive writing desk, flat-screen TV, JW Marriott's plush signature bedding and signature bath amenity line from partner Aromatherapy Associates. The JW Marriott Hotel Shanghai Changfeng Park has six world-class restaurants including the newly renovated Park Cafe, Sakitori and The Lobby Lounge, providing versatile and unique culinary experiences. Park Cafe is an enticing all-day dining restaurant that features healthy and delicious international cuisine. Japanese restaurant Sakitori offers authentic fare prepared by Japanese native chefs while The Lobby Lounge brings classic high tea experience and a treat of stylish delicacies. Upscale Chinese restaurant Pearl offers authentic Cantonese and local Shanghai cuisine while DOME Steak and Wine brings quality steaks that will rival the best in town. Finally Panorama Bar, located at the top floor, offers a wide selection of wines, whisky and cigars. The hotel offers more than 1,500 square meters of multi-function event space featuring the state-of-the-art technologies and facilities. Venues include a 770-square meter Grand Ballroom and 13 individual function rooms equipped with wireless high-speed internet access and an LED wall. In addition, the hotel boasts a versatile area that can be turned into an assembly point for MICE guests, group check-in desk, or even a venue for coffee breaks and cocktail receptions, providing great flexibility for guests. The hotel's "Quan" Spa offers Asian, Mediterranean and western spa treatments. Other facilities include an indoor swimming pool, as well as a health club with a comprehensive fitness center, sauna, Jacuzzi and steam bath facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Marriott, Agoda, Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your JW Marriott Hotel Shanghai Changfeng Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing