We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good Marriot!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
JW Marriott Hotel Shanghai Changfeng Park
Ranked #19 of 5,059 Hotels in Shanghai
Certificate of Excellence
Ghent, Belgium
Level Contributor
35 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Very good Marriot!”
Reviewed 8 August 2012 via mobile

I stay here twice a year for business reasons and it's a very good hotel. The new meat restaurant is superb!
The rooms with bath with view on shanghai are topclass!
Good breakfast, excellent service! Looking forward to next stay :-)

Stayed December 2011, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Stephen-Gent_Belgium
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

596 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    366
    176
    40
    10
    4
See reviews for
42
38
24
358
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (103)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bangkok
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2012

Stay here frequently and staff is great as are the rooms. Wifi connection are rather slow but workable most of the time. Restaurants are great but expensive. Not much around in the area in terms of restaurants so an easy option is to take a taxi to Hong Mei Lu which is about 15 minutes away.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BusinessTravellerAW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helsinki
Level Contributor
21 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2012

I revisited the hotel for a 10 day stay, still like the hotel very much but the service in the breakfast area and the quality of the food is slipping:
I STILL LIKE:
The rooms, nice clean and modern but still cozy and luxurious
Very comfortable beds
Good bathroom clean and modern as is the rest of the hotel.
Gym area + indoor pool area very good.

I DID NOT LIKE
The service in the breakfast room, so much different from just three months ago.
Lots of trainee staff, most with a good attitude but very poor English skills and certainly not ready to work at a 5 star establishment.

I hope this improves as it made even asking for hot milk or scrambled eggs a tedious process, and I saw other foreign guests going through the same process, virtually every morning.

Lack of experienced staff guiding the trainees, I suppose it is not a major issue, but it left me disappointed every morning.

What is major, is the change in the quality of the food both during breakfast and evening buffet.
Cold cut selection very very basic.
I may have missed the cheese selection but never found it.
Salad selection is not up to scratch
The Indian food that I loved last time just tired this time
Grilled meat available during dinner did not look appetizing and was not edible.
Japanese section mediocre.

Having said all of this I will still go back to this hotel as the overall experience was still good.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank scan100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harrisburg, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
116 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2012

I stayed here for a week last november, and it is a very very nice hotel. Do note it is very far from the Shanghai Pudong airport, but was selected for us due to it's upscale nature and that it is. Very attentive staff, i've never stayed at a hotel that had so many amenities in the bathroom - they really tried to think of everything! I got so addicted to going down to the sauna at the end of the day that I ended up buying a small sauna for my home. The buffet is good and international enough to reflect it's clientele (the watermelon juice is very good). Room was very large facing Changfeng Park with floor to ceiling windows - and buttons to draw the drapes both in the tub as well as the main bedroom. Bathroom had a tub overlooking the city, stand up shower, separate toilet area and beautiful vanity area. Mini fridge in the room and robes/slippers in the closet. Not much around the hotel - looks like when i was there they were building a mall, I know there's a Tesco next door so you can run over and get a snack or two (or soft drinks which are cheaper there). My coworkers jogged comfortably through the park at all times day/night. Safe, nice, comfortable hotel - i'd go back if only Shanghai wasn't so polluted when i was there!

Room Tip: Don't forget breakfast is included.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ladykierra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 May 2012

The Marriott at Chengfeng Park, Shanghai is simply awesome. The rooms are huge with a nice bathtub as well as a standing shower! The bathroom comes fully equipped with all the amenities required including a hairdryer. The beds are soft and comfortable and as we went during spring, it was kind of chilly so much so we didn't have to use the air-cond at all. There is a flat screen tv in the room as well, a coffee brewing machine (they provide the coffee pods as well), complimentary mineral water and lots of tea. The breakfast spread is vast so be sure to get breakfast included when you make your reservations.
Only thing is in case you need to change your currency at the hotel, be sure to bring USD or Euros as those are the two currencies that they recognize.
Be sure to register as Marriott member, so that you can access the Internet for free in the room. Next to the hotel there are two malls - Tesco, Pacific Coffee, KFC, Starbucks (though couldn't seem to find it), Watsons and many shops to browse. All in all had an amazingly wonderful stay and will definitely return there again.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelBaby2611
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
57 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2012

Very good hotel opposite Changfeng Park and next to a good new shopping centre.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Irenere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong & Virginia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2012

I have been traveling to Shanghai on business a few times per year for the past 10 years and this is now my favorite hotel. My recent stay was the second time there and the service, food, rooms continue to be just about perfect. I love the 24-hour, fully-equipped gym where they even provide chilled towels for cool-down. The room had an excellent, modern layout, not the old standard Marriott rooms you've seen everywhere else. The bathroom is large and very well equipped. I was especially impressed with the friendly staff who are attentive without being overbearing (the way some can be in Chinese hotels). Rauf, the general manager, was quite visible and clearly working to make sure his hotel is just about perfect.
Regarding the hotel location, while not in the heart of Shanghai action, I actually like the large park across the street for walking/jogging or just watching the kite flying activity. Also, next door to the hotel is a new shopping area with a Watson's and Tesco for sundries or a bag of chips when you get tired of eating the local food!

Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank SpudCat63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Shanghai hotels
People’s Square
Shanghai Marriott Hotel City Centre
People’s Square
JW Marriott Hotel Shanghai at Tomorrow Square
Zhongshan Park
New World Shanghai Hotel
New World Shanghai Hotel
#17 of 5,059 in Shanghai
1,319 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Bund
Les Suites Orient, Bund Shanghai
Lujiazui
Grand Kempinski Hotel Shanghai
Lujiazui
Mandarin Oriental Pudong, Shanghai
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to JW Marriott Hotel Shanghai Changfeng Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about JW Marriott Hotel Shanghai Changfeng Park

Property: JW Marriott Hotel Shanghai Changfeng Park
Address: No.158 Daduhe Road,Putuo District, Shanghai 200062, China (Formerly Shanghai Marriott Hotel Changfeng Park)
Region: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai > Changfeng Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 5,059 Hotels in Shanghai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — JW Marriott Hotel Shanghai Changfeng Park 5*
Number of rooms: 501
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The JW Marriott Hotel Shanghai Changfeng Park is located at the Changfeng Ecology Commercial District in west Shanghai, facing the picturesque Changfeng Park and Suzhou River. It is well positioned, neighboring the Shanghai Convention & Exhibition Center of International Sourcing and the internationally renowned National Exhibition and Convention Center (NECC). The hotel is also adjacent to Changfeng Parkside Plaza, one of the largest shopping malls in west Shanghai. The hotel is easily accessible, located just a 15-minute drive from the Hongqiao Integrated Transportation Hub, which houses the Hongqiao International Airport, Hongqiao Railway Station and Bus Station. The property's 501 spacious guestrooms boast scenic views of either the Changfeng Park or Suzhou Creek. Each guestroom features a full array of modern amenities such as a full-size executive writing desk, flat-screen TV, JW Marriott's plush signature bedding and signature bath amenity line from partner Aromatherapy Associates. The JW Marriott Hotel Shanghai Changfeng Park has six world-class restaurants including the newly renovated Park Cafe, Sakitori and The Lobby Lounge, providing versatile and unique culinary experiences. Park Cafe is an enticing all-day dining restaurant that features healthy and delicious international cuisine. Japanese restaurant Sakitori offers authentic fare prepared by Japanese native chefs while The Lobby Lounge brings classic high tea experience and a treat of stylish delicacies. Upscale Chinese restaurant Pearl offers authentic Cantonese and local Shanghai cuisine while DOME Steak and Wine brings quality steaks that will rival the best in town. Finally Panorama Bar, located at the top floor, offers a wide selection of wines, whisky and cigars. The hotel offers more than 1,500 square meters of multi-function event space featuring the state-of-the-art technologies and facilities. Venues include a 770-square meter Grand Ballroom and 13 individual function rooms equipped with wireless high-speed internet access and an LED wall. In addition, the hotel boasts a versatile area that can be turned into an assembly point for MICE guests, group check-in desk, or even a venue for coffee breaks and cocktail receptions, providing great flexibility for guests. The hotel's "Quan" Spa offers Asian, Mediterranean and western spa treatments. Other facilities include an indoor swimming pool, as well as a health club with a comprehensive fitness center, sauna, Jacuzzi and steam bath facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Marriott, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your JW Marriott Hotel Shanghai Changfeng Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing