We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyable experience”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
JW Marriott Hotel Shanghai Changfeng Park
Ranked #22 of 5,159 Hotels in Shanghai
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 August 2014

I stayed there for 2 nights while at a conference. In addition to the room, I booked the car service from the airport to the hotel - which wasn't cheap. Upon my tired arrival, it turned out that there was no car waiting for me. It's not like it hasn't happened before to me - but I was disappointed. I was quickly taken care by an English-speaking airport person who contacted the hotel and found a representative from Marriott. After some wait, I ended up sharing a van with three other guests going to Changfeng Park Marriott. What I really appreciated though is that the hotel staff was very apologetic, and not only gave me discount on both rides - so that I really paid just for one - but the hotel rep with whom I corresponded for the reservation called me to personally apologize, which I greatly appreciated. Other than that, my stay was very comfortable. I had a lovely room with the view of the park; the bed was very comfortable; the shower was fabulous, and so was the whole bathroom - it also had a big window; there was a fridge. Breakfast - included in the price I paid - was very generous. As I was there at the beginning of July 2014, the hotel decor included a big golden replica of the World Cup trophy and a life-size cardboard cut-out of Leo Messi... Lobby monitors projected the time of the scheduled games.
I also received some good advice for my few hours of sightseeing. However, don't be fooled thinking that the hotel is close to the metro - it looks like it is, but it's actually a long and boring walk. One evening I had a room service for dinner - and it was not bad, but nothing special, and the wait was pretty long.
Overall, however, I had a very pleasant stay - I would definitely stay there again. It is not exactly close to anything except the conference centre, but taxi to the downtown area was very cheap; and metro even cheaper. The mall nearby is very convenient.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank mzj101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarriottCFPark, General Manager at JW Marriott Hotel Shanghai Changfeng Park, responded to this reviewResponded 26 August 2014

Dear mzj101,

Thank you for sharing your recent experience with us. It is especially appreciated understanding the premium we all place on our personal time. I’m pleased our room and location gave you the enjoyable experience. I have shared your comments concerning the traffic with the related department that we will definitely look into the problems and improve our services. Whilst always difficult to hear I am pleased that you commented on your experience. It is only through customer feedback, both positive and negative that we can further improve our services.

Once again thank you for your valuable comments which will assist us to continue to meet and exceed our guest expectations. We look forward to welcoming you again.


Best Regards,

Richard Saul
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (648)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

275 - 281 of 648 reviews

Reviewed 19 August 2014

This hotel is near from downtown city, there is a river beside the hotel ,faced chengfeng park ,so beautiful area ,high quantity service ,delicious food ,and good sleeping experience,pretty girls thank you !

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jianxun m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarriottCFPark, General Manager at JW Marriott Hotel Shanghai Changfeng Park, responded to this reviewResponded 26 August 2014

Dear jianxun m,

Thank you for your positive comments concerning the hotel location, facilities, food and service and I appreciate you taking some of your precious time to communicate your experience. I will ensure to share your positive comments with our team.

Once again thank you for your valuable comments which will assist us to continue to meet and exceed our guest expectations. We look forward to welcoming you again.


Best Regards,

Richard Saul
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2014 via mobile

Spent 4 nights, gold card holder so got to use their lounge.

Room was excellent, good size and everything worked as advertised.

Lounge is really large, multi roomed and the food/ cocktail service was better than most I visit. Really friendly helpful staff. Sometimes lacked a little on the English front but made up for it with smiles and enthusiasm.

Real handy for Hongqiao airport but of u were a tourist might be a bit far out of things. Nearest metro station is a good 15 minute walk.

Definitely stay again if on business

Stayed: August 2014, travelled on business
Thank Mark R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarriottCFPark, General Manager at JW Marriott Hotel Shanghai Changfeng Park, responded to this reviewResponded 26 August 2014

Dear Mark R,

Thank you for sharing your recent experience and positive comments with us. I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and our associates gave you helpful and friendly impression. I will ensure to share your positive comments with our team.

Once again thank you for your valuable comments which will assist us to continue to meet and exceed our guest expectations. We look forward to welcoming you again.


Best Regards,

Richard Saul
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2014

Staff service was great and the room was excellent.
Looking forward to be back!
Nice view face to the changfeng park. Shopping mall close to the hotel with a Tesco supermarket, convenient stores and several choices of restaurants. Highly recommended!!!

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Sandra L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarriottCFPark, General Manager at JW Marriott Hotel Shanghai Changfeng Park, responded to this reviewResponded 26 August 2014

Dear Sandra L,

Thank you for your positive comments concerning the hotel facilities, service and location and I appreciate you taking some of your precious time to communicate your experience.

Your valuable comments will assist us to continue to meet and exceed our guest expectations. We look forward to welcoming you again.


Best Regards,

Richard Saul
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2014

2 nights in the Marriott Hotel is just not enough in a big bustling city like shanghai. You get what you pay for, the luxury experience is just priceless. Hospitality 1st class all the way. Expect nothing less. Friendly and attentive staffs attend to your every need. I would recommend this hotel, as long as you could afford to splurge, this is it.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JA1662
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarriottCFPark, General Manager at JW Marriott Hotel Shanghai Changfeng Park, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2014

Dear Prem35,

Thank you for your positive comments concerning your recent stay at our hotel. The business world continually pulls us in all directions and I appreciate you taking some of your precious time to communicate your experience.

I am pleased that our associates and the hotel gave you friendly and attentive impression and that you enjoyed. I will ensure to share your positive comments with our team.

Once again thank you for your valuable comments which will assist us to continue to meet and exceed our guest expectations. We look forward to welcoming you again.


Best Regards,

Richard Saul
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2014

Stayed for 4 nights. This is a very nice hotel but at an incredible attractive rate for such a 5-star hotel in Shanghai. Staffs are friendly and professional. Room is clean and large, Wifi is free with good signal even in hotel room. Wide spread of breakfast choice, close proximity to Bosch Shanghai office. Large shopping mall and even a cinema hall is right beside the hotel. Many good restaurants within walking reach from the hotel.

What is great is that Marriott even provide hotel shuttle bus to fetch guests to/from hotel to Bosch Shanghai office, which is extremely convenient for us. Thank you Marriott.

Definitely will return and high recommend for Robert Bosch associates when visiting Shanghai.

Room Tip: Ask for a corner room for larger living space.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank AP_traveller1031
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarriottCFPark, General Manager at JW Marriott Hotel Shanghai Changfeng Park, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2014

Dear AP_traveller1031,

Thank you for taking the time to convey your thoughts on your recent stay. The business world continually pulls us in all directions and I appreciate you taking some of your “premium personal time” to communicate your experience.

Thank you for your positive comments and recommendation concerning the hotel location, service, facilities, dining experience and our associates. I am pleased that our associates and the hotel gave you the nice impression and that you enjoyed the great atmosphere as well as the next door easy shopping experience.

Once again thank you for your valuable comments which will assist us to continue to meet and exceed our guest expectations.


Best Regards,

Richard Saul
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2014

Enjoyed my stay of 3 nights there very much. Clean and luxurous hotel with nice view in Shanghai. Very friendly and attentative personel. One of the best breakfast buffets I've ever had on my many business trips. A little far from the touristic attractions, which is not a problem when beeing there for business reasons. Big supermarket (Tesco, has everything from clothes, household appliances, ... to food - good for buying small presents to bring home) in the mall right next to the hotel (1min walk). Hotel lobby bar a little expensive (paid 69 CNY = 8.30 EUR for a regular coffee).
Next time in Shanghai, I'll book the same hotel again.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lorenz H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarriottCFPark, General Manager at JW Marriott Hotel Shanghai Changfeng Park, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2014

Dear Lorenz H,

Thank you for your positive comments concerning the hotel service, facilities and our associates. The business world continually pulls us in all directions and I appreciate you taking some of your precious time to communicate your experience.

I am pleased that our associates and the hotel gave you the friendly and attentive impression and that you enjoyed your 3 nights stay here. I will ensure to share your positive comments with our team. The hotel also offers seven restaurants and bars featuring international cuisine and local favorites, if you want a quick coffee, you may try our freshly brewed coffee from Java+ located on the 1st floor.

Once again thank you for your valuable comments which will assist us to continue to meet and exceed our guest expectations. We look forward to welcoming you again.


Best Regards,

Richard Saul
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Shanghai hotels
Gubei / Hongqiao / Minhang
Renaissance Shanghai Caohejing Hotel
Caoyang / Zhenru
Renaissance Shanghai Putuo Hotel
People’s Square
Shanghai Marriott Hotel City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Lujiazui
Grand Kempinski Hotel Shanghai
People’s Square
JW Marriott Hotel Shanghai at Tomorrow Square
Shanghai Railway Station
Courtyard by Marriott Shanghai Central
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to JW Marriott Hotel Shanghai Changfeng Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about JW Marriott Hotel Shanghai Changfeng Park

Address: No.158 Daduhe Road,Putuo District, Shanghai 200062, China (Formerly Shanghai Marriott Hotel Changfeng Park)
Region: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai > Changfeng Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 5,159 Hotels in Shanghai
Price Range: £97 - £225 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — JW Marriott Hotel Shanghai Changfeng Park 5*
Number of rooms: 501
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The JW Marriott Hotel Shanghai Changfeng Park is located at the Changfeng Ecology Commercial District in west Shanghai, facing the picturesque Changfeng Park and Suzhou River. It is well positioned, neighboring the Shanghai Convention & Exhibition Center of International Sourcing and the internationally renowned National Exhibition and Convention Center (NECC). The hotel is also adjacent to Changfeng Parkside Plaza, one of the largest shopping malls in west Shanghai. The hotel is easily accessible, located just a 15-minute drive from the Hongqiao Integrated Transportation Hub, which houses the Hongqiao International Airport, Hongqiao Railway Station and Bus Station. The property's 501 spacious guestrooms boast scenic views of either the Changfeng Park or Suzhou Creek. Each guestroom features a full array of modern amenities such as a full-size executive writing desk, flat-screen TV, JW Marriott's plush signature bedding and signature bath amenity line from partner Aromatherapy Associates. The JW Marriott Hotel Shanghai Changfeng Park has six world-class restaurants including the newly renovated Park Cafe, Sakitori and The Lobby Lounge, providing versatile and unique culinary experiences. Park Cafe is an enticing all-day dining restaurant that features healthy and delicious international cuisine. Japanese restaurant Sakitori offers authentic fare prepared by Japanese native chefs while The Lobby Lounge brings classic high tea experience and a treat of stylish delicacies. Upscale Chinese restaurant Pearl offers authentic Cantonese and local Shanghai cuisine while DOME Steak and Wine brings quality steaks that will rival the best in town. Finally Panorama Bar, located at the top floor, offers a wide selection of wines, whisky and cigars. The hotel offers more than 1,500 square meters of multi-function event space featuring the state-of-the-art technologies and facilities. Venues include a 770-square meter Grand Ballroom and 13 individual function rooms equipped with wireless high-speed internet access and an LED wall. In addition, the hotel boasts a versatile area that can be turned into an assembly point for MICE guests, group check-in desk, or even a venue for coffee breaks and cocktail receptions, providing great flexibility for guests. The hotel's "Quan" Spa offers Asian, Mediterranean and western spa treatments. Other facilities include an indoor swimming pool, as well as a health club with a comprehensive fitness center, sauna, Jacuzzi and steam bath facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, Ctrip TA, Marriott, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your JW Marriott Hotel Shanghai Changfeng Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing