We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It's a time hot tub”
Review of Le Sun Chine

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Le Sun Chine
Ranked #776 of 5,111 Hotels in Shanghai
Reviewed 11 December 2012

The whole place is beautiful with the classic old Shanghai style. It’s like a time machine which brought you back to the 1920s’. I spent my birthday in Le Sun Chine with a wonderful experience. The reception was warm and sweet, especially when they brought out the special cake they make for me.
Then in the evening, I enjoyed Champagne and cake in hotel’s bar Salon de Salon. The Manager Jackie is absolutely a highlight, who is funny, guest-oriented and makes excellent cocktails. The SPA was big on 2nd floor, but don’t know why there is no staff on the first floor, so it’s kind of confusing if you are first time here. However, the SPA room is actually bigger than I expected, as beautiful as the rooms. Therapists are professional with good service.
Of course, my favourite is the room, art-deco furniture, wooden floor, English wallpaper, old style bath tub, phonograph… you really would feel you have crossed to 1920. The equipments seems all fine except the electricity in bathroom got a bit problem.
Last but not least, you have to love the boutique hotel for their in-room breakfast, you don’t have to dress up, make up and sitting in the restaurant to enjoy breakfast. No matter in bed, in couch or in balcony, all about your feeling for the start of the day.
I believe this is the place everyone would love to come back. And the one of the few peaceful and relaxing places you can find in Shanghai.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dfan1210
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (48)
There are newer reviews for Le Sun Chine
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

19 - 25 of 48 reviews

Reviewed 18 November 2012

We spent four nights in this exquisite hotel and felt like honoured guests.
The suites were beautiful and the service was outstanding. The bar was an ideal setting for a drink and Jackie arranged for a delicious casual lunch one afternoon.
The room service breakfasts were superb and a great way to start the day.
We felt like we had gone back in time to a magical era.
Thanks for making our stay so enjoyable.

Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
Thank Linter W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 November 2012

It goes without saying that this hotel room is beautiful. It looks old Shanghai. Especially old wooden floor was great. And staffs were very kind. From checkin to checkout they always tried to make me feel comfortable.

Breakfast was great! Basically it was In room dining and there were many choices. I strongly recommand Chinese breakfast. Very delicious!

Hotel bar was great. Cocktail was good and atmosphere was great. You shouldn't miss it.

SPA and pool were really great. Pool with beatiful blue tiles, was really beautiful.

Dinner in Lilac was good. Although it was expensive (600 RMB per person), and some dishes were not impressive. Room was really good, prawn with Sichuan sauce and pork belly with avalone was awesome!

Hotel amenity was good, Borghese cosmetics. Towels were smooth, really. :)

Absolutely I will choose this hotel again.

SPA director Tina, thank you so much for the help you gave me. I greatly appreciate the assistance you have provided me. SPA and swimming were great. :)

Johnny Huang, still I keep your memo about restaurant and good place.Thank you so much for helping me out during my stay.

Room Tip: If you want to use a pool in cold season, you have to make a reservation to heat up. :)
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank woochooppo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 November 2012

First of all, I'm deeply gratefull to Tina & Johnny for their favor.
They got thoughtful consider to us for the spa, swimming, tour and even a reservation for other hotel restaurant. I never forget their kindness.
If you stay the hotel, you must visit the BAR. You can drink a wonderful cocktail that you never experience before.
We had a dinner in the hotel restaurant, the dongpo pork and the shrimp dish were amazing.
The room interior and the quality of bedclothes and amenities were great.
Definitely, I got a good image of Shanghai because of "Le sun chine".

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 우쭈
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2012

People make a hotel not the building. Le Sun Chine has marvellous staff. My suite of rooms was airy, comfortable and nicely decorated. Breakfast was delicious and ample. The reception staff were attentive, kind and spoke excellent English. Good value for money in an expensive city. Well done Le Sun Chine!

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room on the 4 th floor.
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Merlinji
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2012

I could never imagine the beauty and intricacy of this hotel before I went there. Hidden from the busy traffic in the heart of Shanghai, this small yet versatile hotel offered a perfect experience of staying. The room is very much the old-shanghai style as it is not too big. The decoration is just wonderful. Anyone will be impressed by the penetrating view into decades before. The food is undoubtedly nice. It is fresh and filled in beautiful Chinese style bowls. In all, this is the hotel one could not miss in his life in Shanghai.

Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
Thank Michael S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2012

I agree with all the other reviewers. Le Sun Chine is a beautiful small inn that is well-run and very accomodating. We stayed in a family suite which was perfect for us. Dinner in the hotel was very personalized and quite good. The only thing I would wish is that it were just a bit closer to the Subway stop which is about a 10-15 minute walk. Taxis in Shanghai are inexpensive and plentiful so the location of the hotel is otherwise not an issue. We would definitely stay here again on return visits.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BDB22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Shanghai hotels
Former French Concession
Radisson Blu Plaza Xingguo Hotel Shanghai
Former French Concession
Rujin Hotel Taiyuan Villa
Rujin Hotel Taiyuan Villa
#2,055 of 5,111 in Shanghai
10 reviews
Former French Concession
B'La Vii House
B'La Vii House
#654 of 5,111 in Shanghai
22 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Former French Concession
Hotel Massenet at Sinan Mansions
Hotel Massenet at Sinan Mansions
#1,762 of 5,111 in Shanghai
6 reviews
Jing'an
Pei Mansion Hotel
Pei Mansion Hotel
#731 of 5,111 in Shanghai
63 reviews
Gubei / Hongqiao / Minhang
Renaissance Shanghai Yangtze Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Sun Chine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Sun Chine

Address: No.1220-6 Huashan Road, Changning District, Shanghai 200052, China
Region: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai > Gubei / Hongqiao / Minhang , Xujiahui
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #776 of 5,111 Hotels in Shanghai
Price Range: £101 - £261 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Le Sun Chine 5*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Le SUN CHINE, a proud member of the Relais & Chateaux collection was originally developed in 1932 as one of the twelve exclusive homes with in a private housing estate named as « model Garden » (fan yuan) Is one of the few properties to have survived shanghai’s recent development boom. Refurbished to evoke the old world atmosphere of the original home, it embodies the elegance and allure of the area in which it was originally built. The 17 suites are all different and unique ; Blue, Red, Gold and Chestnut themed, name after historical streets of the French concessions, distinguished by different architecture and interior design.Finished by internationally renowed interior designer Julian Coombs, they feature sumptuous furnishing designed to make you feel at home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ctrip TA, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Le Sun Chine reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing