We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent stay.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Shanghai New Hongqiao
Ranked #1,680 of 5,105 Hotels in Shanghai
Hanoi
Level 6 Contributor
78 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Excellent stay.”
Reviewed 26 July 2013

I spent 2 days in this hotel in late January and all I can say is that it was amazing. Amazing service. Delicious food. Ebullient and friendly staff. But there were 2 things I didn't like: slow WiFi and the Chinese authorities literally censors everything so I couldn't check some news on the web.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nganha88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

68 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    12
    33
    14
    3
    6
See reviews for
5
1
6
34
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2013

Of course, there are better hotels in Shanghai. But for $50 a nite-you could do worse in China. Its relatively clean, Internet works well for China, and breakfast is passable. I stayed here as it was conveniently located to some factories i work with. If i'm in the neighborhood, would definitely stay here again. If your here and want to go down town, splurge for the Cab. The local subway is a relatively far and you'll get lost. NO bar to grab a late drink.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank roravec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richmond
Level 5 Contributor
82 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 March 2013

This is a new hotel and thank goodness for that. I am sure that it will quickly become a run-down hotel very soon. The rooms were clean and it did have an extremely comfortable bed, pillows and comforter. This is where the goodness ends. The walls are paper thin and thus you hear everything going on in the hallways and other rooms. The hotel should just state that it is a smoking hotel as there is cigarette smoke everywhere and ashtrays are in the non-smoking rooms as well. It's China I guess and as long as you know this, then so be it. There is smoke detector in the middle of the room with a flashing strobe going all night (poor location for this). The breakfast is not worth the money spent on it and if it is included in the room cost, then go and eat the fruit. My company puts us up in this hotel which is why I stay there, otherwise I would choose not to stay at any Holiday Inn Express Hotels.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank detroit_wing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Krakow, Poland
Level 5 Contributor
89 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 December 2012

I was here on business trip a few days ago: the hotel is overall a good chance to have a rest nearby the Hongqiao airport for fair price.
The rooms are typically Holiday Inn, essential, clean, minimal design.
The toilet is functional, clean and provides the necessary.
Bed is fairly confortable, but in winter you might need an additional linen.
Wifi works well, and in the room you the tea and coffee, complimentary if I'm not wrong.
Breakfast: good that is served since 6.00 am; it wants to be a continental breakfast, but the chicken sausages and the eggs have still margins of improvement; also no yogurth, and orange juice -for those most demanding and used to soft tastes- is also to be improved.
Staff: smiling, friendly, helpful, goodwilling, but most of the staff has not enough knowledge of english.
I will be there again, and I might say it's a fair place to stay overnight or max 2-3 days... if you need to stay longer and have larger pockets, you might desire more conforts; but this is Holiday Inn, and it delivers 110% what it promises.

Room Tip: Choose a room opposite to the road: the windows have not a perfect noise insulation.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Danilo F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 November 2012

I arrived at Pudong international airport and I booked this hotel since I had a flight to Qingdao next day from Hongqiao airport. The hotel location is very far from Pudong international airport and since it is new, few taxi drivers now the location. When you come from Pudong yo would pass Hongqiao airport then going to the hotel. Therefore if you are in Pudong airport, the first option is staying a hotel in that area then take a flight to your destination. Otherwise, if you should choose Hongqiao aiport, better to choose a hotel between these two airports. This hotel will be good for a stop-over if you have come to Hongqiao airport and should stay one night then continuing your flight or you are in Shanghai center and wish to be as close as possible to Hongqiao. The room was ok and big enough. The check-in process was a little slow but in comparison to the other holiday-inn express hotels I tried in China their English knowledge could be categorized in goo level. The hotel was new and the internet was free and good quality. Since I was tired I slept and did not test the breakfast. I would choose this hotel in case I would be in the same condition I counted above.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank citoyen-du-universe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karachi, Pakistan
Level 4 Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 November 2012

really like the location if you are just on a transit and dont want to stay in the city. its near the airport hongqiao. very close, so getting trains for out of city is pretty easy. its got a carrefour and pizza hut and kfc near by. the hotel manager is a pretty cool lady. very very competent and very caring. shes handling this place pretty well and i would specially like to thank her for our stay of 5 days here in shanghai.

Room Tip: take room no. 907 if your smoking. or take room no. 619 if your non smoking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank irshek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lohmar, Germany
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2012

I have stayed here 3 times and there is really not much wrong with this hotel

I have met the manageress of this hotel and she really has the place under control, anything that needs to be sorted out then she is right on it.

Place is clean and very well maintained and all for 250 - 300 RMB

Two things that are not OK

1.) There are no glasses for orange juice at breakfast (I hate drinking orange juice out of a mug)

2.) It is a long way out of town, meaning you have to take a cab. This is easier said than done when the drivers dont speak english.

All in all though it is a good hotel

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brian C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Shanghai hotels
Holiday Inn Shanghai Hongqiao
#140 of 5,105 in Shanghai
109 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Melia Shanghai Hongqiao
#200 of 5,105 in Shanghai
11 reviews
Holiday Inn Express Meilong
#1,639 of 5,105 in Shanghai
73 reviews
Shanghai Railway Station
Holiday Inn Express Zhabei Shanghai
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Shanghai New Hongqiao? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Shanghai New Hongqiao

Property: Holiday Inn Express Shanghai New Hongqiao
Address: No.1917 Huqingping Road, Shanghai 201702, China
Phone Number:
Region: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1,680 of 5,105 Hotels in Shanghai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Shanghai New Hongqiao 3.5*
Number of rooms: 241
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Shanghai New Hongqiao reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Shanghai New Hongqiao Hotel Shanghai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing