We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Impressive Hotel and Good Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Renaissance Shanghai Putuo Hotel
Ranked #22 of 5,112 Hotels in Shanghai
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 November 2013

This is a very nice new business hotel. A Renaissance standard for its facilities and very professional services. Rooms are especially impressive as they are large and very well equipped. It is located at the Putuo district which will be convenient if you are conducting business at the Putou or Zhongshan district. Not quite suitable for tourist or having business activities around the Bund or CBD. The MRT is just below the hotel and has a direct lift access into the hotel lobby. Highly recommended if conducting business in the nearby vicinity or just want get away from the buzzing Shanghai central.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Xexplorer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (553)
There are newer reviews for Renaissance Shanghai Putuo Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

186 - 192 of 553 reviews

Reviewed 31 October 2013

This hotel was easy to find because it was connected to the subway station.
And that basement floor is a shopping mall. It's so convenient to buy some snack and more around hotel.
I had a good and warm sleep in bed. Sliding door's bathroom is so special experience with my sister! ^^
But it's not good at location for traveller, so far from downtown, about 40 min. by taxi.

Room Tip: Wood slide door for bathroom!! Be carefull~
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mjcjstk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2013

I had a great time here. Only small complaint is that the lobby smells of a powerful perfume. It was like this for the 3 nights I stayed. As a gold member of the chain, I enjoyed the club lounge and its views. The breakfast was nice with plenty of variety in downstairs; there is also breakfast on the top floor lounge but with less variety of foods.

The room was beautifully appointed with plenty of space. I appreciated the open-concept of the room and how, if one wanted privacy in the bathroom, you would pull closed the wood-paneled doors -- which are essentially walls -- closed. You can control virtually everything from the bedside controls, with button-controlled curtains.

It is an excellent hotel. Its location is good as you are in close proximity to the subway, though I had a driver for this particular trip and can't attest to its use. The traffic can be a deterrent: though I may have been lucky, we were only held up once in the weekday afternoon in bumper to bumper traffic heading to the Bund.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank OutOfTheCase
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2013

Stayed at this Renaissance for 5 nights several weeks ago. The rooms are very spacious and very comfortable. Location is quite a way from central Shanghai but convenient enough as it is literally at a Metro station.

Breakfast buffet is extremely large and whilst not amazing it certainly is of a good standard.

Only criticism is that the lobby area lacks personality and seems large and empty.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Realtraveller1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2013

I've stayed at the Renaissance Shanghai Putuo Hotel on several occasions. Although its location is a bit off the beaten path, it is very conveniently located over-top Metro Line 7 and has good retail and restaurant choices nearby. The rooms are beautifully finished and maintained with many luxury touches. The breakfast buffet is typical for western-style hotels in urban China; not great, but entirely satisfactory. All this comes at very fair prices. I recommend it.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SoCalAstronomer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2013

This is a very nice hotel in a new development. A high-rise mall is across the street, a Starbucks and convenience stores are only 1 or 2 blocks away. The room rate was 725 RMB ($US120 - including breakfast) But the rate was arranged by the Chinese company we visited. Rates via other means would be at least $US50 higher. The hotel has a nice buffet for all meals and a Japanese restaurant. The mall has several restaurants, but most of them only take cash and only some of them have bi-lingual menus. The hotel has an elevator that goes to an underground mall and food court with McDonalds and several other food stands. This underground area also gives you access to the subway system. The Shanghai subway is fairly easy to use. We took it to the Bund (the riverfront area) without any problems. A taxi ride from the international airport is 250 RMB ($US45) or more. But this hotel was very convenient for our business meetings.

The area around the hotel is very safe with a nice walking area along one road. But this is mainly a Chinese area (very few English signs) where you get to observe the Chinese in their everyday lifestyle. Local markets and food stands are across the street and a few blocks away.

One problem at the hotel is taxi's in the morning. We had to wait 30 to 45 minutes most mornings for a taxi. So we were late for a few meetings.

Room Tip: You can pay a little higher room rate and gain access to the executive floor. It has snacks availab...
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank UMRMax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2013

I really can't say enough about how I enjoyed this hotel. I had done quite a bit of domestic travel within China and really needed a place to relax and unwind. I was leaving on another long drive in a few days, so the location was chosen based on that trip. Therefore, it was way out of the heart of the city. Shanghai can take an hour and a half to transverse, even out of rush hour time, so I needed to be on the outer area. The staff spoke great English and were incredibly helpful. Speedy, speedy service in every way. Everything was top rate. I treated myself to a massage at the wonderful spa and was not disappointed.
Also, I booked this on hotels.com and it included a breakfast. I know that other travelers have run into issues with the reservations coming over with this included, but I had no such trouble. Easy check in and check out. Will definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 01LIsa05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Shanghai hotels
Shanghai Railway Station
Courtyard by Marriott Shanghai Central
Changfeng Park
JW Marriott Hotel Shanghai Changfeng Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Waigaoqiao
Sheraton Shanghai Waigaoqiao Hotel
People’s Square
Shanghai Marriott Hotel City Centre
Zhongshan Park
New World Shanghai Hotel
New World Shanghai Hotel
#12 of 5,112 in Shanghai
1,555 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Renaissance Shanghai Putuo Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance Shanghai Putuo Hotel

Address: No.50 Tongchuan Road, Putuo District, Shanghai 200333, China (Formerly Renaissance Shanghai Putuo Hotel&A Marriott Luxury&Lifestyle Hotel)
Region: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai > Caoyang / Zhenru
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 5,112 Hotels in Shanghai
Price Range: £75 - £196 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Renaissance Shanghai Putuo Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 330
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Renaissance Shanghai Putuo Hotel, a Marriott Luxury&Lifestyle Hotel you'll find a place where simple delights become memorable moments. Where distinctive style flirts with touches of whimsy. And where unparalleled service and uncommon sophistication provide a unique experience. At this exceptional boutique hotel in Shanghai, there's always something wonderfully new to be found. Indulge in inspired cuisine at one of four delectable restaurants, meet with colleagues and clients at our state-of-the-art meeting space, dive into our sparkling indoor swimming pool or take in the view from your room or suite. If you'd like to venture beyond our doors, all of the city awaits. Just steps from this boutique hotel's Shanghai location you'll find awe-inspiring museums, chic shops, exciting nightlife and world-renowned businesses. And if you're not sure how to spend the day, our Shanghai boutique hotel's concierge can help you choose the activities that best suit your needs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Renaissance Shanghai Putuo Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing