We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location good, executive lounge excellent”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Renaissance Shanghai Putuo Hotel
Ranked #30 of 5,069 Hotels in Shanghai
Certificate of Excellence
Taipei, Taiwan
Level 6 Contributor
98 reviews
95 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Location good, executive lounge excellent”
Reviewed 2 March 2014

The location is not that far from the center of city. So not very cloud, and easy to fall asleep at nights. The executive lounge is good and provide various good food. Basically, their hotel associates are quite helpful for my stay. I will definitely stay here again when I back to Shanghai. The only not good for business travel is if you have breakfast in the morning on lobby floor, you may have with the tour groups.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

517 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    315
    164
    22
    8
    8
See reviews for
57
97
30
190
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Oxnard, California
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 March 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for 3 nights as part of our tour.After sleeping in extremely hard beds in Xian and Suzhou, we were grateful to arrive in this great hotel. The staff was friendly, the beds and the rooms were comfortable and beautifully decorated. The hotel is situation directly below the subway station which was very convenient. We took the elevator to the underground level and were surprised to find a full city underneath the hotel, filled with shops, restaurants and most importantly the subway. I will definitely stay here again when I return to Shanghai!

Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Ali250
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore River, Singapore
Level 6 Contributor
121 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 February 2014

has always trust the renaissance brand and this time no doubts at all. check in was fast and within minutes, u are up to your room especially a day travelling to reach the hotel. the reception was nicely decorated and gave a relax feeling.

room was spacious, clean and the design of its open concept with the bathroom, a little different with other renassance i had been to. breakfast was great maybe the waitress can be more cordial in service than just asking for room numbers. the only problem encountered here was taxi seemed to be difficult to get in the morning and the bell boys didnt seem to be quite friendly but still try to help thou.

location wise, great. the subway station is just across the road and connected underground via the shopping center next to the hotel. other than the shopping center, opposite the road, you can find a few restaurants.

recommended to travellers both business and families. will definitely be my choice if returning to shanghai.

Room Tip: rooms at the corner seem to be slightly larger.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gecko_cheeko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Long Lake, Minnesota
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 January 2014

I recently stayed 3 nights on a business trip to Shanghai. Rooms are very comfortable, large and nicely decorated. The buffet breakfast was excellent. Great value with a discounted rate at ~$100 night.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cmd69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shanghai, China
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2014

This hotel was a pleasant surprise! So conveniently located (subway line 7 is connected underground) and there's a small mall also connected so we were able to walk around and get some food/snacks. The design of the hotel is beautiful and the rooms are nice and modern. We requested a baby crib for our family and walked in to see a welcome amenity of J&J baby products and a rubber duckie - what a nice surprise! I wouldn't hesitate to stay here again next time.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank worldtraveler1229
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 December 2013

This was our second stay in this hotel. Our last visit was two years ago. The hotel was still in good repair. Much has changed since our last visit; there is now a mall across the street and from the lower level, you can access the subway without crossing the street. This hotel is located away from beaten tourist areas, but with the easy access to line 7 of the subway system, it was not an issue. The price of the rooms is reasonable for the quality of this hotel and compared to other Shanghai hotel pricing. Rooms are modern, clean and attractive. The breakfast options contained both Asian and Western options and were well prepared and tasty. We also ate casual dinner in the restaurant. Wait staff was attentive. English language skills in the hotel are adequate, but you must be prepared to slow your rate of speech and simplify speech patterns at times. One member of our party had a discrepancy with her bill upon arrival. We spoke to the manager, who understood customer service and took care of things right away. We were very appreciative of the manager's service orientation. We also arranged for transportation through the concierge to the hotel from the train station. This is a very comfortable hotel and its location does allow you to see the life of Shanghai residents going about their daily routine.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 444hiking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Taipei, Taiwan
Level 6 Contributor
98 reviews
95 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 November 2013

Modern hotel but not modern nearby. Located in very old place, easy to utilize subway but not easy to get a taxi. Though is part of Marriott.com but seems it's a very local hotel. The market position is low price, so lots of tour group staying here. If you don't like to stay with tour group, choose other hotels instead. If you are ok to stay with them and rob food in the breakfast time, here is the good place to stay becasue the price is good.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Shanghai hotels
Shanghai Railway Station
Courtyard by Marriott Shanghai Central
Zhongshan Park
New World Shanghai Hotel
New World Shanghai Hotel
#11 of 5,069 in Shanghai
1,383 reviews
Waigaoqiao
Sheraton Shanghai Waigaoqiao Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Pullman Shanghai South
#16 of 5,069 in Shanghai
270 reviews
People’s Square
Shanghai Marriott Hotel City Centre
The Bund
Les Suites Orient, Bund Shanghai
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Renaissance Shanghai Putuo Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance Shanghai Putuo Hotel

Property: Renaissance Shanghai Putuo Hotel
Address: No.50 Tongchuan Road, Putuo District, Shanghai 200333, China (Formerly Renaissance Shanghai Putuo Hotel&A Marriott Luxury&Lifestyle Hotel)
Region: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai > Caoyang / Zhenru
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 5,069 Hotels in Shanghai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — Renaissance Shanghai Putuo Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 330
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Renaissance Shanghai Putuo Hotel, a Marriott Luxury & Lifestyle Hotel, you'll find a place where simple delights become memorable moments. The hotel is ideally located on the Tongchuan Road, directly connected to Metro Line 7 Langao Road Station which can directly access to the Jing’an Temple, Shanghai World Expo Exhibition & Convention Center, Shanghai New International Expo Center, etc. It takes 10 minutes from the hotel to Shanghai Railway Station, 15 minutes to Shanghai International Sourcing Promotion Center, 25 minutes to Hongqiao International airport, 45 minutes to Pudong International Airport. The hotel has 330 guest rooms, have contemporary furnishings and bold decor. The rooms offer an iPod docking station, plush mattresses, fluffy pillows, a minibar and ironing facilities, LCD TV and ample workspace. The modern and private bathrooms have bath and shower facilities. Guests can take a dip in the on-site indoor swimming pool, work out at the fitness centre or indulge in the spa centre where different treatments, body scrubs and massages are provided. Indulge in inspired cuisine at one of four delectable restaurants, Cafe BLD serves buffet-style international cuisine with an open kitchen all day. For more Asian flavours, YUZU Japanese Grill serves offering unique temaki, sushi and an array of freshly grilled seafood. While New Dynasty serves Cantonese, Shanghainese dishes for both lunch and dinner. Coffee, tea and cocktails are served at The Lounge. With 1266 sq.m. of creative space for your meeting and a team of dedicated professionals behind you every step of the way, your event promises to be both memorable and inspiring. With all these accommodations, Renaissance Putuo Hotel is without a doubt the best place to stay when visiting Shanghai. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Renaissance Shanghai Putuo Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing