We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Cut Above”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Renaissance Shanghai Putuo Hotel
Ranked #29 of 5,105 Hotels in Shanghai
Certificate of Excellence
Webster, New York
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“A Cut Above”
Reviewed 8 May 2014

I have stayed at many Renaissance Hotels but this one was unique! You expect them to be well maintained, clean and well appointed. Those characteristics are all true here but what stood out the most was how they volunteered to open the breakfast up early so that we could enjoy a hot, delicious meal before catching an early flight to Beijing. Other nice hotels have prepared box breakfasts which were appreciated but nothing beats a well prepared, hot meal. The internet was easy to connect to and stable. That was not the case at other upper end hotels on this trip. Well done!!!!!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AFCol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

538 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    329
    166
    26
    9
    8
See reviews for
60
101
33
195
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Diamond Bar, California
Level 5 Contributor
31 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2014 via mobile

I loved this hotel. I stayed here in early April as part of a tour. The breakfast buffets were very diverse and included plenty of western food along with Chinese.
The room had two large beds and what I found very nice and unusual was the way they configured the bathroom. When I entered the room for the first time I was blown away with the sight of a bathtub in the middle of the room. The bathroom had two sliding walls that when pulled together created privacy.
I also like the underground connection to a shopping area that included a Subway restaurant and a large and modern grocery store.
A beautiful hotel with all the amenities.

Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Bearyz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guangzhou, China
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2014

I stayed 4 nights for my business trip. Everything was prefect. Staff were all friendly with smile, room was nice and clean, model decoration. Breakfast was great. Definitely stay this hotel again when next in Shanghai

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JJSGZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bloomington, Minnesota
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2014

This is an ultra-modern 5-star hotel in Shanghai. The lobby has a nice art- deco feel to it with it's chic decor, swank sofas and booths. It has some nice restaurants,a nice bar and plenty of this to make nice pics but most of all the rooms are to die for!! They are spacious, hip and very funny Have to see it for yourself.



S

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cemuni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco
Level 6 Contributor
108 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 March 2014

I totally agree with other reviewers about how nice this Renaissance is. I don't think I can add anything to what others have said except that I would recommend this place to all types of travelers. There is a large food court in the metro basement underneath the hotel. There are also restaurants in the mall next door.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank VDlong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vista, California
Level 5 Contributor
96 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 March 2014

We stayed here as part of a China Tour.Com group. This was by far the best hotel during our 10 day trip to China. Rooms were great (bed comfortable and bath clean), staff were great, breakfast was great; location was great...did I say our stay was great? Need I say anything else?

Go for it...you will not be disappointed in this first class hotel!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jim B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dayton, Ohio
Level 6 Contributor
137 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 March 2014

I recently took a tour of shanghai, Wuxi,shangzhou china. The Renaissance was our first stop, very nice start to the tour, warm, stylish rooms, great buffet breakfast, helpful staff. After a few stops at other hotel, I was looking forward to getting back to shanghai for the Renaissance. The location is great, just off downtown to escape the noise, a block away from the subway, all transportation, malls and good to tour the area on your own and discover the neighborhood. Will definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: 6 floor and above offers a great view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank filetmignon96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Shanghai hotels
Shanghai Railway Station
Courtyard by Marriott Shanghai Central
Zhongshan Park
New World Shanghai Hotel
New World Shanghai Hotel
#11 of 5,105 in Shanghai
1,450 reviews
Waigaoqiao
Sheraton Shanghai Waigaoqiao Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Pullman Shanghai South
#19 of 5,105 in Shanghai
278 reviews
People’s Square
Shanghai Marriott Hotel City Centre
Changfeng Park
JW Marriott Hotel Shanghai Changfeng Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Renaissance Shanghai Putuo Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance Shanghai Putuo Hotel

Property: Renaissance Shanghai Putuo Hotel
Address: No.50 Tongchuan Road, Putuo District, Shanghai 200333, China (Formerly Renaissance Shanghai Putuo Hotel&A Marriott Luxury&Lifestyle Hotel)
Region: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai > Caoyang / Zhenru
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 5,105 Hotels in Shanghai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — Renaissance Shanghai Putuo Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 330
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Renaissance Shanghai Putuo Hotel, a Marriott Luxury & Lifestyle Hotel, you'll find a place where simple delights become memorable moments. The hotel is ideally located on the Tongchuan Road, directly connected to Metro Line 7 Langao Road Station which can directly access to the Jing’an Temple, Shanghai World Expo Exhibition & Convention Center, Shanghai New International Expo Center, etc. It takes 10 minutes from the hotel to Shanghai Railway Station, 15 minutes to Shanghai International Sourcing Promotion Center, 25 minutes to Hongqiao International airport, 45 minutes to Pudong International Airport. The hotel has 330 guest rooms, have contemporary furnishings and bold decor. The rooms offer an iPod docking station, plush mattresses, fluffy pillows, a minibar and ironing facilities, LCD TV and ample workspace. The modern and private bathrooms have bath and shower facilities. Guests can take a dip in the on-site indoor swimming pool, work out at the fitness centre or indulge in the spa centre where different treatments, body scrubs and massages are provided. Indulge in inspired cuisine at one of four delectable restaurants, Cafe BLD serves buffet-style international cuisine with an open kitchen all day. For more Asian flavours, YUZU Japanese Grill serves offering unique temaki, sushi and an array of freshly grilled seafood. While New Dynasty serves Cantonese, Shanghainese dishes for both lunch and dinner. Coffee, tea and cocktails are served at The Lounge. With 1266 sq.m. of creative space for your meeting and a team of dedicated professionals behind you every step of the way, your event promises to be both memorable and inspiring. With all these accommodations, Renaissance Putuo Hotel is without a doubt the best place to stay when visiting Shanghai ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Renaissance Shanghai Putuo Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing