We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Customer service-WOW!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Renaissance Shanghai Putuo Hotel
Ranked #20 of 5,146 Hotels in Shanghai
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 May 2014

We stayed at this hotel for 7 nights in early April, 2014. It was wonderful!! Breakfast was outstanding, the room was immaculate and the customer service was out of this world! They also mailed post cards home for us, got us a taxi we could trust, and in general was very helpful with anything we needed. My wife attended a two-day nuclear industry conference at the hotel and was treated like gold by the staff and the other attendees as well. She was the only Westerner there!!! We had to leave early on the last day to catch a flight to X'ian to see the Terra Cotta Warriors and they prepared a meal for us, so we wouldn't have to go hungry! That was nice!

Room Tip: Just ask, they will accommodate you if they can.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 410RIcky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (564)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

170 - 176 of 564 reviews

Reviewed 14 May 2014

Excellent hotel - very modern, friendly staff. We stayed here three nights as part of a tour group with ChinaTours.com. The room was large with high end amenities. The bed was very comfy and the linens were of the highest quality. You could close off the bathroom by closing two side walls. And the curtains and sheers were electronically controlled. WiFi was available in the rooms which is a real plus not having to go to the lobby. They offer a happy hour in the bar area. There is a small shopping mall & food court immediately under the hotel which was very convenient. Breakfast buffet was the best compared to three other hotels we stayed while in China. More variety of Western foods as options. They lobby offered two machines - an ATM and one to exchange money to/from RMB - very convenient.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank phylgary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2014

I have stayed at many Renaissance Hotels but this one was unique! You expect them to be well maintained, clean and well appointed. Those characteristics are all true here but what stood out the most was how they volunteered to open the breakfast up early so that we could enjoy a hot, delicious meal before catching an early flight to Beijing. Other nice hotels have prepared box breakfasts which were appreciated but nothing beats a well prepared, hot meal. The internet was easy to connect to and stable. That was not the case at other upper end hotels on this trip. Well done!!!!!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AFCol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2014 via mobile

I loved this hotel. I stayed here in early April as part of a tour. The breakfast buffets were very diverse and included plenty of western food along with Chinese.
The room had two large beds and what I found very nice and unusual was the way they configured the bathroom. When I entered the room for the first time I was blown away with the sight of a bathtub in the middle of the room. The bathroom had two sliding walls that when pulled together created privacy.
I also like the underground connection to a shopping area that included a Subway restaurant and a large and modern grocery store.
A beautiful hotel with all the amenities.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
Thank Bearyz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2014

I stayed 4 nights for my business trip. Everything was prefect. Staff were all friendly with smile, room was nice and clean, model decoration. Breakfast was great. Definitely stay this hotel again when next in Shanghai

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank J279S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2014

This is an ultra-modern 5-star hotel in Shanghai. The lobby has a nice art- deco feel to it with it's chic decor, swank sofas and booths. It has some nice restaurants,a nice bar and plenty of this to make nice pics but most of all the rooms are to die for!! They are spacious, hip and very funny Have to see it for yourself.



S

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cemuni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2014

I totally agree with other reviewers about how nice this Renaissance is. I don't think I can add anything to what others have said except that I would recommend this place to all types of travelers. There is a large food court in the metro basement underneath the hotel. There are also restaurants in the mall next door.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank VDlong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Shanghai hotels
Shanghai Railway Station
Courtyard by Marriott Shanghai Central
Gubei / Hongqiao / Minhang
Renaissance Shanghai Caohejing Hotel
Zhongshan Park
New World Shanghai Hotel
New World Shanghai Hotel
#10 of 5,146 in Shanghai
1,614 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Changfeng Park
JW Marriott Hotel Shanghai Changfeng Park
Waigaoqiao
Sheraton Shanghai Waigaoqiao Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Renaissance Shanghai Putuo Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance Shanghai Putuo Hotel

Address: No.50 Tongchuan Road, Putuo District, Shanghai 200333, China (Formerly Renaissance Shanghai Putuo Hotel&A Marriott Luxury&Lifestyle Hotel)
Region: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai > Caoyang / Zhenru
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 5,146 Hotels in Shanghai
Price Range: £78 - £155 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Renaissance Shanghai Putuo Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 330
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Renaissance Shanghai Putuo Hotel, a Marriott Luxury&Lifestyle Hotel you'll find a place where simple delights become memorable moments. Where distinctive style flirts with touches of whimsy. And where unparalleled service and uncommon sophistication provide a unique experience. At this exceptional boutique hotel in Shanghai, there's always something wonderfully new to be found. Indulge in inspired cuisine at one of four delectable restaurants, meet with colleagues and clients at our state-of-the-art meeting space, dive into our sparkling indoor swimming pool or take in the view from your room or suite. If you'd like to venture beyond our doors, all of the city awaits. Just steps from this boutique hotel's Shanghai location you'll find awe-inspiring museums, chic shops, exciting nightlife and world-renowned businesses. And if you're not sure how to spend the day, our Shanghai boutique hotel's concierge can help you choose the activities that best suit your needs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Expedia, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Renaissance Shanghai Putuo Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing