We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“good service, good restaurants, close to a subway station”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Renaissance Shanghai Putuo Hotel
Ranked #19 of 5,035 Hotels in Shanghai
Certificate of Excellence
Yanji, China
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“good service, good restaurants, close to a subway station”
Reviewed 8 January 2011

We visited Shanghai for the Expo 2010. The hotel was a 20 min cab ride from Hongqiao Airport. Excellent staff and service were noticeable from the moment we walked out of the cab. The room was well designed along with a nice rain shower head in the bathroom. We enjoyed the swimming pool. The breakfast with our stay was a great deal. Their buffet dinner was excellent. The hotel was away from the city in a residential area but there was a subway stop across from the hotel.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jepras
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

499 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    303
    160
    22
    7
    7
See reviews for
53
93
29
183
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2011

I am a Shanghai expat, but stayed there with a group tour en route to Hong Kong.

It's a very modern and impressive 5 star Hotel. The location is far from central Shanghai, but it is directly opposite Lan'gao Road Station on Subway Line 7. About 30 minutes to get you to People's Park (as a comparator).

The service was excellent when we needed something (we thought we forgot to take something from our room and they escorted us back to our room).

The room is very new. The bathroom is separated from the room by wooden sliding doors, so there is a lack of aural privacy. The facilities are very modern. Amazing shower head with great hot water and lots of jets. All the lotions and sewing kit etc you need.

Bed was very soft for Western standards, and more pillows than you can fit on a bed. Curtains are electronically operated.

Breakfast was an extensive buffet breakfast (and to my delight, had yoghurt and museli). Coffee was apparently very good (for Chinese standards, that is), said my travel partner.

The issue is whether the hotel can keep it up. If you don't mind being in the outskirts of the city and to spend 30 minutes to get into to city centre, I'd recommend it.

  • Stayed January 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank franktastic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shelby, North Carolina
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 November 2010

We stayed at this hotel for 2 nights (October 7,8) during a 9-day China tour. The room was large and comfortable. The large bathroom has both a walk-in shower and a bathtub , and is connected to the bedroom by a sliding wall. Toiletries included toothbrushes and toothpaste as well as the standard items.

A buffet breakfast included a large selection of both American and Chinese dishes. Eggs were cooked individually. Coffee was plentiful (which we didn't find to be the case in all of the hotels we stayed in) and waitresses roamed the tables with refills.

Our only regret was that we toured so extensively that we didn't have time to enjoy the many amenities offered.

  • Stayed October 2010
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank normajane44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tampa, Florida
1 review
Reviewed 28 August 2010

Beautiful hotel, it was opened early this year.
Spacious and clean guest rooms.
Good location, within walking distance to the subway station.
Hotel staff are very helpful and polite.
Breakfast buffet with both western and chinese food items, a lot of variety and delicious.

Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank enjoyLife101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
37 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2010

We went to Shanghai for EXPO in late July and stayed in this hotel after recommendation by friends and were happy that we chose this hotel. The hotel is brand-new opening only in June and everything is new and fresh. The staff are wonderful and helpful. The train station is just opposite the hotel and easy to access anywhere in Shanghai. EXPO is just 40 mins by train. To go to city by cab takes around 45 mins, which is worthwhile considering it is a 5-star hotel with promotional rates now. Breakfast is good with a mix of east and west and the Chinese Restaurant is extremely good. The indoor swimming pool is nice and clean. This hotel will be a good base for those who wants to go for EXPO and it will be a hot choice for holidays in Shanghai in future.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank goforholiday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2010

I was looking for new 5 star hotels in Shanghai and then I got a very good deal from this hotel. The hotel itself looks stunning from the outside. Excellent service. Staffs are very helpful and always smiling. Lobby is quiet and I have a drink at the lobby. Very relaxing.
Room is spacious and bed is comfy. Tried their buffet and Chinese restaurant (New Dynasty). They have some great seafood buffet and the Cantonese dim sum at New Dynasty is the highlight! You have to try the Shrimp Dumpling! The hotel is not located in the middle of the town but subway station is right next to the hotel so it's still very convenience and easy to get you to Expo if that's where you want to go. Taxi is also quite cheap in Shanghai.
Would love to come back. If you are looking for a nice 5 star hotel in Shanghai without paying too much, I'd have to say this is the place for you.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank victoriasecretlover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Istanbul, Turkey
Level Contributor
36 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2010

Stayed 4 nights. Location is not good but the rest is just perfect. Rooms are spaicous, modern, clean, very nice. One of the best and cheapest Japanese Restaurant is in the hotel, must give a try! Personnel is poor in English but perfect in service, they do their best to make you happy, and all they expect is to see you smiling. Very good breakfast. Very nice lobby and lobby bar. I reccomend everybody except location but if you take a cab you will be in downtown (The Bunk) in 1/2 hour.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KYBALION
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Shanghai hotels
Shanghai Railway Station
Courtyard by Marriott Shanghai Central
Zhongshan Park
New World Shanghai Hotel
New World Shanghai Hotel
#18 of 5,035 in Shanghai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,281 reviews
People’s Square
Shanghai Marriott Hotel City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Bund
Les Suites Orient, Bund Shanghai
Old Town
Renaissance Shanghai Yu Garden Hotel
Pullman Shanghai South
#26 of 5,035 in Shanghai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 253 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Renaissance Shanghai Putuo Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance Shanghai Putuo Hotel

Property: Renaissance Shanghai Putuo Hotel
Address: No.50 Tongchuan Road, Putuo District, Shanghai 200333, China (Formerly Renaissance Shanghai Putuo Hotel&A Marriott Luxury&Lifestyle Hotel)
Region: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai > Caoyang / Zhenru
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 5,035 Hotels in Shanghai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — Renaissance Shanghai Putuo Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 330
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Renaissance Shanghai Putuo Hotel, a Marriott Luxury & Lifestyle Hotel, you'll find a place where simple delights become memorable moments. The hotel is ideally located on the Tongchuan Road, directly connected to Metro Line 7 Langao Road Station which can directly access to the Jing’an Temple, Shanghai World Expo Exhibition & Convention Center, Shanghai New International Expo Center, etc. It takes 10 minutes from the hotel to Shanghai Railway Station, 15 minutes to Shanghai International Sourcing Promotion Center, 25 minutes to Hongqiao International airport, 45 minutes to Pudong International Airport. The hotel has 330 guest rooms, have contemporary furnishings and bold decor. The rooms offer an iPod docking station, plush mattresses, fluffy pillows, a minibar and ironing facilities, LCD TV and ample workspace. The modern and private bathrooms have bath and shower facilities. Guests can take a dip in the on-site indoor swimming pool, work out at the fitness centre or indulge in the spa centre where different treatments, body scrubs and massages are provided. Indulge in inspired cuisine at one of four delectable restaurants, Cafe BLD serves buffet-style international cuisine with an open kitchen all day. For more Asian flavours, YUZU Japanese Grill serves offering unique temaki, sushi and an array of freshly grilled seafood. While New Dynasty serves Cantonese, Shanghainese dishes for both lunch and dinner. Coffee, tea and cocktails are served at The Lounge.  With 1266 sq.m. of creative space for your meeting and a team of dedicated professionals behind you every step of the way, your event promises to be both memorable and inspiring. With all these accommodations, Renaissance Putuo Hotel is without a doubt the best place to stay when visiting Shanghai. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Ebookers, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Hotel.de, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Renaissance Shanghai Putuo Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing