We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Like staying with friends”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Ascott Huai Hai Road Shanghai
Ranked #138 of 5,059 Hotels in Shanghai
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Like staying with friends”
Reviewed 12 June 2014

Ascott Huai Hai Lu in Shanghai has been our residence of choice for the past 3 years. Yes,because of its convenience to get anywhere and shop anything. Also because of the spacious and clean suites (equipped with all the necessary home amenities including washer and dryer). Coupled with a secure atmosphere at a reasonable price, we need not think twice. But we really enjoy our stays because it is like staying with friends at the Ascott. This is something rare in the very commercial hospitality industry nowadays. Kudos to the mgmt and staff!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AHHRSSHANGHAI, General Manager at Ascott Huai Hai Road Shanghai, responded to this review, 13 November 2014
Thank you so much for your lovely feedback! I have shared it with the whole team as a motivational testimonial, giving our daily work a deep sense of meaning. Hospitality is all about welcoming and treating customers like family or friends. We look forward to welcoming you soon back at Ascott Huai Hai Road Shanghai!
Sincerely, Inka Uusitalo-Raoult - Residence Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

269 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    93
    112
    45
    13
    6
See reviews for
43
25
10
141
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
157 reviews
118 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2014 via mobile

The Ascott is very centrally located, close to many sites. My 1 bed room was massive. A nicely equipped kitchen, with washer drier, a cosy living room area, a large bedroom and a spacious bathroom. All the rooms well appointed. The bed comfortable. Bathroom had shower area which is nice and convenient. Internet not the fastest.

Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
3 Thank MassiG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AHHRSSHANGHAI, General Manager at Ascott Huai Hai Road Shanghai, responded to this review, 6 April 2015
Thank you for having stayed at Ascott Huai Hai Road Shanghai! Since your stay, we have upgraded our broadband. So if you are planning a trip to Shanghai again, we would be delighted to welcome you back and provide improved connectivity.
Inka Uusitalo-Raoult, Residence Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shanghai, China
1 review
Reviewed 26 May 2014

Of all the hotels in which I have stayed in Shanghai Ascott is undoubtedly the best.
Extremely well positioned with an impeccable and warm service it is very pleasant to find after busy days. The rooms very clean and pleasantly decorated, with a great view of the city.
Bonus: I attended a dance party madness on the huge terrace of the hotel, with Chinese and European Salsa dancing perfectly. A great moment!

5 stars without a doubt.
I highly recommend it.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChristopherCuzak75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AHHRSSHANGHAI, General Manager at Ascott Huai Hai Road Shanghai, responded to this review, 22 June 2014
Thank you for having taken the time to share your experience with other travellers! I am delighted to know that you enjoyed your stay at Ascott Huai Hai Road Shanghai.
How fun to know that you participated to the Salsa night! Those are organised about once a month in the 6th floor restaurant and oh boy! the atmosphere is indeed great. Anyone is welcome to dance - or just to look and enjoy the show: some salsa schools' students come to these events for practice and they are stunning on the dance floor!
Inka Uusitalo-Raoult, Residence Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gothenburg, Sweden
Level Contributor
226 reviews
90 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 May 2014 via mobile

I directly claimed the bad sewage like smell when I checked in for a 2 weeks stay, some maintenance guys did something to correct the issue.
This was repeated during 5 days, mostly when coming back from my business tasks until I finally got enough after one week and got the manager in charge to visit my room to experience this smell herself.
After 6 nights I could check in to a room without smell, this due to the great help of Gabriel Gao.
The location is great in the Xintiandi area, but I am sorry to state that Ascott, in despite of that they state to be a higher class of serviced apartment provider, don't seem to live up to this. You should not be exposed to that You have to wait six days to get a room smelling of sewage corrected.

Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Peter_Pe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AHHRSSHANGHAI, General Manager at Ascott Huai Hai Road Shanghai, responded to this review, 25 May 2014
Thank you for having stayed with Ascott. I am pleased to know that the reputation of our group influenced your choice, and it is my duty to make sure we deliver up to those expectations. I am truly sorry that it was not quite the case during your previous stay. I am not certain at this point what could have caused the unpleasant smell in your apartment, and will look into it personally with Gabriel Gao and our engineering team.
Thank you for your kind words on Gabriel! She is our Guest Service mgr, indeed a very competent person whom we are proud to have in our team. I am glad she could improve your stay experience, eventhough 6 days was clearly a too long period to suffer from any inconvenience. Please accept my apologies for that.
On a lighter note, I am glad to inform that Ascott has recently selected it's own scent, which will soon be available in our public areas - worldwide.
Looking forward to welcoming you back at Ascott, Inka Uusitalo-Raoult, Residence Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
Level Contributor
33 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2014

Location in Shanghai is subjective, depending on the traveler's reason for being there. I was there essential for personal reasons, and stayed a couple of months. I wanted a place where I could walk to restaurants, meet friends, see films and stroll in parks, and hop onto taxis, or even the occasional underground train. Everything was within a short walk from the Ascott, situated as it is on Huai Hai Zhong ( Middle ) Road.

Not surprisingly, there are other hotels boasting the same location, from the Langham to Andaz to three/two star places at a third or less the prices charged by the aforenamed 5-star places. Ascott's distinct locational advantage is that it is on a busy stretch of one of the city's busiest streets, in the midst of a dense cluster of expensive shops and good eateries, and at an intersection. So much for its location. Unbeatable for me, despite the fact that I used taxis daily all the same, while I stayed there, for Shanghai is a huge metropolis.

Outwardly, the hotel-cum-service flats has a clean modern look, although its design is unoriginal. The rooms are, unfortunately, in dark hues, typical of many similar places. However, I must add that the sole restaurant in the hotel, where breakfast is also served ( more on that in a moment ), takes the prize for sheer bad taste in colour scheme and furnishing. How could anyone marry dark wood with mauve velvet fabric that has a permanent sheen? Not to mention the ceiling lights and the pretentious high backs of the chairs. As for the breakfast, some three-star hotels I stayed in when I was a student served better food. Poor cooking, indifferent service and low-quality products made eating breakfast a chore to be gotten through expeditiously. I took to skipping the first meal of the day there, as there are many other choices within walking distance.

As a long-term resident, the linen is changed only twice weekly, and cleaning services on the same regularity. This alone disqualify Ascott from claiming 5-star status.

The counter staff was invariably helpful, although their English, not surprisingly, was not up to par. They also were not knowledgeable about the city, probably because most of the staff are not locals. The resident Manager was agreeable and tried to be helpful at all times, but some decisions to improve things are simply not hers to take, I suspect. One of them is the claim on the website about the size of the apartments. Mine was a good 12 to 14 square metre less than the claim. This I consider untenable, as other 5-star hotels in China I stayed in made so such unfounded claims about the room size.

If Ascott's parent company wishes to continue branding itself as a top-of-the-range service-apartment chain and retain customer loyalty, it should consider investing money in improving the quality of food and decor and services.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 5_starhotellover88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AHHRSSHANGHAI, General Manager at Ascott Huai Hai Road Shanghai, responded to this review, 25 May 2014
Thank you for having taken the time to share such a detailed experience over your stay with Ascott. I am glad about all the good things you mentioned and have taken note about the areas to improve, together with the relevant teams.
Wishing you a great time back in your home country - and looking forward to welcoming you back at Ascott.
Inka Uusitalo-Raoult, Residence Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
Level Contributor
71 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2014 via mobile

We stayed in a one bedroom premier in April 2014 over the good friday weekend. The room was spacious and well appointed, and we especially loved the location: 5 mins walk to xintiandi and its restaurants, shopping, late night dining and massage spa places. The only downside is that since the hotel is located along huai hai road, there was often some traffic congestion getting in and out of the area. But this comes with the territory given the central location. We will definitely stay here again when we are next in Shanghai.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank aiguebelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AHHRSSHANGHAI, General Manager at Ascott Huai Hai Road Shanghai, responded to this review, 16 May 2014
Thank you for sharing your experience! I am delighted to know that you enjoyed your stay and our central location. As you mentioned, big metropoles have traffic conjestion during peak hours and Shanghai is no excpetion to that. Luckily, Ascott Huai Hai Road Shanghai is facing the metro station (line1), it is only a couple hundred meters from the ramp to YanAn Highway leading to airports and railway stations, and has a carpark - so accessibility is relatively good.
Summer is coming and the platane-trees of Huai Hai Road are green. Welcome back to enjoy the best season in Shanghai!
Inka Uusitalo, Residence Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 April 2014

I stayed here with a group of friends (stayed in the 3 bdrm apartment) and really enjoyed the property and location of this apartment/hotel.

Very central and a couple of minutes away from xintiandi. Great for expats so if you're after comfort from home in the city of Shanghai where there is a very wide variety of places you can stay, you won't go wrong here.

Overall, great place for a friends getaway.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Freq_traveller10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AHHRSSHANGHAI, General Manager at Ascott Huai Hai Road Shanghai, responded to this review, 17 April 2014
It is pleasure to know that you enjoyed your stay at Ascott Huai Hai Road. What a fun idea to book a large apartment and share it friends! Sounds like you had a great time. Thank you for sharing this on line. And welcome back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Shanghai hotels
Xintiandi
Andaz Xintiandi Shanghai
Andaz Xintiandi Shanghai
#26 of 5,059 in Shanghai
845 reviews
Jing'an
THE ONE Executive Suites managed by Kempinski-Shanghai
Xintiandi
The Langham Shanghai Xintiandi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Former French Concession
Pudi Boutique Hotel
Pudi Boutique Hotel
#217 of 5,059 in Shanghai
231 reviews
People’s Square
Jinjiang MetroPolo Hotel Classiq Shanghai Peoples' Square
People’s Square
JW Marriott Hotel Shanghai at Tomorrow Square
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ascott Huai Hai Road Shanghai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ascott Huai Hai Road Shanghai

Property: Ascott Huai Hai Road Shanghai
Address: 282, Huai hai Road Central | Huangpu District, Shanghai 200021, China
Phone Number:
Region: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai > People’s Square
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#98 Business Hotel in Shanghai
#122 Luxury Hotel in Shanghai
#176 Best Value Hotel in Shanghai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Ascott Huai Hai Road Shanghai 4.5*
Number of rooms: 306
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ascott Huai Hai Road Shanghai is located in the most prestigious commercial area of Shanghai. It is just a short walk from the famous Xintiandi, the city’s premier lifestyle and entertainment hub with a myriad of restaurants, cafés, bars and boutiques. Surrounded by Hong Kong Plaza, Lippo Plaza and rows of modern office buildings, providing convenience for both business and leisure travellers. Apartments vary from studios to 3-bedroom apartments, and all are furnished in a modern style, with large bathrooms and an equipped kitchen. Efficient hotel services in a homely environment,catering to the needs of businessmen, visitors and families alike. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ascott Huai Hai Road Shanghai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ascott Huaihai Road Shanghai Hotel Shanghai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing