We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good accommodation.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Modena By Fraser Putuo Shanghai
Certificate of Excellence
Adelaide
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Very good accommodation.”
Reviewed 25 February 2012

Booked this apartment accommodation based on positive reviews from TA. Didnt have any problems in my stay. Breakfast is not great, but service from staff at breakfast is very good, even though their English isn't fantastic.
Front desk staff English is excellent.
Concierge very efficient.
Accommodation is clean, modern, and very comfortable.
Gym is reasonable, but could do with some extra machines.
Would be helpful if management could place a wash cloth for dishes in the kitchen, and also some extra small kitchen tools such as peeler.
Laundry is well equipped. Have booked again, and just waiting for sales manager Zhang to issue me with a corporate contract for our company.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank manjiangchun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

256 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    125
    98
    24
    4
    5
See reviews for
62
43
18
66
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Kuching, Malaysia
Level 6 Contributor
95 reviews
91 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 148 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 February 2012

I don't intend to give this hotel a 4* score of Very Good, but it is certainly above an Average score of 3*, so 3.5* it would be...
This property should appeal more to younger people than to my hubby and I who are in our mid-fifties. The stairs are a little steep and we had to make sure we held the handrail and not miss the steps while moving between floors.
The hotel design is modern and chic, as you can see from the photos.
We got a good rate of RM228 from pyotravel which came with 2 breakfasts. We thought breakfast spread was adequate.
The hotel is about 5-8 minutes walk from the MRT station. Crossing the traffic junction to get to the station takes a bit of skill as bicycle traffic would come to you left, right and centre.
Do note that you have to switch lines to go to popular sites like The Bund, People's Square etc and to the airport or train station as well. Also take note that switching lines does involve a bit of walking within the forever crowded station.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LemonJane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Heerlen, The Netherlands
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 January 2012

We stayed 3 nights. Nice big rooms with a modern design. Groundfloor had a well equiped kitchen, upstairs a small livingroom with flatscreen and comfi couch, up splitlevel a very good bed (especially for Chinese standards!) and a small but clean bathroom. Breakfast indeed could be improved. Area not very interesting but close to subway to city centre. Free use of computer in lobby. I would return if the price is right. Staff is friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: Nice views and less street noise on high floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DGunung
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 October 2011

We loved the place! Went there with 3 other gals and we had two - two bedrooms loft. It was modern and guest service was friendly and know exactly what we needed everytime we inquire about something. It is near the train station so quiet easy to get to anywhere but mostly we took taxi to the 'hot' areas but at least needed to take 20-30mins ride so that was kinda tire. We had a very very late check-out as we didnt' get back to the hotel at 2pm on our last day and we were rushing to the airport to catch our plane too so the hotel didnt charge us and we have to say a big 'thank you' to them for being so considerate. The bed and facilities in the room are great!^^ So y Very Good and not Excellent just coz the location and the dust in the dishes. (suggest washing them before using any of them in the kitchen)

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Vitaletea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bilbao
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2011

While looking for a house, my family (2+2) has been living in the hotel. Really kind and helpful people (best ever seen in China). Pictures form web page 100% accurate. I have fallen in love. It is not a real hotel, but a serviced apartment.

PRICE/ QUALITY RATE (9/10): 100€ - two bedroom + kitchen + living room
LOCATION (8/10): four Subway stations to Nanjing Road (Metro station 30m from hotel), but nothing else surrounding.
ROOM (10/10): one of the best I've ever been (modern, spacious, and clean)
WIFI: (8/10): complimentary and fast enough (room and lobby). Sometimes it is down for a while. Wifi + cable.
BREAKFAST: (6/10): good quality, but 75% Chinese and not many things. Weakest point.
STAFF (9/10): incredible in China. Poor English level, but good enough for understanding.
RESTAURANT (8/10): good quality & quantity but low variety
AMENITIES (9/10): kitchen, microwave, big refrigerator available.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank EGamboa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2011

Great rooms and good value.

Only the "western" breakfast is sub standard. The wait staff are useless and get in the way while trying to help. If they could get a decent breakfast offering would easily be a four star review

  • Stayed April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jianzhou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bengaluru, India
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 December 2010

The room was very clean with fresh air. The bed was comfortable and good size. The staff of the hotel work effectively and very friendly. Always ready to help and good english speaking. Overall, the hotel and their service was good and wothy to stay.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sophiechdh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Shanghai hotels
Old Town
SSAW Boutique Hotel Shanghai Bund
Shanghai Railway Station
Pullman Shanghai Jing An
Pullman Shanghai Jing An
#60 of 5,069 in Shanghai
1,703 reviews
Shanghai Railway Station
Courtyard by Marriott Shanghai Central
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Waigaoqiao
Sheraton Shanghai Waigaoqiao Hotel
Zhongshan Park
New World Shanghai Hotel
New World Shanghai Hotel
#11 of 5,069 in Shanghai
1,383 reviews
The Bund
Les Suites Orient, Bund Shanghai
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Modena By Fraser Putuo Shanghai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Modena By Fraser Putuo Shanghai

Property: Modena By Fraser Putuo Shanghai
Address: No.1, Lane 58, Tongchuan Road, Putuo District, Shanghai 200333, China
Region: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai > Caoyang / Zhenru
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 311 Speciality Lodging in Shanghai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Modena By Fraser Putuo Shanghai 4*
Number of rooms: 348
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Agoda, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Modena By Fraser Putuo Shanghai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Modena Putuo Shanghai Hotel Shanghai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing