We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Modena By Fraser Putuo Shanghai
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 June 2013

We stayed as a family of 4 ( 2 adults a 5 year old and 4 year old) for 2 nights at Modena whilst transitting through Shanghai. From arrival to departure we were well taken care of. Our flight was delayed leaving Shanghai and the wonderful Carol Yang helped us with translations with the plane (we are Australian), late check out, early check in, room upgrade and everything between. We knew when we booked that the hotel was away from the bund area, we actually chose to be away from it all. Our children have severe food allergies, so we require a kitchen as a higher priority than location, and Carol even made sure we had some supplies on hand upon arrival. The train station and food shopping is a very short walk just across the road, so all our needs were met. The train was very easy to navigate and well worth the adventure....although we paid for our childrens tickets to learn later that we needed have done that, as all children under 130cms are free. We were only down about 50 cents though...not a big deal.
There is a little room within the hotel for kids as a play room, and my children were happy enough playing there, but realistically its aimed at toddlers.
If going to Shanghai again, I would definitely stay again.
2 negative points, the bedding smelt of cigarette smoke and the only two cereals for the breakfast were both stale, in saying that though there were several other breakfast chiices. A point of note for those with young children, in the room type we were in, a 2 bedroom loft with kitchen. On the ground level there is a kitchen and dining area, second level there is a a bedroom and living room, then off that goes about another 4 steps up to a third level (the loft) with a queen bed and bathroom. When sitting on the second level the flooring from the second level down to the first level is open under the stairs and along the wall, this is about a foot high gap which has no obstructions, so if you had a crawling baby or small toddler they could easily fall through down from second floor to ground floor. You could move the sofa to hide the gap or block it off with suitcases, but had my children been any younger I would have been very stressed. The stairs alone still caused me a bit of stress.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AllergyTots
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carol Y, Guest Relations Manager at Modena By Fraser Putuo Shanghai, responded to this reviewResponded 25 June 2013

Many thanks for your feedback on tripadvisor.com

Allow me to thank you also for having taken the time to share you experience with us.

We much appreciate that you call us “Great Service”. We are much honored to receive your positive feedback and do apologize for the 2 negative points. We will try our best to improve our service level and live up to your expectations.

We hope to welcome you back soon again.

Best regards,

Carol Yang
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (278)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

134 - 140 of 278 reviews

Reviewed 20 June 2013

I have stained Modena one week. It's close to my office. Compare with hotel, I like to stay service apartment. I could do cooking by myself. There is a big supermarket nearby. I could buy everything I need for cooking. Staffs are very helpful and warmly. I will choose it when I back to shanghai.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank XinB198777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carol Y, Guest Relations Manager at Modena By Fraser Putuo Shanghai, responded to this reviewResponded 25 June 2013

Many thanks for your feedback on tripadvisor.com

Thank you for having taken the time to share your thoughts about your stay with us.

We hope to welcome you back soon again.


Best regards,

Carol Yang
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2013

I stayed here one week ago, what make me feel good is the room with two level, the first one is living area where I can meet friends and make food, the second one is bed room. Its quite convenient to the market, with only 5 min in walk distence, and 10 min away from the seafood market by taxi. So during my stay I cook every day. The location is good though its a bit far away the central, the metro is near. I like the staff, they are very friendly. If I come, Iwill choose modena putuo.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steven1215
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carol Y, Guest Relations Manager at Modena By Fraser Putuo Shanghai, responded to this reviewResponded 25 June 2013

Many thanks for your feedback on tripadvisor.com

Thank you for having taken the time to share your thoughts about your stay with us.

We are much honored also to know that you like the staff, and said "they are very friendly".

Don’t stay away for too long and we are looking forward to have you back soonest again.

Best regards,

Carol Yang
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2013

Sorry for some mistakes :) bellow

Stayed in the hoteal for more than two weeks.

Location:
Very good hotel. Located near good shoping center and metro station.Starbucks on first floor.
To get to center of shanghai (3-4 stops) will take 20 min less than 1$, taxi will charge about 5$ max.no many things to see around the hotel,so if you plan is to travel - and enjoy from Shanghai I am not sure if it is the best location.
Advised to take adress from the loby and to show to the taxi driverse, since the area is quite new and some of drivers don't now the place. Advised to take tel numbes as well, I was calling the lobby to help to direct the driver.
Not sure if rthe place is good for family as it is far away from the city.
Morning breakfast:
good quality of food and choise.
Stuff:
As mentioned previously- not the best with english, but once you know it you will mange it. Speak slowly. and insure they understand, ask to repeat your request.
Insure they understood, othervise there could be a problem: I was asking for wake up call - never happened. I missed important meeting. Once told to the lobby about the event, I was really surprised by not profesional and not honest responce....
Rooms:
very nice and modern - very modern. very good beds. the room always was clean. ask to stay on higher floor, to prevent from noise. Some rooms are lofts (two floors) with ledger.
Looks nice but in the morning might be not convinient - your choise. I found it funny.

Room Tip: Rooms are great, ask with the view to the park, prefer to stay on higher floor (won't hear noise...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dany k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carol Y, Guest Relations Manager at Modena By Fraser Putuo Shanghai, responded to this reviewResponded 28 April 2013

Thank you for sharing your recent experience at Modena Putuo Shanghai in detail with the tripadvisor community.

We are much honored to receive your positive feedback and do apologize for the wake up call issue. We will try our best to improve our service level and live up to your expectations.

Again, we do appreciate your comments, and we hope to have the chance to welcome you soonest again.

Best regards,

Carol Yang
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2013

A city of 28 million people... Where to stay in this vastness and at what cost... Best to pick somewhere on the underground line (def a plus for the Modena) and where taxis (cheap-ish in Shanghai) will take you (nope. lots of taxis had no idea of how to get us back to hotel, even if we showed them on the hotel card which includes a map).

Assuming you are a public transport using person, the Modena's location should work out fine. The rooms (all split level?) are studio-like, have kitchens, are super-quiet, very stylish and - well actually - they are like mini-apartments with kitchen, eat-in, living room and then bed platform: 3 levels. Frankly, pretty fantastic rooms at the rate.

Food? Very good and not expensive.

The staff: really friendly and truly helpful: go out of their way but few spoke English.

I'd stay there again but would get my head sorted on the transport in and out of town.

In sum, probably unbeatable for the price.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AnthonyHadenWest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carol Y, Guest Relations Manager at Modena By Fraser Putuo Shanghai, responded to this reviewResponded 6 April 2013

Many thanks for your review on tripadvisor.com about “Great rooms”.

We very much appreciate your support – we know that there are plenty of options in a town like Shanghai.

We are happy to hear that you said "The staff: really friendly and truly helpful" and thank you for praises.

Don’t stay away for too long and we are looking forward to have you back soonest again.

Best regards,

Carol Yang
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2013

We have been staying at the Modena Putuo for 3 months now, so consider this as a review for a long-term stay. My comments may not be as relevant if you're just staying for a couple of nights.

First, the pros:
- location, while outside the downtown area, is great: a 5-minute walk and you're inside a subway car, there's a supermarket in the basement floor of the next door building, there's Starbucks, Pizza Hut, Watson's, McDonald's and -dare I mention it- 3 restaurants at the neighboring Renaissance Hotel in case you run out of options. There's also a little park right in front. Not big nor amazingly beautiful, but nice to have a quiet corner. The Metro station is on line 7, which intersects with most major other lines: line 2 at Jing'An temple, line 1 at ChangShu Rd, line 9 at ZhaoJiabang Rd, Line3/4 at Zhenping Rd. So, getting to somewhere in town is never more than 8-9 stations and one line change away.

- the rooms, while on average rather small, are quite practically laid out. We had a bit of difficulty with space management in the beginning, but that's because we had accumulated quite a lot of stuff after 2 years in Shanghai. If you're coming straight from abroad with regular luggage, even the smaller rooms should do (by the way, we're renting a Studio Deluxe, which is larger than regular rooms)

- little things that make life easier/nicer when staying long-term: you can rent a water fountain and have water tanks delivered to your room, the front desk staff takes care of admin stuff like police registration, 24/7 access to the gym (not that I routinely work out at 3am :-), laundry room (though the RMB20/wash is a bit steep), etc.


Then, again when you stay sufficiently long somewhere, the shiny surface peels and cracks a little:

- as someone already pointed out, the housekeeping leaves a lot to be desired. When we moved in, the first thing we asked to be removed was the carpet. It was a dust trap, and quite frankly what was underneath was plain disgusting. The floors are never cleaned up with water, at most the cleaning ladies will wipe the dust from the far end of the room to the door with a dry cloth (which mostly just ends up spreading the dust around). So we end up doing quite a bit of extra cleaning by ourselves. Not a big deal if you stay for 1-2 nights, but something to consider longer-term. The poor cleaning and average maintenance of the premises (which is quite the standard in China, unfortunately) makes me wonder what the place will look like in a couple of years' time.

- the front desk staff really struggle with English. Out of the 9 employees there (they rotate, but having been here for a while, we can keep track!), 4 simply don't understand English. Fortunately, there's always at least 2 people at the desk at all times, so chances are you'll find someone who can help. Still, you'd expect more from a "by Fraser" place.

- the relatively low price tends to attract a certain crowd - the kind that would smoke in the corridors, shout with the doors open and bang doors in the middle of the night, if you see what I mean. Some other reviewer mentioned 80% of guests are Westerners, but I can say for certain it's actually the reverse proportion. The staff seems a little helpless at keeping unruly guests in line, so we've had a few frustrating episodes in our time here.


All in all, this is not a bad place to stay, and short-term guests will probably have a great time. But be mindful of the above if you're considering a long stay and see what matters to you.

Room Tip: Room on upper floors and/or at the end of corridor to minimize disturbances.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank B R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carol Y, Guest Relations Manager at Modena By Fraser Putuo Shanghai, responded to this reviewResponded 6 April 2013

Many thanks for your very detailed review on tripadvisor.com

We appreciate all your positive comments and do apologize for all inconvenience you experienced staying at Modena Putuo Shanghai. We have taken your comments seriously and will make the necessary changes in order that our guest can receive the best service possible.

Again, we do appreciate your comments, and we hope to have the chance to welcome you soonest again.

Best regards,

Carol Yang
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2013

We chose the Modena for our 5 night stay in Shanghai. Some reviewers had considered that it was too far from downtown Shanghai but we're glad we didn't let those comments influence our decision. This hotel apartment couldn't have been more ideally situated for us. The metro in Shanghai is superb and we were well situated for all our sightseeing. The Langao Road metro stop is in the building right across the quiet street in front of the hotel. No traffic, no noise - literally 2 minutes and you are in the station. At the bottom of the escalator a right turn leads to the trains; a left turn leads to a grocery store. This was so convenient for us because we were able to stock up on food for breakfast and snacks and make use of the kitchen in the apartment. We also travelled by bullet train to areas outside of the city and the Shanghai Railway Station was only 4 stops away. When we left Shanghai we wanted to take the Maglev to the airport and the Langao Road station line went directly to the Maglev station. It was a long ride, but no transfers was a big plus when you have suitcases to carry.
We rented a deluxe studio which had a bedroom with office area and full washroom on the main floor as you entered the apartment. Upstairs, there was a livingroom with wall-mounted flat screen t.v., office area, outdoor balcony and kitchen. From this area, there was another level up a few stairs to the main bedroom with its own t.v. and full washroom. This layout was perfect for us - our adult son had his own place on the first floor and we were upstairs.
We ate breakfast at the hotel on the first day but, unless it comes with your room, I would strongly recommend skipping this as it is overpriced for what they offer. We opened a bottle of water on the table... only to find out the charge was 62 rmb - roughly $10.20! Oh well - live and learn :0)
There are laundry facilities at the hotel and they provide tide and fabric softener at no charge. You purchase tokens from the main desk - 20 rmb for a wash; 20 rmb for the dryer. There is also a decent gym, a playroom for little children and a room with a Wii.
There is a Starbucks beside the main entrance to the hotel that was great for a quiet coffee. The staff were very polite and friendly and spoke very good English.
The front desk staff at the Modena were very helpful - especially Mr. Jack Dong who helped me with online check in for our flight and printed our boarding passes.
All in all, if you are looking for a place to stay in Shanghai that is clean, quiet and comfortable, the Modena would be an excellent choice. We will definitely stay here again and recommend it without reservation.

Room Tip: We stayed on the 14th floor and did not hear any noise - traffic or hallway. The deluxe studio had a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Gemmeroni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carol Y, Guest Relations Manager at Modena By Fraser Putuo Shanghai, responded to this reviewResponded 26 March 2013

Many thanks for your review on tripadvisor.com

We very much appreciate all your positive comments and for recommending us to any other traveler in the future. It is wonderful to hear also that you said "The front desk staff at the Modena were very helpful ".

My apologies for any displeased you experienced from having breakfast at Modena Café. Rest assured your comments have been shared with our management and we will make the necessary changes in order that our guest can receive the best service possible.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Modena Putuo Shanghai in the not too distant future.

Best regards,

Carol Yang
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Shanghai hotels
Caoyang / Zhenru
Renaissance Shanghai Putuo Hotel
Waigaoqiao
Sheraton Shanghai Waigaoqiao Hotel
The Bund
Les Suites Orient, Bund Shanghai
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Shanghai Railway Station
Pullman Shanghai Jing An
Pullman Shanghai Jing An
#65 of 5,161 in Shanghai
1,789 reviews
Shanghai Railway Station
Courtyard by Marriott Shanghai Central
Zhongshan Park
New World Shanghai Hotel
New World Shanghai Hotel
#5 of 5,161 in Shanghai
1,867 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Modena By Fraser Putuo Shanghai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Modena By Fraser Putuo Shanghai

Address: No.1, Lane 58, Tongchuan Road, Putuo District, Shanghai 200333, China
Region: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai > Caoyang / Zhenru
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 354 Speciality Lodging in Shanghai
Price Range: £60 - £77 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Modena By Fraser Putuo Shanghai 4*
Number of rooms: 348
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, HostelWorld, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Modena By Fraser Putuo Shanghai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Modena Putuo Shanghai Hotel Shanghai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing