We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the best”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Shanghai SOHO International Youth Hostel
Ranked #35 of 318 Speciality Lodging in Shanghai
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“One of the best”
Reviewed 26 January 2013 via mobile

So, after reading the most recent reviews we were a little skeptical. Admittedly, if you don't take the subway then the place can be difficult to find. My advice to that is to just take the subway. It's RMB3, so cheap as chips! However, once we got there we loved the place. All bad reviews need to realize that your paying cheap money to stay in a youth hostel, so complaining about noise is just stupid. Of course there's going to e noise at all hours. I you don't like it, then stay in a hotel, not a youth hostel. The rooms are spacious with wifi in them. The bar is amazing and does great meals and has a great vibe all the time. We stayed in a private room so we had a heap of free movies to choose from as well! The staff pretty much all speak English and are extremely helpful! And the location is great! Subway is nearby if anything is too far away! Overall, we absolutely loved it and will definitely recommend it to anybody going to shanghai.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aj0804
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

147 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    37
    66
    28
    9
    7
See reviews for
3
13
19
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Shaoxing, CN
1 review
Reviewed 1 January 2013

I stayed at this hostel over a year ago. Its okay apart from the loud music at 6 am every morning coming from the old people doing tai chi nearby. Also nobody spoke English, but luckily I had my Chinese girlfriend with me. Lately I've been receiving emails from them filled with propaganda about the Diaoyu/Senkaku islands:

"Diaoyu Island is belong to China!!!
Shanghai Soho Hostel will always defend sovereignty !"

It seems this hostel only wants Chinese guests because they are using Communist propaganda as a marketing tactic. Foreigners living in China like myself find this very off putting. I will never ever stay there again and I will advise everyone I know never to stay there as well.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JakeCarter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jacksonville, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 October 2012

I stayed here for two nights while in Shanghai. There were some really cool things about the hostel, as well as some stuff that could change. To start with the bad...the room. Although I just needed a place to crash after a long party session, I had to wear sandals in the room because there was a plumbing problem and the floor was soaked. The room also smelled kind of funky, probably also due to the plumbing problem, and looked like it had been decorated by someone's grandma. Aside from the room everything else was pretty cool. The crowd there was the usual hostel crowd, young and looking to have fun. The staff was pretty helpful, and had someone who spoke English at the desk most of the day. The bar is great, cheap beer and food. The bartender at the time was super sweet, and showed me around Shanghai in the morning. All together, I'd stay here again. The price is decent if you're like me, and you just need a place to sleep of the night (or morning) before you go out again. Hopefully, by the time you stay there the plumbing is all fixed. Oh, location isn't too bad either. I'd say its about a fifteen or twenty minute walk to the People's Square.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kse1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 September 2012

First of all the hostel is very difficult to find. We wondered around for ages trying to find it and no one speaks English so you can't get any directions. Had to phone the hostel and took ages to try and figure out which way to go because of the language barrier. If you do decide to stay (i wouldn't recommend) then come out of the subway as the instructions state, turn left, cross at the second set of lights so that you're standing outside of a wedding shop, follow the road round to the coffee shop and walk straight along for a bit till you see the hostel on your left. It's on a bit of a dodgy road. On first appearance the room looked fine albeit a bit dark. On closer inspection, we saw there were spiders and cobwebs literally all over the walls. I had to kill 4 spiders before my sister would stay in the room. There was a really big one behind the door which left a big mark on the wall which is probably still there. I think that's why the walls are painted deep purple so you don't see but literally there were cobwebs all over the place. I had to take a towel and run it along the walls to get rid of them. The cleaners don't seem to clean, they come in and empty the bin and remove towels and that's it. Hence the poor cleanliness of the rooms. I mean it's not hard to swipe a duster over the walls now and again. The bed was like a brick but that seems to be the norm in China. The next thing that hits you is the smell. The ensuite is absolutely stinkin it really is. Couldn't use the shower at all so may as well have slept in a dorm room. Went to the supermarket and bought a room spray and room scent (which may also still be there) but made no difference. There were also ants in the bathroom, probably because the hostel keeps the outside doors open all the time, meaning anything can wonder in. There were also stray cats wondering about. Couldn't get any sleep for the smell, spiders, hard bed. Ended up sleeping fully clothed on top of bed sheets with our trousers tucked into our socks in case any spiders and checked out early. Common areas are the only plus. I would never stay again.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FmM_21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
shanghai
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2012

we were there last month, we booked for three nights, only to find that, on the first floor, is really damp, they have a bar in the hostel, which means, it could be noisy if your room is near the bar, decoration is good, looks like a typical building in Shanghai old city

Room Tip: beaware that most of the room are without windows, mean, window for sunshine, not to the indoor
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank colbe d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lund, Sweden
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2012

The hostel is cheap, clean with the staff being friendly and helpful. We stayed in a double room that was nice and clean with a really small bathroom. The only complaiont is that the bathroom got "flooded" after a shower, but that's a minor glitch. The hostel is located north of central Shanghai and it's only a 15 minute walk to tha main shopping road (Nanjing road). The hostel is also really close (5 minute walk) to a subway station (Xinzha road). Daytime the neighbourhood is nice, but at nighttime the riverwalk is a little to dark and secluded for my taste.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JeppeJ_SWE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Somerset
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2012

The hostel is a five minute walk from Xin Zha Road tube station, which is only one stop from People's Square. It has a trendy youthful atmosphere, with a bar, pool table, outdoor seating and decking, and an overall good vibe.

The staff were helpful and most of them spoke English, and the rooms were basic but clean, and had daily room service. There was also a TV in our room, which was nice. There was air conditioning, which was essential as our room had no outside window. The bathroom was also the shower room - there was no separate shower. We came across this at more than one place so it may be common in China: the hot water supply was perfect, but expect the whole room to get wet if you have a shower!

The hostel was a bit noisy in the mornings as the cleaners hoover then, so it's not an ideal environment if you want to sleep in, but other than that there were no problems. There are basic washing facilities and a dryer - you will need to pay at reception to get tokens for your laundry.

Overall a good experience for a good price - would definitely recommend!

Room Tip: There are dormitory beds available but I would suggest paying a bit more for a private room as they...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JuliusV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Shanghai hotels
People’s Square
Laoshan Hostel (The Phoenix)
People’s Square
Shanghai Blue Mountain Bund Youth Hostel
Old Town
Shanghai Old West Gate International Youth Hostel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Jing'an
Le Tour Traveler's Rest Youth Hostel
Hongkou
Shanghai Soho Bund International Youth Hostel
Zhongshan Park
Rock & Wood International Youth Hostel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shanghai SOHO International Youth Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shanghai SOHO International Youth Hostel

Property: Shanghai SOHO International Youth Hostel
Address: No.1307 South Suzhou Road, Huangpu District, Shanghai 200003, China
Region: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai > Qipu Road
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #35 of 318 Speciality Lodging in Shanghai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Shanghai SOHO International Youth Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Shanghai Soho International Hostel, is ideally located in the most central of Shanghai. Just a five-minute walk from the metro station line 1 xinzha road station (with a super transport network ). Walking distance from the major attractions, like People Square and Nanjing shopping street etc.FREE WIFIOur hostel is in a 150 year old building with unique loft-style and traditional shanghai-style decoration.We invite fellow travellers to relax in our Soho bar, enjoy delicious food, or read our books and surf our mega-fast internet in our reading area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, HostelWorld, Agoda, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Shanghai SOHO International Youth Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing