We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Shanghai SOHO International Youth Hostel
Ranked #41 of 394 Speciality Lodging in Shanghai
Reviewed 12 January 2014

It's a nice place with reasonable price, near the subway, just 1-2 stops to the main places of Shanghai
Staffs speak English & helpful. The guy helped to call taxi for us & also wake up us in early morning. They also adjusted the temporary when we felt cold.
I like this place

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HueNguyen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (147)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

19 - 25 of 147 reviews

Reviewed 21 November 2013

Didn't enjoy staying here, When we got to our room the floor was soaking wet so we asked to change rooms but the next one they showed us was even worse.
Location is a bit out of the way, first time it took a little while to find our way out of there.
Main problem i had with this place was the staff, i asked to book another night and was told they were fully booked so it wasn't possible, i didn't believe them so i checked online 2mins later and there were many vacancies so i booked it online.
Not good!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RoddersGlobetrotter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2013

I have stayed in this hostel during 4 nights. Staff is really nice, dorms are ok, and it is definitely really well situated. Really near from the metro station and then just one station to People's square.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank marionl811
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2013

Clean hostel. Staff ok. Room was nice. No window, so felt quite confined. But was able to sleep through in the mornings as it remained dark. Breakfast in the morning is thrown together by some of the guys working there.

The place was over-run with Chinese tourists. Which is cool. But it wasn't a place to meet other travellers. I moved hostel prematurely as it was a pretty boring place to stay.

It is walking distance to nanjing road. But over all, I thought the location was poor. Even from the subway it was a bit of an inconvenient walk.

I wouldn't stay here again or recommend it.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Geilstyle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2013

What does it take to get hired here? Go check for yourself. The "hardworking" staff can usually be found in what has recently become an over priced bar playing on a broken pool table or socializing amongst themselves in the various hideouts at SOHO. You will notice that except for maybe two staff members who will be leaving this hostel soon, none of them socialize or tend to the needs of their foreign guests. For the most part they can hardly speak English in the bar nor do they make an effort to. This may change soon because you'll find most of these guys don't give this job more than two weeks before quitting.
I stayed here for several months because sadly this is one of the most honest businesses I could find in Shanghai. Decent prices for long term stayers (that will change very soon), and a nice place to meet girls. If you don't mind service with a bad attitude, your room rarely being cleaned or the occasional item of clothing going missing, this is the place for you long term stayers...

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nico S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2013

I stayed at the Shanghai SOHO International Youth Hostel during a long weekend visit to Shanghai. I live in Beijing and was visiting a friend. Because I was on a budget I decided to stay at the hostel because it was the lowest price for what seemed like the best location and service. The service was average. They were all very friendly and willing to help me whenever I needed it, but they really struggled at giving directions. This doesn't seem like a big issue, but getting to the hostel is extremely difficult. No taxi driver knows where to go and what you can't see from any map is that the hostel is located on a street where cars are not allowed to drive. I speak conversational Chinese, but could not understand why the taxi driver was having such a hard time finding it. Eventually when I got out of the cab and was told to walk it took me about ten minutes to find the entrance down an alley way. Basically, the location is terrible and no where near any good areas and about a ten minute walk to the subway. The friend I was meeting up with in Shanghai called the hotel multiple times asking where to go and how to find the hotel and said they were absolutely no help. We also tried to ask again when we were leaving the hostel and they handed us a card, but no easy instructions. So the location is terrible and the staff don't make it any better. However, the staff was helpful in looking up train times for me and letting me use their cellular phones. They also switched me to a new, upgraded room for no fee- but only because there were rats in the ceiling of my first room (I heard them crawling around for about an hour at 6am and the hotel staff came to our door around 9am to switch us because of an "issue" with our room).

Other than the location and apparent rat problem the hostel was decently clean and not a bad spot to stay if you just need a place to crash at night. All in all, you get what you pay for.

Room Tip: Book a room with a window- it is worth the money
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hayley C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2013

I stayed here just 2 weeks ago with my partner and 9 mth old baby and we were very impressed with what we received for our money.
We were a little disappointed that our room was given away to another traveller as a flight delay caused us to be later than we expected to check in but we got it back the next night. Also, we had misplaced Travellers Cheques in transit and the staff were VERY helpful in trying to assist us and genuine with their concern. They even gave us their own mobile phones to use when the number we needed to call was not connecting through the main line (it didn't work for the mobile either so it was a dodgy number).
The staff all spoke excellent English and were always helpful with our questions. They booked all of our train tickets for our onward journey for a very small fee (10 Yuan/ticket which is a fraction of the online services). The atmosphere was great and probably the best of our accommodation experiences in China. The water was always hot and the heater was overwhelmingly effective. The rooms were clean but not serviced as well as they could have been. But I feel confident that if it had really bothered me, I could have said something and known it would have been attended to. The wifi was a decent speed and available from rooms. Also worth noting is the very reasonably priced washing and drying facilities (some of the other places we've stayed have seemed to make up for their cheap room prices with the cost of a load of washing).
The location is great for the price. We caught a taxi from the airport the first night because it was very late but it's easy to find from the metro too. A supermarket is just 5 mins down the road and has a decent selection of goods (and not at tourist prices) and street food is everywhere around. The tai chi in the park next door is a great sight to see in the morning if you're up early enough. Also check out the food market a few blocks south!
If I ever come to Shanghai again, I'm definately booking in here.

Room Tip: Get a room at the end of the corridoor to avoid noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JanaG17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Shanghai hotels
The Bund
Captain Youth Hostel(Fuzhou Rd Branch)
Zhongshan Park
Rock & Wood International Youth Hostel
People’s Square
Mingtown Etour Youth Hostel
Mingtown Etour Youth Hostel
#12 of 394 in Shanghai
235 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
People’s Square
Laoshan Hostel (The Phoenix)
People’s Square
Shanghai Blue Mountain Bund Youth Hostel
Jing'an
Le Tour Traveler's Rest Youth Hostel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shanghai SOHO International Youth Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shanghai SOHO International Youth Hostel

Address: No.1307 South Suzhou Road, Huangpu District, Shanghai 200003, China
Region: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai > Qipu Road
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #41 of 394 Speciality Lodging in Shanghai
Price Range: £17 - £38 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Shanghai SOHO International Youth Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Shanghai Soho International Hostel, is ideally located in the most central of Shanghai. Just a five-minute walk from the metro station line 1 xinzha road station (with a super transport network ). Walking distance from the major attractions, like People Square and Nanjing shopping street etc.FREE WIFIOur hostel is in a 150 year old building with unique loft-style and traditional shanghai-style decoration.We invite fellow travellers to relax in our Soho bar, enjoy delicious food, or read our books and surf our mega-fast internet in our reading area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, HostelWorld, Agoda, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Shanghai SOHO International Youth Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing