We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Pullman Shanghai Jing An
Ranked #60 of 5,069 Hotels in Shanghai
Certificate of Excellence
Rayong, Rayong, Thailand
Level 6 Contributor
101 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Good location”
Reviewed 13 June 2014

The hotel is located near the metro station. There are convenience stores, restaurants around the hotel.

The hotel room is quite big, very clean and comfortable.
Wifi internet is quite slow. And have to reconnect several time.

Overall is very good.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kritsana P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thibaud G, General Manager at Pullman Shanghai Jing An, responded to this review, 16 June 2014
We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Grand Mercure Shanghai Zhongya. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.

I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.

Sincerely,

Thibaud Geffroy
General Manager
Grand Mercure Shanghai Zhongya
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,704 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    698
    723
    212
    45
    26
See reviews for
223
496
205
550
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (201)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Tehran, Iran
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 June 2014

good location near the train station.
I had found this hotel on this website, but I could't booked on the Internet.
I decided to book the room on reception desk.
the price on the desk was double in comparison to the Internet.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SAEID N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thibaud G, General Manager at Pullman Shanghai Jing An, responded to this review, 9 June 2014
First and foremost, I’d very much appreciate your comments published on Trip-advisor regarding your recent stay at the Grand Mercure Shanghai Zhongya. It is always a great pleasure to receive positive feedback and encouragement.

I will share your comments with our entire team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.

Thank you once again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one. We are looking forward to welcoming you back soon.

With the kindest regards,

Thibaud Geffroy
General Manager
Grand Mercure Shanghai Zhongya
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ile-de-France, France
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2014 via mobile

I just spent 5 days at the Grand Mercure Shanghai Zhongya.
This hotel is clearly getting hold. You can see that for instance with the carpets and the number of stains...
The staff very often do not speak english. Very difficult for instance to obtain what you want to eat with the room service.
No pool, no sauna. A steam room you have to pay...
The hotel is globally very dark.
In short, not a great experience.
That said, for Shanghai the price is fair.

Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Fredericduhamel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thibaud G, General Manager at Pullman Shanghai Jing An, responded to this review, 9 June 2014
First and foremost, I'd honestly thank you for choosing our hotel as your preferred accommodation lately, and sincerely apologize to you for all the undesirable experience you have encountered.

Furthermore, we'd look into the issue you described carefully in your feedback published on Trip-advisor and learn from the case, sorry for the inconvenience mainly caused by communication deficiency and staff service quality.

Once again, we value and welcome pretty much your constructive comments. Highly appreciated for your interest in letting us know how we might better serve our guests, your attention to detail throughout is considered vital to our success, and as part of our continuous efforts to improve our operation quality and service level. We strive to ensure that every guest have a very pleasant, if not spectacular, stay at our hotel.
 
I look forward to welcoming you back and hope that your future stay with us will be wonderful traveling experience at Grand Mercure Shanghai Zhongya.

With the kindest regards,

Thibaud Geffroy
General Manager
Grand Mercure Hotel Zhongya
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 203 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2014

Having stayed here before and having been very impressed on that occasion, we felt that this was a good hotel, offering comfort and quality at reasonable rates and being conveniently located for public transport. When making our booking we had asked for a room with a double bed on a non smoking floor. Upon arrival we were indeed allocated a room on a non smoking floor, but with two single beds. We only discovered that after entering the room: it would have been courteous for the check-in agent to have informed of us when registering us. But that was only the first disappointment. Upon leaving our room to go out to eat, we were almost overwhelmed by the foul stench of burning tobacco emanating from at least one of the other rooms. When this was raised with the front desk, we were told that there was nothing that management was willing to do about the matter: guests were free to smoke in their own rooms, even situated on a non-smoking floor! I wondered why the hotel didn't have a policy that some other establishments have, of surcharging guests USD500 for every day of smoking violation. A slight apologetic shrug was given as answer together with an offer to give our own room after smoking treatment. A change of floor was not possible because the hotel was (apparently) quite full. Apart from that, the room we had was okay being clean and of a reasonable size, and the beds were comfortable. The shower room/bathroom was certainly adequate. Next day at breakfast we found the staff to be a bit surly, the bread seemed not very fresh, almost stale, the "fresh" coffee did not taste at all nice. Quantity of food on offer was adequate, but variety was somewhat limited. In sum, given the good experience from the earlier stay, we were rather disappointed, but the hotel is still value for money and convenient. I hope that management can find a solution to people smoking on non-smoking floors.

Room Tip: Rooms facing TianMu West Road seem to be larger and better laid out than those on the other side. Th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank John D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thibaud G, General Manager at Pullman Shanghai Jing An, responded to this review, 4 June 2014
dear John D

thank you very much for your valuable comments, Please allow me to sincerely apologies for the service shortfall you have experienced during your stay with us this time.

I have instructed all relevant departments to implement corrective actions and reenforce supervision in a timely manner to prevent further occurence

We appreciate your sharing your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future.

sincerely yours
thibaud geffroy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 May 2014

We stayed here for 2 nights as the last stop of our group tour in mid April. The entrance is a little hidden, as you have to go through a driveway to get to the front of the hotel. The hotel is modern with an upscale feel. The room is clean and definitely compact. There is a small desk and in-room safe. The sink is separate from the toilet and shower. You can’t really control the temperature in the room and AC was not available because it was April, so it was quite warm, although you can open the window.

The hotel is really close to the metro (near the hotel entrance) and a couple of blocks from the train station. Free bottled water is provided, but don’t get that mixed up with the large, pricey bottled Evian water they have for sale. There is a minibar and snacks for sale in the room as well. Free WiFi in the room. The bar/lounge is nice, but note that they will automatically charge a 15% service charge to your bill even without great service. The front desk staff is efficient with adequate English. The concierge was very helpful in speaking to the taxi driver to take us to the high speed Maglev train station (Long Yang Road Station) to get to the Pudong airport. The taxi ride was about 60 yuan. When purchasing your Maglev ticket, be sure to show your same day plane ticket to get a discounted fare of 40 yuan (normally 50 yuan for a single trip ticket).

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AWTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thibaud G, General Manager at Pullman Shanghai Jing An, responded to this review, 5 June 2014
First and foremost, I’d very much appreciate your comments published on Trip-advisor regarding your recent stay at the Grand Mercure Shanghai Zhongya. It is always a great pleasure to receive positive feedback and encouragement.

I will share your comments with our entire team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.

Surely, we shall never get away with the deficiency aspects which need to be improved or amended, therefore, Engineering Department will work on the room temperature aspect aiming to create and provide more comfortable stay experience for all guests.

Thank you once again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one. We are looking forward to welcoming you back soon.

With the kindest regards,

Thibaud Geffroy
General Manager
Grand Mercure Shanghai Zhongya
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Shanghai hotels
Old Town
SSAW Boutique Hotel Shanghai Bund
Shanghai Railway Station
Courtyard by Marriott Shanghai Central
Jing'an
Hotel Equatorial Shanghai
Hotel Equatorial Shanghai
#53 of 5,069 in Shanghai
589 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Pullman Shanghai South
#16 of 5,069 in Shanghai
270 reviews
Zhongshan Park
Pentahotel Shanghai
Pentahotel Shanghai
#63 of 5,069 in Shanghai
581 reviews
Old Town
Renaissance Shanghai Yu Garden Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pullman Shanghai Jing An? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pullman Shanghai Jing An

Property: Pullman Shanghai Jing An
Address: No.330 Meiyuan Road, Jing an District, Shanghai 200070, China (Formerly Grand Mercure Shanghai Central)
Region: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai > Shanghai Railway Station
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Best Value Hotel in Shanghai
#45 Romantic Hotel in Shanghai
#60 Luxury Hotel in Shanghai
#73 Business Hotel in Shanghai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Pullman Shanghai Jing An 4.5*
Number of rooms: 288
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The GRAND MERCURE SHANGHAI CENTRAL is a brand new designer hotel ideally situated in a convenient city center location: guests can enjoy quick access to People's Square, Nanjing Road &the Bund. The hotel is only 12minutesaway fromboth Yu Garden or Xintiandi by taxi; 25 minutesaway from Shanghai Hongqiao Airport and 40 minutesaway from the Shanghai Pudong International Airport. With guest comfort and well-being as its priority, each of its well-appointed rooms & suites is a haven of comfort featuring full length glass windows;37-42 inch LCD TV screen with full laptop connectivity; internet and WIFI access; the finest in bathroom accessories with rainforest shower as well as luxury Pacific Coast bedding with 400 thread-count linen.At the GRAND MERCURE SHANGHAI CENTRAL Dining at both the Chinese and all day dining restaurants will be a delightful culinary experience, while relaxing at the chic lifestyle lounge-bar could well be a 24-hour indulgence.For leisure and entertainment, a range of facilities located on Level 6 includes a gymnasium and chess room.Keeping fit with the gymnasium's latest equipment will be a joy, as guests take in the panoramic view of the city and the natural light by day, and city lights by night.The Spa beckons with 11therapy rooms. Well known for its special spa treatment menus,pamper yourself and rejuvenate your mind and body with oils, aromatherapy or other beauty treatments.For events, meetings, conferences and weddings, a full complement of versatile meeting and banquet facilities include an elegant Ballroom that can cater up to 350 guests, four meeting rooms. A professional team of experts are on hand to tailor every occasion to the guest's requirements. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, ACCOR, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelbag, Priceline, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Pullman Shanghai Jing An reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Mercure Shanghai Zhongya Hotel Shanghai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing